Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

I Saw Her and She Ran Away

by Tommyno222 - Jam Entry

Story-driven game about ordinary guy trying to survive during war time.

Unfortunately I managed to finish only the first chapter, so I am not sure how apparent the connection with the theme will be.

Anyway the first chapter also has its ending that is an important part of the experience.

If I receive good feedback, I'd like to continue on this game to finish the whole story as intended :)

Controls:
[Left/Right] - player movement
[Shift] - running
[Up/Down] - climbing
[Up] - jump
[F] - use

IF YOU GET STUCK ON THE ROOF
It's quite easy to jump over the gap - you just have to jump while sprinting with [SHIFT] and in the mid air hit the [UP] key again to catch the edge of the roof.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#191Mood(Jam)3.53
#316Graphics(Jam)3.69
#468Overall(Jam)3.28
#602Fun(Jam)2.93
#731Innovation(Jam)2.72
#905Humor(Jam)1.86
#1030Theme(Jam)2.04

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:11am

It's really well done in terms of graphics and movement. The art style is nice. It's a bit grim and unguided for me to spend much time in, though, and I'm not sure I see an unconventional weapon here!

monstersauce says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:28am

I love it *w*
If you do manage to finish it please let me know, I would love to play more.

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45am

Nice, wants more

BermudaCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Nice atmosphere. The buildings going opaque and transparent was a nice touch. I made it to the top of the first building and then got stuck, though. There's a gap I need to jump but I can't make it?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Very nice visuals, simple but coherent and well polished. The game has a powerful story, I love narrative driven games. This is a great entry and I hope that you do continue development on the game.

Well done!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Love the art work. Wasn't sure where to go after you get onto the roof? The gap is too large to jump.

BoyWithStick says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30pm

The artwork is really cool. It was unclear of what to do at some points, but I managed. I got frustrated and kept hitting jump at one point, then I noticed I could climb up ledges. That was a rewarding discovery of mechanics. Would have like to hear some music or sounds of war in the distance to set the mood a bit more. I did really like the narrative at the points of the game. After the "She ran away part", I found myself trying to jump over a landmine and kept dying. On my first death, I kept hitting the up key and my character wiggled around. That was pretty funny.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Mmmh I really like the atmosphere of the game, and you also realized well animated and nice background sprites with really fex pixels. Nice Job!

Fitscat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Nice graphics, good character movement. Bit sad though :(

Matsuki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:46pm

The art is fantastic, and movement feels good, good job

Perjoka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Well done, great graphics!

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Nice story driven game, the story lacked a bit flavor, but the graphics are nice, and everything works well together.
I'd love to see the rest of it <3

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:23pm

Very cool. Great job!

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:31am

Wow, really nice. Feels really good to move around, and the story looks to be off to an interesting start. You should continue this!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:51am

This is a well rounded game.
There is a lot of effort on the map for such a short jam.
Some sound would have benn nice.

Nilq says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:56pm

The graphics are so cool! I like it. :3

Budaniel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Simple/clean art style, but the controls were a little finicky for my tastes. I didn't see any use of the theme, though.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Very solidly done game, great visuals, nice story. Job well done!

Dege says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Nice graphics and very polished gameplay!

Domicuc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Nice atmosphere, great game! :) also check my please (Czech support! =D)

DarkGrisen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:37pm

The only thing i don't like is that the animeations is not smooth enough. Finnish the story and the game will be awesome!

conniejoern says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:48pm

very nice atmosphere.

spin-down says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Lovely graphics with an intresting story. Maybe could have done with fitting the theme into the first chapter somewhere, just so it was in there, but apart from that I enjoyed playing it.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Great tone and atmosphere. Would have loved some audio. That roof jump is far too tricky when you hit it and I nearly gave up BUT I am glad I didn't as I really enjoyed the rest of the game. Good job.

kyyrma says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Neat artstyle, game reminds me a bit of This War of Mine. I really liked the climbing and all the mechanics felt solid, but some of the jumps were just a bit too hard for my taste.

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Looks gorgeous! Couldn't clear that jump though :)

flummox3d says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:07pm

You know, the title screen misses that running is an option. I spend three minutes flailing around on the roof until I saw in the description that the shift key is for running :D But anyway, very good job, awesome little game you got here. Not sure how it fits the theme, but that's maybe because I didn't finish it yet :)

Tommislav says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:41pm

It feels very close to This War Of Mine (which I only played for about 30 mins), but it is still very well executed, and the graphics is excellent! Very moody, and with an interesting storyline!
However, level design-wise I wouldn't place those difficult jumps so early in the game. I nearly quit because I didn't manage to do the second big jump (where you have to press "up" an extra time to grab the ledge). Overall a 4/5! Impressive!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Very nice entry, the only problem is that it was too short - no real gameplay there. Overall a very polished game for the short time, hope you continue it!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Nice prologue for a game! The story really hooked me up, I'd love to see what happens next. I also enjoyed graphics and gameplay. Congrats!

Photon says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:22am

Pretty interesting what you have so far. Would have really liked a little audio, but otherwise it was quite intriguing and the platforming was well done for what was there. Very nice.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:05am

Really cool!

This game definitely needs some ambient sounds. The rooftop stumped me for a bit until I read the directions.. but even then I thought you meant just run off the edge and press the up key mid-air, not push it once I touched the other ledge. :P

Anyways, I'd love to see the story continue!

Foxarya says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:52am

Love it. But it is too short, i want more

LeReveur says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I like stories. So I would really like to know the end of this one. And understand where the theme lies, too. ^^

thejash says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:33pm

nice game, bit frustrating of not being able to get to certain areas but part of the charm, having to figure out how to get things done. nicely done

Drauthius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Nice game, the graphics are pretty good and the story starts pretty interesting too. Like sugarbyte commented, I'm not sure what the unconventional weapon is in this game.

ehtd says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:46am

I did get stuck on the roof. Nice game.

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:21am

Definitely an interesting setting for a game. The story left me wanting to play more, which is a good sign.. :) Nice work!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:49am

A few bugs here and there (the girl was running in place, my avatar disappeared but I could still move..) but a nice tone, I like it

zatyka says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:21am

Cool style and interface. I know how time consuming it is to create this type story in such a short time. Looking forward to seeing the rest of the game.

MaesK says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:08am

Nice entry, a little grim with interesting mechanics.

Filip says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Very nice visuals! It seems the game could make a very interesting low-res cinematic platformer.
I think sound could improve the atmosphere a lot.
The basic premise seems similar to that of This War Of Mine.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]