Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Out of Bullets

by haveric - Compo Entry

All of your ship's guns have malfunctioned and you're being chased by the Federation. They apparently don't like it when you steal from them. Try to avoid being killed too quickly, will you?

Controls:
ASD: Fire "weapons"
Arrow Keys: Movement

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#384Humor3.04
#412Theme3.51
#434Graphics3.22
#580Fun3.00
#673Audio2.39
#680Overall3.04
#729Mood2.72
#765Innovation2.78

Comments

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:07am

Wow, this is really nicely polished!Love the way the menu is a hatch :) Great entry!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:59am

Nice that you throw garbage at the enemies! Would've been nice if the garbage had felt more like thrown garbage though, as now it feels like bombs that is a bit more classical of the genre.

I like the graphics and its visible that you've spent some great time on making it great!

Good luck! :)

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01am

Fun after I read the instructions. c:

Spamming items out the airlock is the master technique.

jacketsj says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23am

This game is extremely well polished, and using space junk as the weapon was a great idea!

ddalacu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:46pm

I like the feedback sistem when you die well polished not very much of gameplay the enemies are fireing too fast!

Matsuki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I Enjoyed the game, was a lot of fun, didn't realize I was supposed to attack enemy ships with the cargo until it was too late. Neat idea!

colludium says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Nice graphics and quite hard with all of those bullets to avoid! Well done!!

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Cool game. Nice concept. But when using up/down arrows on the apllication on the ludum dare page, the whole page scrolled up/down.

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:04pm

I can't tell if this is supposed to be based off of FTL, Star Trek, or Star Wars....... or all three! My favorite part is the menu hatch!

OccamsRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Well implemented, a lot of fun! Definitely a challenge, I liked that! The graphics were great, you obviously spent some time polishing things, which is awesome.

Good work!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Dang it, how am I going to do the dishes now that I threw the kitchen sink into the vacuum of space. Fantastic take on the theme!

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Good. Needs some bosses in it :-)

Joris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:04pm

The game works like a charm. Sound effects are nice. Graphics ok. I really like the way the stars look.

Anikki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:52pm

I like the idea.

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:42pm

interesting concept

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:32am

Cool idea. It fits the theme well. I like the stats I am tempted to add something like the stats to my future games.

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:23pm

So I'm throwing stolen goods at the Federation? Nice little game.

arhpositive says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Difficulty escalated pretty quickly. Level 5 and 21K is my high score in three plays. The game has a high level of attention to detail, I loved how the top right corner UI indicated the next items to get thrown out. I felt like I abused the middle airlock and didn't use much of the other ones, maybe if they led straight left and right I'd use them much more often.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Pretty nice and funny concept that fits the theme well. I really liked how each item of junk worked differently compared to each other when shot out of your spaceship. The only gripe I have so far is that on the version of the game that's embed on this page, pressing up/down would scroll the page otherwise this is a very solid entry.

eddynardo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Very nice and funny idea.Excelent physics and controls.I really liked this one!Also graphics and sound are really cool!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:14am

What, no kitchen sinks to jettison? Just kidding. Lots of fun, great use of the theme. Nice job.

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:58am

Nice take on a reverse bullet hell. Enjoyed this one!

richiebranson says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:59am

Hah, this was very entertaining. Plays like a shmup but in reverse...and without bullets of course. Brilliant interpretation of the theme :)

Ossi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:00am

Great polish, I really enjoyed that! Really clever use of the theme having to send random objects out of airlock to attack with. It was fun to see the stats at the end too. Great job!

Cryotube says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:01am

Fun game! Can get pretty hectic when there's not much room left to move with so many bullets flying around.

EwChap says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:02am

Nice mechanic. Good feel of being chased and dumping junk to try to clear your enemies.

NoSoupForYou says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:06am

Although the gameplay is fairly straightforward, the high amount of polish makes it enjoyable. The menus in particular were well done.

Horsed says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Decent shooter. It's a bit too hard to aim for me.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]