Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

An unconventional encounter

by strong99 - Compo Entry

Note: If sounds don't work in the embedded view, please open the fullscreen webview (security restrictions)

After an encounter with an unearthly machine our hero attempts to get himself out of the area. His partner is unable to pick him up and so he finds himself grounded on the highway.

Controls:
- Arrow up and down: change lane
- Space: fire blast

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#287Graphics3.53
#295Audio3.18
#478Mood3.02
#739Overall2.96
#826Fun2.73
#826Humor2.17
#1026Theme2.47
#1038Innovation2.20

Comments

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:54am

The game looks nice but the Dialog messages that popup interfere with the gameplay. They should automatically close when I press any button.

strong99 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:45am

Thanks. That would have been better. Currently popups that interfere with gameplay also disappear after several seconds, beside being invincible during the popup ;)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:22pm

The mood in the game is great. Gameplay is a little too simple though. Also, I feel that the goal takes a little too much to reach, and the fact that dying brings you back to the beginning is not necouraging me to play more :/

But the explosion and the scenery in the complex is quite badass honestly.

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Would be a great minigame to a visual novel, definitely the start of an interesting dystopia. Good job!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Lovely visuals and I agree with the comments about the pop ups. they do confuse the game a little. Nice work though :D

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:16pm

The scenery and ambiance is really good and the game-play is pretty fun :) If I had to suggest one improvement it would be not to have to click the dialog because I had to take my hands off the keyboard between playthroughs. Overall a good entry though!

MRvanderPants says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:16pm

graphics and animations were nice, but the gameplay gets a little repetative after a while.

crab says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Great atmosphere, loved the stuff happening in the background made the game feel really powerful! Nice sound effects too c:

Nuishira says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:30pm

I'm a bit nitpicky, the mirrored 夢 symbol on the aircraft is bugging me. The upgrade is usable from the get go. I also managed to win and die at the same time. Don't get me wrong though, I still liked this especially the sounds =)

sbarrio says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Nice graphics and atmosphere!

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09am

Pretty decent game. The controls are a bit clunky, and the dialogue got in the way a bit, but otherwise good.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:49am

I liked the mood and graphics.. it definitely felt like a game :)

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:51am

I get an "advancing wall of doom" vibe even if there's none :) Nice art!

RadStar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11am

The intro reminded me Halo :P Felt guilty to kill cars on my way x) Nice game, maybe a it too long to get to the 5000 score ?

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Very cool, loved the graphics and the aesthetic style, very well put together. I enjoyed it.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Very good intro, works very solid in my browser. I also think that the gameplay is a bit too simple, but all in all well done!

Horsed says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:14pm

I died a good amount of horrible deaths :-) The graphics actually look nice. The popups got kinda annoying. The gameplay is well known and solid.

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Man...nice retro concept.I only wish i could make a wheelie with the left arrow key :P

yuigoto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:41pm

The soundtrack remembers me of two things: MIDI, by the way it sounds (not bad, though), and some japanese indie games.

Overall, I can totally see this as something like an "in media res" part of a bigger game or, like someone said, a minigame to a visual novel or something. :)

Dying and restarting makes the soundtrack start over the previous one still playin. :P

ajopart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Niiiiice entry. Congrats. Maybe it's only me but I had difficulties to clearly distinguish down line and middle line. But nice chara design and wonderful scenery !

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:17am

nice, the only time i die is when i mistook where the rubble is DX cool mind blasting

HunterAugust says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:01am

I have to second @TheBigShot when it comes to the buttons. I think you music doesnt match what is happening currently, its a bit too happy. (Given further development, I would like to see the cars explode when they hit the debris.)

strong99 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:35am

@Nuishira Completely oversaw that detail. The plane was moving differently before. It wasn't supposed to be mirrored at all.
@yuigoto Ai, sounds like a small bug.
@eddynardo On it!
@HunterAugust On it!

borgi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Nice implementation, simple but cool gameplay! Good job!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:51pm

Simple runner but pretty good art for the timeframe! :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Love the mood and graphics. Id love to see the gameplay expanded a little though.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:38am

Nice art, mood and sounds. Quite simple gameplay, and I felt the weapon maybe wasn't all that unconventional. Also, I managed to die and win at the same time - just as I was going up the ramp, some debris landed in the middle lane :D

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Nice runner game; the lanes are a bit too close together in my opinion, so its hard to tell which lane obstacles are in, but solid stuff!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Nice runner game; the lanes are a bit too close together in my opinion, so its hard to tell which lane obstacles are in, but solid stuff! The layers to the visuals are slick.

Taldius says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Nice visuals, the game has a pretty simple concept and feel a little slow, but it was fun to play.
Good job!

GameQuester says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:10am

I especially liked the graphics and the music. The gameplay was also fun, but a bit repetitive. Good Job!

salmonmoose says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:37am

Perhaps I'm missing something, but it seems like my ability doesn't always trigger. The stationary objects really need to be tied to the road better - I got fierce motion-sickness, something I rarely encounter in games.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]