Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Copycat

by Terry - Compo Entry

Turn based action game.

Defeat enemies to absorb their power.

Destroy the mimic crystal to ascend.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#30Fun3.98
#64Overall3.90
#76Innovation3.94
#211Mood3.40
#348Audio3.08
#688Theme3.18

Comments

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:19am

Simple, yet elegant and original. It's really easy to get the mechanics and, once you understand the game, it's pretty fun. I'm sure I'll be playing more of this over the next weeks ^^

bnhw says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:31am

I found the turn controls very disorienting; it made some sense when using the sword, but I still think I'd prefer turn-to-face when pressing a key perpendicular to my current direction.

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:04am

I really enjoyed this game; just learning how to use the weapons and how to best approach enemies is a lot of fun. You learn from your mistakes and always think that you can do better next time, which makes it very addictive! I love the old-school aesthetics, too.

BMacIntosh says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:09am

This is a lot of fun! I really like how the sword works. My only controls gripe is that forward/backward movement repeats itself a little too quickly - I died once or twice because I didn't release the button quickly enough.

Junber says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:02am

Very nice game. The mecanic seem quite original. But the movement order seemed to be unconsistent: Sometimes enemies move before and sometimes after you. Also The sword enemys could sometimes be killed by "killing their sword", the gun enemys didnt need an extra turn to fire their gun and Dashers attacks work quite differently when you use them. The last 2 things were probably intended but go a bit against the main idea of the game. But none of this takes away from the fun.

FungalCactus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38am

How do you find the mimic crystal?

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:34am

Took me a minute to figure out how the controls worked but once I had it was a fun game. Liked the different weapons and how you had to swing the sword for the kills.

Terry says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:43am

Junber: Yeah, totally agree that some of the combat logic is a bit fuzzy - that's the stuff that I didn't have time to fix up with the ludum dare deadline, sadly :(

FungalCactus: The mimic crystal is the boss! It appears if you use a weapon dropped by a rare enemy...

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:12am

Lovely game! Reminds me of the games I used to make in Super Pascal in the '90 :D

I like the concept of multiple weapons and different enemies to use them on, but the controls are a little clunky, but probably it's just because I'm not used to them since they actually make sense.

The beep and boops are lovely!

hexagore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:49am

Pity you excluded the graphics category. Style is good graphics.

Took me a while to figure out how this all worked, but once I did I was able to get into a tactical groove. Really nice.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:04pm

I like the take on unconventional weapon as "weapon you're not used to" instead of "weird weapon"

This game is the most fun I've played for the moment (I played some good platformers, but I'm better at turn by turn ^^)

I sure will play it again when the ratings rush will be over. I wonder how you always come up with this fun and innovative mechanics. I mean...finding fun mechanics is easy, finding innovative ones too, but finding fun AND innovative mechanics every single time is really impressive.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Also I agree with jumber.

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:12pm

Interesting yet tricky. Like the aesthetic!

bvisness says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:32pm

I love the turn-by-turn nature of the combat. Time to think out your next move but still fast-paced. The gun enemies feel overpowered though. (Why can they turn AND shoot in the same turn?! They're almost impossible to take down with the sword.)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24pm

Fun game, nice space invaders art, good entry.

Marcellus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Easy to learn, hard to master. The yellow enemies are a bit OP, we demand a nerf ! said a sword bearer once.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Brilliant mechanics! The turn-based system allows for quite a bit of fun in terms of planning strategies to tackle the enemies.

Congrats! :D

jmf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Great fun! Nice effective art style and sound effects.

ianh says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:42am

I love the art style, but I can't give you stars for graphics :(

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:24am

Yeah! Took a second to figure out how to play, but this has been the most fun game I played so far!

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:03am

Holy crap this is fun! Taking the weapon of the last thing you killed adds a layer of strategy that I didn't expect.

Simon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:33am

It reminds me of the keynote that Chevy Ray made for Ludum Dare 23 I think. Everybody wanted him to expand on the mini game he had developed for it. You did and it's pretty fucking cool.

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09am

Pretty decent. I found the directional movement to be a bit frustrating. Seemed quite polished and the mechanics were interesting. Good job.

