Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

ink

by quill18 - Compo Entry

"ink" is a dungeon crawler set in a literal literary land that is procedurally generated. Tales of oriental adventures will summon ninjas made of ink while flying novels go for your face.

Luckily, you have brought your fountain pen and can turn your aggressors' ink against them!

(48-hour Solo-Compo)

---

CONTROLS
Left Click: Move & Melee Attack (does area damage).
Right Click: Fire your high-powered INK BEAM attack!

---

GOAL

COLLECT three pieces of INSPIRATION to complete your novel before your editor gets mad!

---

MADE WITH:
Unity 5
Substance Designer
Blender
Photoshop
Audacity
AudioTool.com
BFXR

Made by Martin "quill18" Glaude.
Unity Tutorials: http://youtube.com/quill18creates
Let's Plays: http://youtube.com/quill18
Twitter: @quill18
Email: quill18@quill18.com

<3 <3 <3 to everyone who watched the livestream!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Mood3.67
#98Theme3.99
#104Graphics4.00
#109Overall3.77
#175Humor3.50
#214Fun3.52
#248Innovation3.56
#375Audio3.04
#2469Coolness0%

Comments

TheNewPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:17am

Great game!!! Watched your livestream. Awesome job!

NSoul says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:25am

I enjoyed it :)

Briltz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:35am

Best looking LD game you have made to date. Great job!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:30am

Cool concept and sound affects, i enjoyed playing.

breadstix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45am

The concept is great. The game play is simple which is a good thing. Opening a book of ninjas almost always meant certain death for me.

Dustician says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02am

It doesn't seem like the Blackbeards are firing currently

jxargo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:13am

I love the overall look of this game. Enjoyed the livestream. Excellent work.

mrwillowb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:22am

Great game as always Martin, The game runs very slowly even with low graphics settings on my laptop. It would have been more fun if there was some traps or something else as you walk around, it is a very cool game.

shylloh says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51am

Awesome game Quill, has some strange issues playing on my old/slow laptop though. I stuck around for as much of the livestream as I could, keep up the good work! <3 <3

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:49am

Great game. Lots of details.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:55am

Pen OP please nerf.

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:44am

The graphics are really great for a 48hour game. I've watched the livestream for a while, as always quite interesting.
I do have some complaints concerning the game design, because while being ok for two days, it does not match the graphical quality. For me personally, it could have a bit more variety in gameplay. More weapons, enemies, a boss etc.
Maybe I'm a bit too strict with my opinion, but at the 10+ ludum dare attempt and with your experience, its just another level :-)

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00am

The game looks really polished and it is great fun! The control was kind of hard get around at first but once I got use to it I thoroughly enjoyed the game. Awesome job! I was watching your stream while I was working on my own entry, pretty inspiring!

Gunn3rboi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:15am

really original, i really liked the whole idea.

TiberiusC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:19am

I really enjoyed watching you build the game, as I was around for about 39 of the 48 hours, and I gotta say, it is a heck of a lotta fun to play. I hope you win the whole thing!

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:28am

A fun really game.

Malakat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:40am

Nice! Very good looker and the theme is fantastic

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56am

Great game but pretty short and .. not so funny ... saddly

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:59am

Awesome work, caught bits of the livestream too, thanks for everything bro!

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:58am

Like every Ludum Dare i'm always like: "i wanna do my own entry, but i wanna watch Quill's stream as well".
So i spend my development breaks onto Twitch watching you and your different than mine take on the theme. And you always manage to amaze me.

There is little to say about the game, it's good, very polished and the voiced sound effects are fantastic.

As always i would like to invite you to take a look at my own entry, it would be an honor! :)

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:32am

Would love some WASD movement

nicotuason says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:22pm

The world is beautiful to look at, but the characters don't look so good next to it. Still, I love the paper theme and the fact that the walls are books.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Very fun with great mood, very nice graphics!

TwiiK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Watched your livestream while I made my own game. Even though our time zones differ by about 6 hours I still think I watched the entire thing. :p

The gameplay suffered a bit because you focused so much on presentation, but I got the feeling from watching the livestream that presentation was your focus for this one.

Overall a solid entry and I love the random room generation.

DeadM8 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:38pm

A great game, very well polished and a really interesting concept. I watched what I could of the livestream, and love all the little details that have been put in :)

Wevel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Overall a fun game.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Love the asthetics of the level design :p And the little letter health pickups that drop. Game's like a simple Cannon-fodder-esque game, easy controls are fairly fun. Kept running out of ink though!

Also, no wonder he's havin' trouble writing. All his books are on pirates and ninjas :p

Barink-social says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:07pm

nice job ,quill! wathced the last few hours of your livestream, since i made a game myself as well. i did notice you're getting better at graphics

danidre14 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Really cool concept! The graphics we nicely done, the music never got old, and overall a very good submission.
One thing, when you restart, well, for me, the game lags a lot for like 1 minute, then everything smooth-ens out and playing is normal, until you win or lose, and restart again.

dusho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:45pm

nice game, love the environment
combat and targeting feels clumsy, though
also, enjoyed your livestream, again

Linus123xbb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Fantastic game, I really liked it. This is probably my most favourite game you've made on Ludum Dare :D

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I really like the look to this game, and the idea is great!

