Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Backfire

by IndieST - Compo Entry

Your weapon is an unconventional pistol - you can fire forward, and also BACKFIRE!

Why bother? Because when activated, all the other guns will backfire too!

Controls are described in game.

After finish the game in first run, time mode will be turned on.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#99Innovation3.88
#214Audio3.32
#282Fun3.38
#296Overall3.46
#309Mood3.23
#454Theme3.46
#485Graphics3.15
#597Humor2.63
#1497Coolness45%

Comments

Knowledge says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:35pm

They can shoot my foot when I am above them.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:52pm

The portal isn't very intuitive, I expected things to come out of it in the opposite direction. I also kept getting stuck behind it.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:16am

VERY NICE game!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:13am

For the level before domino, what is the intended method of getting through the top right portal? The only way I could find to do it felt glitchy, kind of wiggling in place until the portal let you essentially walk past it.

The boss once glitched up on the left block and kind of teleported.

Having a boss health meter would be nice. The game has a ton of potential, but the boss is very frustrating. The game goes from feeling like a puzzle game to feeling like almost complete luck due to the random boss motions. Also, the boss won't shoot when you're on the blocks above...unless they have spotted you, in which case they will keep shooting you in the foot while you can't shoot back.

Without a health meter I don't know if the boss needs 5 shots or 20 to kill, and I don't know if the boss backshots are actually hurting the boss, or if the only way to damage the boss is through normal shots.

Having some sort of onscreen indicator that shows when you can use the backshot again would be really nice, so you don't get killed through trying to use it too soon.

...after playing further, apparently backshots DO hurt the boss. I died at the same time, but the game apparently counted that as a victory.

Long story short, I think this is a funny and awesome idea, and if you fix the boss level and some of the glitchy-feeling physics, you could make something really neat out of this!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:14am

Also I forgot to mention, having portals color-coded would be nice, if possible, instead of having to figure them out through trial and error.

This would probably require some level redesign though.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:45am

Neat game, though I feel like you could make the shooting a little slower - maybe slowmotion once guns are fired?

Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:10am

This is one of the better ideas I've seen so far. Well done!

NoSoupForYou says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:12am

Very creative interpretation of the theme. The backfire mechanics were interesting and the portals added an extra layer of complexity to the levels. On top of that, the music and visuals created a nice atmosphere.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:16am

Very clever puzzle game play, nice interpretation of the theme. Great work!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:51pm

Stood on a guys head, he wasn't even mad.

gelisam says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:58am

I enjoyed the time attack, nice touch.

Plustech says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:21pm

I really like the idea behind, I think it needs a lot of polish, but man, is quite clever, you could extend this idea further on. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]