Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Soccer Punch

by PapyPilgrim - Compo Entry

"Characters you wouldn't expect destroy a city while playing a DragonBall Z version of Shaolin Soccer."

Yup.

-----------
Featuring
-----------
- A Soccer Ball
- Ludicrous speed
- Teleportation
- Free falling
- Shockwaves
- Smashed windows
- Flying cars
- Unused guns
- A carpal syndrome
- A character from a top LD22 entry (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-22/?action=preview&uid=2952)
- 3 hidden characters
- 4 musics, 26 sound effects, 58 hand-made assets, thousands of particles


-----------
Tools Used
-----------
Haxe and HaxeFlixel
Ash (Entity Component framework for haxe)
BFXR - sounds
ATRK-BU - Musics
Inkscape and Paint.net - graphics


-------------------
IMPORTANT! READ ME!
-------------------
- Except for "score the biggest combo", there is no real goal to this game. No loosing conditions either.
- You can call it a day when you saw all 4 characters.
- Not tested on a touch device (I don't have one, but it should work)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#152Fun3.64
#187Theme3.82
#209Audio3.33
#289Innovation3.49
#336Humor3.14
#338Graphics3.41
#352Mood3.17
#368Overall3.37

Comments

resty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

Go for 5km, but don't know the goal, seems just repeatedly destroy every thing and do not have an end.
But I like your graphics and audio, they are so good ~

Matsuki says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:43am

Didn't look like there was a goal, but the game is amazing, made me go re-watch shaolin soccer

polegar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54am

The feeling of power is perfectly done.
Nice graphics, nice gameplay, nice sounds...this is impressive.
The only drawback is that I can't challenge my friends for real because there is no loss condition.

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:11am

really nice mechanic!

hexagore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:17am

Well I love Shaolin Soccer and so it was I loved this too. Played this for far longer than I needed to. Can imagine this being fantastic on mobile if it has some sort of lose condition?

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Cool game, i really like the mechanics - but as others have said, it lacks game over and winning conditions. Overall a nice experience!

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:42pm

Awesome!! Love the graphics and physics especially.

Dagnarus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:52pm

I didn't realise you could juggle the ball at first, but once I did I had a blast :D. Super fun game, really well done!
I unlocked Sangoku and Duke Nukem, but not sure how. Didn't see the 4th character

Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:59pm

A really fun little game, and a great engine to use as the starting point of a bigger game. Shooting the ball at targets is fun all round, but unfortunately the combo system is the weakest part.

Expanding this into a full game with set levels and more variety of targets would create something wonderful. I can imagine charging up a shot and aiming it a giant robot's weak spot as it charges towards you. GOOOOOOAAAAAAALLLLLLL!

Kitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Fun little experience... win/lose conditions and all that... but what was implemented, mechanics, art and sound, felt really solid and satisfying. This would be killer on a touch screen.

I did find myself clicking outside the game bounds, which would case the game to pause. A minor annoyance, but a full screen toggle might be something worth looking into.

Thanks

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:48am

Love all of the poses the soccer player's got, and the way he travels to the ball just looks cool. Really fun to just play around with the mechanic. I don't think I saw any other characters though, and I played for a while. Still, fun stuff!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:33pm

One of my favourites this LD. Really.
Things: All the destructible elements are on the ground, leaving the rest of the screen quite empty. More destructible things in the building would make the game more interesting.
No win or lose condition.
I really would play a game like this if finished.
I see multiplayer madness potential in this game.

suppi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:46am

very fun concept and execution. great feel into it but adding a goal (heh) and more interesting controls will really make a huge difference.

psychonull says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:57am

Nice mechanics, the slow-mo, screen shakes, score particles add a lot of juice to the game. Some goal or rule would make it really fun.

EwChap says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:58am

Very clean animations and effects. love the look and feel

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:43am

I loved the feeling of the controls! You should explore this concept further and how to apply it to a bigger game with some good objetives and motivations. I'd pay for it :D

philipp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Haha, I used the soccer ball as a weapon for my game too.

It feels very great to dash around and hit the ball. Overall very good feedback. As others said a lose condition would have been great to add a bit of conflict.

And there is a dominant strategy, you should get rid of if you expand on this game. Spamming the ball down in the right corner and then spamming mouse-click.

Still, one of my favorites so far.

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Great gameplay! It really inspired me and I had the idea to some games while kicking the city into pieces. Good Job!

mantis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:35pm

I have achieved over 500k points and see no point. There really should be a losing condition. Hell, even a goal points that you want to get in X km, or shortest distance to get Y points.

I love the aesthetics, the base idea is solid... but I just need something to do in a game.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Super laggy for me... I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/esXlcAnzqGA

igoramendola says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:58am

Although there is no goal, the concept is pretty good. It's a brilliant idea that fits very nice with the theme. I felt the power! hahaha

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Very fuuny game and well crafted, you feel the power of the ball! Win/lose conditions and it's a blast!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Really fun game, zipping around was very satisfying.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:39pm

This was really fun. Had a great time just seeing the different moves and causing as much destruction as I could. As others have mentioned an end goal would really complete it though. Feel like this should be used as a mini game for Shaolin Soccer since I did get the urge to go back and watch it after playing.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Really fun entry, great job. I seemed to be able to build up combos/juggling while the character approaching screen was up, making big scores very easy. Great job though. :)

zatyka says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Lots of fun to play and kept me quite entertained. I wish there were more though.

dunin says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 10:47am

good intentions and idea.
But even in a score game, you need a loosing condition, I think (just a timer for example, it would have been easy to implement it...).
Sensations are cool, would be very fun with more challenge/stress...

runvs says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Very intuitive gameplay! Nice game

May 8, 2015 @ 5:32am

Awesome Mechanic. Polish it up, create a lose condition, and it make a pretty good web or mobile game. I like it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]