Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Grief

by mantis - Jam Entry

It's a game about a roaring rampage of revenge. One sad square avenging a tragedy that happened to his family. He may not have guns, but he won't let that stop him. His wits will be his weapon to wield against his opponents.

-----------

POST MORTEM IS HERE:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/04/22/ld32-entry-grief-post-mortem/

The game is possible to be completed. At times it may feell like it's not, but it actually is. I wasted tons of valuable devtime trying to complete the levels to make sure it can be done ;)

-----------

Game info:

Controls:
-Arrows/Joystick tilt to move,
-Space/Up/Joystick button 3 to jump

To walljump, slide against a wall and press jump button.

Don't die!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#212Fun(Jam)3.49
#650Graphics(Jam)3.02
#684Overall(Jam)3.03
#817Mood(Jam)2.61
#829Humor(Jam)2.20
#1033Theme(Jam)1.97

Comments

NEGI_RUS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:50pm

That's nice, but very similar to Super Meat Boy

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:34pm

I hit the door, go to the title screen, then it restarts. Not sure if I should be doing anything else?

mantis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:56pm

It's still work in progress, full version will be up when the deadline hits. I'm creating more and more levels now.

mantis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:24am

Btw: full version is up

allanolivei says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:27am

Much like super meat boy, and this is perfect.

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42am

Nice Super Meat Boy like. :)

Xaychru says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:31am

The controls are intuitive for anybody who has played SMB, the player is a bit too slippery and I would have preferred something else than a white square, but on the overall it plays nicely and still looks polished. :)

PanKamil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:27am

So you have basically made a Super Meat Boy in less than three days. Impressive.

Character physics is interesting. I had problems with controlling this high acceleration and inertia at the beginning, but it all makes sense now.

Btw, doctor's pixel art and the whole intro are pitch perfect.

ApocoNypse says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:33am

Quite difficult but great fun and very well done :) Nice job!

Perjoka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:35am

Well done, maybe a bit hard but i had fun playing :) I loved the Squares as Characters in the intro!

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:17pm

I didn't get the unconventional weapon theme in the game. Great game, but very slippery ground. (Are you playing a piece of soap? That would explain the color... almost).

louis.denizet says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55pm

realy fun to play ! But gosh it is as hard as super meat boy ! Even harder with the controls acceleration.
Graphics is nice, FX are good. The only thing that could have add something more to the game is some music :)
However you did a great work in only two days ! Very impressive !

Yamzho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Very nice game, cool pixels, but... I didn't the how related to the theme it was... But still, cool game.

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58pm

The game was fun, but the physic was hard to handle. It's also really similar to Meat Boy.
Good job!

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:13pm

It's fun but ultimately it's super meat boy. No unconventional weapon and to be honest I didn't get a 'denial' feel about the first stages. It was JUST super meat boy. That's the only sense I get from the whole game. Never made it to the next stage of grief (assuming you did them all).

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Really nice game, absolutely enjoyed it!

Foofanoo42 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Slickly tuned and playable. Good to have lots of levels, worth the playtesting to make sure.

It is amazing how much the Super Meat Boy 'feel' came out. But this is fine, there were games much like this before SMB anyway. To me the innovation of SMB was the 'watch all your deaths' thing at the end of each level.

OneTrueAaron says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:58pm

I think you know my opinion. Great game!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Handles like a charm, Love this game, Not sure how the world being your weapon works towards the theme to be honest (sounds like loop hole logic to me :P) but i really enjoyed playing it, i will complete it (got up to level 5)

Great entry ^^

zakchaos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Did not scale properly in browser for me leaving scroll bars on the edges, but i still had a great time with it, beautiful graphics, great opening sequence!

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Really fun, reminded me of SMB, Level 5 was hard

yuigoto says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:50am

Yes, it feels like SMB, but that's not bad. It's actually nice to see you made the mechanics and nailed it with some nice level designs in three days.

The graphics are simple, but hold its charm, and it's always nice to see a story being told without dialogue, it makes the game universal, no need for translating for people to embrace it.

More than a soundtrack, I'd like to see some ambient sounds in this game, it'd be a nice addition.

Stage 7 is HARD, BTW.

mantis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:57am

Hey all, thanks for comments, I really appreciate it. I know that my theme interpretation is lacking. When I was wrapping up the game and I was creating the levels, I realised that creating challenging levels (which in my opinion make or break this kind of platformer) meant I had to play through all of them to make sure that they're actually possible to beat. That cut into my making-more-levels time, which meant I had to make even more challenging levels to make up for that.

I wanted to put more ways to kill your enemies with the world and more kinds of enemies to kill, (for example slow enemies that don't jump off cliffs but you can crush under pistons), but I just didn't have enough time to implement it.

I'll do a more coherent writeup in Post Mortem, as soon as I finish working today.

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:03pm

hard to control :D
fun to play :D

flwns says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:19pm

I liked the clean graphics, the interpretable intro sequence, resemblance to meat boy, but the controls were very frustrating.

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Nice homage to Super Meat Boy. Good polish with a nice game feel. Wish the levels were less punishing (I didn't finish) but know that a lot of players relish in this hard fun.

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Its just like super meat boy! Not that is a bad thing, but, I don't really see how it fits to the Theme Unconventional weapon!

But the game is well done, the character is a bit too slippery, witch make things even harder!

Even though i don't really see how it applies to the theme, very well done!

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:17pm

It's pretty tight ^_^ I liked it a bunch! <3

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Interesting storytelling! The gameplay reminded me of SMB so much that I found myself pressing shift to try to move faster :-)

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Controls are appropriate and tight. Good challenge.

Split82 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Hard but fun. Great job.

sputnik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:16am

Really meatboyesque! Superb tweening!

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:59am

Very SMB-esque indeed. Which is good and impressive, but bad for me because I suck at it hehe. Awesome job!

iSamurai says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:20am

Super square boy, nice! Good execution for a jam entry! Control feels very fluid.

ianburnette says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:51am

Nice recreation of Meat Boy playability. Did NOT like the fridging at the beginning - I almost stopped playing before I got to the gameplay. But the gameplay was fun! So, I guess I'd suggest a different story if you continue developing it. :P

asobi tech says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Really like the intro you put in explaining the back story.
As most people have said, this is ver much Super Meat Boy, which isn't a bad thing.
I really like the squashing and shape changing of the squares to give them character.
Movement feels too heavy at times, it's hard to change direction and sometimes you don't feel in control.

SledKnight says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:16am

Difficult, but very nice entry!

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:14pm

This is hard! At first the controls felt very indirect and wobbly, but i got kind of used to it.
Super fun as well as great intro and story! Esp. for 48 hours.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:30pm

I wish the player felt less slippery; I had a hard time controlling him. But really nice and polished design.

nguyenmv2 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Excellent game! If you were able to make a super meat boy copy in 3 days, that's quite a feat. Didn't find the unconventional weapon to actually be a weapon though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]