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Love the sword mechanic. I got into a spinning/idling/waiting for enemies to run into it sort of groove. The beam distance weapon is satisfying. Couldn't figure out how to ascend.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Really unconventional weapon. It took quite a few deaths to figure out what was going on, but after that it was really engrossing.

recursor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Simple graphics, simple sounds, and quite fun!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:25am

So simple and enjoyable.
Scale stuff down to make them even better is a good thing.
But maybe not that un-expected from talented people.

Arche-san says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Simple! Very addictive! :)

sbarrio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Very well executed idea. Took me a while to get the controls but once I did it was really fun to play :)

Really nice entry!

P.S- Kudos for making it with Haxe.

omaha says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Wonderfully and unexpectedly tense for a turn-based ascii rogue-like. I need to play more of these. Cheers.

xplicitone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Very very fun and addicting game Terry!! A big fan of Super Hexagon :D

xplicitone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Forgot to say I got a high score of 16 on my last playthrough

alvivar says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:48am

Wow, I'm gonna replay this game a lot.

Score 14 :)

syawqy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:53pm

great idea and implementation

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Great C64-styled game! Simple but challenging and really retro. Good job!

yuigoto says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:10pm

It took just a bit to get the hangs on gameplay, but it's really nice to play!

Even though it's just text mode characters, the graphics have its charm and, together with the audio, complete that old school feel of the game nicely. :)

Pilly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:35am

I got to what I *think* is the mimc crystal (after stuff changed) but I couldn't figure out how to destroy it and ended up dying. Still, the game will be on my mind, and I'm sure I'll come back to it.

The "dying" sound effect really started to grate on me after I died a few times in a row, but that contributes to the old school feel. After I got the hang of things, the game kind of turned into "kill everything until you may or may not be killed by the gun" - I actually didn't find the gun to be too much fun to use, but I loved the variety and mechanics of the other weapons.

Overall, really nice balance of weapons, clever mechanics, and addicting gameplay. Though a bit frustrating, I'll definitely come back to it.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:56pm

That's brillant but hard. Can't seem to reach the crystal or the unconventional weapon...

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:56pm

It took my a while to understand what to do. I was able to destroy all the enemies, but then an enemy with a gun appeared, and I just can't defeat it.
It's quite addictive and complex.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:43am

It's a neat game, but it was a little harder to figure out than I would have liked. It took me a while to figure out how to tell which symbol was me, and then to figure out that I absorbed power as soon as I killed something, and then a while to figure out that swords could kill diagonally.

Stending says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I'm in love with this. Congratulation Terry!

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Amazing turn based game, really simple but properly engaging. I'd play a full "roguelike" that has these mechanics!

Mase says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:22pm

The gameplay is very interesting and challenging.

It is a bit frustrating that gunners can kill players even if they are themselves killed simultaneously. They seem to follow different rules than the other enemies in this regard.

My top score was 32. I think I saw the crystal once but failed to destroy it.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Took a few deaths to get my head round the movement/rotation, but it's worth it once you figure out the swords, etc. Super cool!

Terry says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Hey hey: just finished up a post compo version - it fixes a lot of *little* things! I think it's a lot more solid now - thanks for all the feedback! (Obv if you're voting don't play that version)

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I love how fresh the gameplay stays as a result of your power changing almost every turn. It's also great how that stops players from relying on a single favorite power. Super elegant, really enjoyed this!

hexdie says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:53am

I enjoyed it! I enjoyed that each of the weapon types seemed pretty at odds with each other. It was pretty difficult but fair. I enjoyed the sounds but it definitely could have used some music (though the lack of music is understandable given the time limit).

Beavl says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 12:21am

This is amazing, Terry! Turn-based awesomeness. We really like the changes in the post-compo version (although we've rated it the previous version of the game). Great work.

Alex Rose says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:13pm

This is awesome. So many weapon types, and I love the sort of.. kirby element to it. Really fun trying out all the different abilities.

OddballDave says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Interesting concept and well executed. A solid entry. Good stuff.

MonoS says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:43pm

I really don't understand why i can't vote for graphics, i like it, it's a 4/5 for me :D.

Cool mechanics and nice implementation, loved the character graphic.

Tselmek says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Very hard game, the mechanics are very interesting yet it's hard to at times to know what will happen first when we rotate/get attacked. The graphics and sounds are lovely.

napoleon says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 11:57pm

blimey is this good and fun

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]