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Thanks for this game hope you win!

xgeovanni says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Good game, but far from your best. Linux version seems a little screwy but that can only really be blamed on Unity.

Jeedan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Awesome! I really liked your game, not at all biased as I love ARPGs...and use your youtube tutorials a ton!

Sim00n says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:59pm

I like the idea and the graphics but the game overall seems kind of boring.

killthealias says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:21am

The graphics, sound and such are all very well done. However I have a big complaint with how movement was handled as I had trouble targeting an enemy as the game always moved me when I was trying to target an enemy. The procedural generation was done very well also.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:41am

Very good, though I found it hard to target the flying books.

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:54am

I really enjoyed. Ive been playing thought all rooms waiting a boss or something. XD
Well, but still 5/5!
fun 5/5 because the "dish dish dish" with voice

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28am

Great one! It is hard sometimes to hit consistently enemies, but nonetheless it was a fun ride

Vulture Tamer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:56am

good game!

love the theme concept!
especially the main menu!

marinalucio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:10am

I really like the concept of the game. The controls are a bit rough, but i guess it can be easily improved (maybe add WASD to move character). The sfx is a bit too loud for the bg too. Overall nice game! hope to see it more polished. :)

PohyCZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:59am

The controls are a bit wonky, but overall, good experience.

norwalnate13 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:33pm

I loved it! I watched it come together in the livestream. I've got to say, it is very pretty for a LD game.

liquidmedia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:37pm

The best LD 32 game that I have played yet!

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Awesome job as always, quill :)

Nysten says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Pretty looking game with good gameplay. Works well.

iDisOrder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Love it, love it, love it!!!!

tigerbyte says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:41am

Great job as always, Quill! I laughed out loud when I heard the "dsh" sound of the pen.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:23am

Well done Quill. You did a top notch job on this one. When you pick up the letters the sound is a little too loud.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:50am

Great title! I felt like the ninjas were a little too difficult, but otherwise I had a LOT of fun playing your game! Thanks for sharing! (I beat it! Woo!)

OzlFX says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:02am

Honestly one of the best games I have ever played, awesome job dude! P.S. I Watched the livestream :D

JALgames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:52am

Amazing! Altough the controls still need some work, I otherwise really enjoyed this game because of the unique ink mechanics. I'd really like you to make a post-compo-version with the features you mentioned in the post-mortem video.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:51pm

I like the concept - it'd be cool if the respawn function didn't just plop you back where you were though as often when I was getting wailed on by ninjas I would just keep getting mauled when I respawned

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Nice game.

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:15am

Great idea - loved the setting an awful lot! Found the combat to be a bit uninspiring (winning wasn't all that rewarding and dying didn't feel like your fault). The environment was cool, and picking up the letters was a nice touch. Great idea for the start menu by the way!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Cool unique style for the graphics and a great take on the theme. Absolutely love how you did the opening menu too, really cool!

th4t says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Cool game. I really enjoyed watching your Post Mortem.
Of course there is room left for improvement (e.g. I don't really like the voiced sound effects) but great work for the limited time frame.

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:55pm

Really love the idea behind this game. The theme is used perfectly for what is ultimately a well polished 48hr game. Found it a bit strange/uncomfortable to both move and melee with the left mouse, but other than that - great stuff.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:11pm

The sound when picking up letters can get a bit loud, otherwise this is impressive for 48h.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Can't believe this was made in just 48 hours!

Garris says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:03am

Very nice. The environment and menu were beautiful, and the player and enemy graphics were consistent. My only critique would be that the ink attack mechanic felt a little clunky, but I got by. Thematically, this was excellent! You really did a good job of making all the elements complement each other.

coderitual says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:03pm

I've watched you stream, it was great to watch how you've worked on the game. Game itself is a masterpiece, taking into account the time in which it was done. When it comes to time management, I still have a lot to learn :)

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Wow, came here from your post-mortem video. DANG! Great job! The game is innovative, interesting, has a fun theme, great mechanics, and overall just VERY well executed!

FeniX says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Great idea and graphics! The game looks awesome, great job! I love the fact that bats are flying books. :D

However, there are some bugs - I had problems with shooting ink, sometimes that didn't happen and sometimes the ink got stuck in the smoke left after dead of an enemy an there was a sound played till the moment I shot again. An there was a moment, when a letter was stuck on the edge of the wall and I wasn't able to reach it.

May 4, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Pssst - you are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5huV5G4H100

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Cool idea and nice graphics style!

Anti says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:27am

Good execution! Really fun to watch you make it and play it.

May 7, 2015 @ 4:21am

One of the most impressive compo entries I've seen! I think it was a good idea to keep it short. Very cool!

NuvlearGames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:59am

Seriously quill!!!! You damn show off. I demand that you develop the game forever. One of the best games you have made.

sharp911 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:20pm

Great Job!

marccspro says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 10:43am

0% Coolness... That's a shame. A big part of Ludum Dare is about voting for other games.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]