Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Math Quest

by SarahFrisk - Compo Entry

Bee the Monster's good friend Frank the Lich has been attacked by PCs (otherwise known as Player Characters). Help Bee use the mystical Math Magic to defeat the PCs and rescue her friend.

This game was made using:

Code:
AngularJS
SCSS
HTML

Art:
Manga Studio 5
Photoshop

Editor:
Atom

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Theme4.00
#191Overall3.61
#248Innovation3.56
#272Graphics3.56
#440Humor2.93
#443Fun3.17
#484Mood3.00
#2292Coolness17%

Comments

igorfelga says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Great game!!!

Very funny, but in replay i can't fight

ladybenko says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Very clever take on the theme! :)

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:27am

Nice! I liked the distribution of problems. I saved Frank!

On my screen the updownleftright symbols showed as boxes.

SarahFrisk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:02am

@igorfelga Fixed it!

@sugarbyte: What browser/OS were you using?

error031 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:14pm

This could be really good education game! Keep up the good work

SiENcE says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Cool idea, to you your mind as weapon :). I basically did the same with my game.
Really cool entry and for innovation!

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Funny little game, if a bit repetitive :)

Tselmek says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Sweet gameplay, also the fight window appeared in the lower part of my browser and thus a part of the fight window wasn't visible, but it wasn't a big obstacle.

A slower version, maybe with no timer at all, could be a great game for kids and if you ever make a version for kids, i'll make sure to make my little sister play ^^

Good job!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Great Game! I love math. And D&D. This was a great blend of the two. So happy we rescued Frank. The only improvement I can think of would be to have different types of PCs that Bee would have to fight. But I liked the rogue(?)/hobbit(?) guy graphically. And great use of an unconventional weapon. Thanks for making this.

OadT says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Cool game, but you could do the controls a bit better (arrow keys to move, space to fight, and autofocus textbox) The graphics are quite nice, but there could be some variation, but its fine, I know we just have 48 hours ;)

May 10, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Excellent game, and it's good to see some high quality educational games showing up, even from just a 48 hour period!

I did hit one bug though, after reseting the game, the timer ticked down a lot faster, making the fights impossible (Windows 7, Firefox).

Good luck getting enough ratings!

drludos says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Nice idea and interesting game. And kudos for creating an educational game in 48h! :)

The game is cool to play, but it would be better maybe if the PC would fight back, for example each time we make a mistake! :)

May 11, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Nice use of the theme, I'm not a huge fan of math though so really not my thing. Could be turned into a great learning tool though ^^

pstudio says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Nice little game that would be great for young children starting out on math. Reminds me of the math problems in Math Rescue.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]