Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Card Maniac

by snade - Compo Entry

Description

You're playing a maniac who is obsessed with his cards. Too bad there are ghosts out to get those same cards as well.

Defend yourself by throwing your cards at them, don't forget to retrieve them or the ghosts will steal them.


Controls

- WASD or the arrow keys to walk around.
- Spacebar to jump
- Click to throw a card
- U for discomode (Warning: flashing objects.)



System requirements

- Java
- The ability to run a 720x480 windowed screen.



Features

- Ghosts with monocles
- Card throwing
- Pixel art
- Sounds


Other information

I ran into quite a bit of problems while writing the collision detection part of my game. I had to rewrite it about 4 times and I am still not happy with it. But since it already cut away too much time (And therefor, also features) I decided to just keep it as it is.

Overall, I am still quite pleased with it. I hope you enjoy it too and don't forget to check out the disco mode (Press U) (Warning: flashing objects.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#425Fun3.19
#454Theme3.46
#486Humor2.80
#579Graphics3.00
#643Innovation2.96
#680Overall3.04
#729Mood2.72
#739Audio2.23
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Fun little game. Maybe the cards should be spinning? Love that you have to collect the cards after you throw them. Some more enemy types would be nice. 10/10 best game ever, would play again. :-) Please rate my game at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=16225

Markus Becker says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Great Game. I like the idea, and think that cards are fitting the theme. But I lhink this game needs something like a score or some kind of progression.

WhiteVoidia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

It's very satisfying to stick the cards in the walls, heh

Nysten says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:21pm

The game lacks gameplay, but it works and is a good base for an actual game! So add something like levels, more enemies etc. and you have a game. Plays really well.

Kostyan1996 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Like the idea, but a bit too easy for me.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Fun game, nice graphics and animation, it is lacking some more gameplay and difficulty. I will upload a video of me playing the game soon.

tonypai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:26pm

It's cool to use card to defeat ghost, but it took too long to end this game, maybe split to many stages will be better. Anyway, good job! :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Comic Sans ;D I recommend to increase the font size in the intro screen (it's a bit hard to read I guess). The "enemies grab your ammo" mechanic is a nice idea and the shooting felt overall nice (the movement not that much). As others pointed out, some kind of progression is missing. :)

Dagatts says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:23pm

really nice game, you want more cards? go get them! xD
it give an incentive to manage your ammo

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24pm

A wee bit to non-linear needs some direction, otherwise a superb game!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Seems pretty easy, but looks great and is an interesting take on the theme! good job!

FeniX says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:14pm

Nice idea, however it would be better if the game was harder. At the moment it's not challenging at all. You might think about changing speed of ghosts when there are any cards laying around, or something like that.

murilo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:22am

Nice game but maybe too easy? But I like the graphics and gameplay.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:19pm

fun to throw the cards and nice mechanic.

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:18pm

It kinda lacks the goal but I enjoyed it for surprisingly long time :D Also love graphics and mood!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Nice concept! Great start! I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/esXlcAnzqGA

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:30am

I laughed because the guy is almost naked for no apparent reason. Maybe the ghosts stole his clothes too?

I tried catching a tossed card on the air, it would be cool if that was possible too to outsmart the ghosts on the ground.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:54pm

I like that you have to collect your cards or lose them. It could do with an end point or a score to beat.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]