Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rain Rain GO AWAY!

by Bitterdeath - Jam Entry

Control the Space Needle and destroy the rain clouds with fireworks to save New Year's Eve in Seattle.

3 Waves of enemies, increasing in strength.

Collect umbrellas to increase your firepower and score!

Dodge raindrops, one hit will destroy you.

Defeat the boss raincloud.

Used Arrows or W,A,S,D to move and Left Mouse Button or Space to shoot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#296Humor(Jam)3.31
#421Fun(Jam)3.19
#429Theme(Jam)3.47
#442Mood(Jam)3.17
#445Audio(Jam)2.93
#457Overall(Jam)3.30
#549Graphics(Jam)3.22
#904Innovation(Jam)2.33

Comments

Catwheel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24am

I beat it!

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:32am

There's nothing like flying around in the space needle! Very nice game.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36am

Finally a game where I blast off and fight things with the Space Needle! Also, I really liked how many bullets you shoot out when fully powered up. :D

ShIxtan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:10am

I beat it! Nice game, I thought the sound effects for firing got a little grating, but it was fun to fly the needle around :)

n9Mtq4 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:15am

Fun game, and great music!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:19am

The basic premise is so weird and good.
Real nice!

nightlord says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:01am

good game play and lovely title screen. As a Seattleite myself enjoyed the humor too :)

jackyjjc says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:23am

Great game, the control feel tight and the levels are challenging. The background music was great and a flying space needle? 10/10

mike1101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:27am

Really liked your drawings. Good unconventional weapon. The game mechanic is pretty plain, though. And although the drawings are great it feels a bit harsh - maybe soften with filters in photoshop ? Pixellate ? I dunno. Good job.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:09am

Fun idea and a great Game.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:24am

As a native Seattlite, I appreciate the theme! Your game was fun to play, and very challenging. I have one comment- your sound was a bit jarring, and didn't contribute to the game in my opinion. Otherwise, I thought it was very entertaining!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:32am

Thanks for all the great feedback. I was a little heavy handed with Bfxr on the sounds. Good to know for next time.

texdata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:18am

all right !!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Very interesting idea, flying around in the needle. was difficult at first, but I got the hang of it.

marccspro says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Was really really funny ^^

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:59pm

For a Jam entry, I think you could've fit a bit more into it. The mechanics that you have in here are pretty solid though, you just needed to add more.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:48pm

I really like the music.

flwns says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:32am

Until I was 9 years old I thought the space needle was a rocket ship

HellBlazer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:36am

That's certainly unconventional! Cool idea and amusing game, though the gameplay maybe could have gone a little further.

Aevek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Cool little game. Loved the art of it, the backgrounds were beautiful. The enemies projectiles moved slow, but that was good because there was so many of them.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Really fun little game. :D I enjoyed playing it.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:23am

Haha, really fun idea and solid gameplay. Why is the music off by default? It's great! Anyway, great work.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:14am

Great little shmup. Loved the parallaxing background.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:42pm

The upgrade schedule is kinda wonky. I get fully upgraded half-way through level 1 and it's major overkill, and continues to be overkill up through the final boss. But if I die once in level 3 I'm screwed, I can't even kill one dark cloud with the unupgraded weapon.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Solidly executed shoot em up! There's plenty of interesting tension when you work your way up to the super powerful max upgrade and then try not to lose it all by getting hit. Nice work!

roving-stone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:50am

Hilarious concept haha, very unconventional. Of course I want to control a flying, laser-shooting space needle!

Zeriver says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Pretty fun game to play, but once you get all upgrades you can just spam spacebar and be pretty much unbeatable. Anyway i really enjoyed this game, nice gameplay with ok graphics and decent audio.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]