Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Etsuq

by Gareth Jenkins - Jam Entry

Etsuq is a prototype for https://www.deckbound.com -- keep an eye out there for more info. The game idea fit well with the theme, so we built a part of it for the jam.

Explore the dungeon, play cards to summon heroes and minions to fight monsters. You are weak, but your decisions are powerful. As well as heroes and minions, you can play runes and structures to assist you on your path through the dungeon.

Press the deck button to turn over cards to your hand, you can either move your character (with the direction buttons) or play a card (press a card in your hand to select it, then tap on a tile to play it).

Check out the game page for more information. We'll update that with more information about the game as it develops. This'll be a mobile game at first release, but the jam game we've built uses mouse-click controls.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#404Graphics(Jam)3.53
#445Audio(Jam)2.93
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#742Innovation(Jam)2.69
#868Overall(Jam)2.78
#896Fun(Jam)2.47
#915Humor(Jam)1.79
#979Theme(Jam)2.34

Comments

Leon Byford says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:43pm

I quite liked this game. It has some rather atmospheric aesthetics. It's a little frustrating that so many cards turn out to be unused, though. And though you can see what lies in front of you, it's difficult to know what's to your left and right. (You can use the arrow keys to look around the area, but then it's hard to know where you originally were.) Also, I'm not sure I'd consider the concept of summoning heroes/minions to fight for you to be especially unconventional.

Overall though, I did find this game fun. And I'd be interested in playing a more complete version.

dusho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:25pm

try some other Unity exports.. WebGL is still unusable most of the time

MrShoestore says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 1:58am

it seems very strange that there are GUI controls to move the camera and player, but then you can move the player using WASD, causing you to go off screen. I ended out not spending a lot of time with this because I wasn't sure what I was doing, and when it said "tap to attack" or whatever, I kept click without it doing anything. the when it finally did something it said i died. i felt i didn't have feedback as to what i did wrong.

Perjoka says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:27am

Nice game, i like the visual style.

May 11, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Very buggy. I didn't know how to play it and it got stressful. Controls weren't always responsive.

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:07pm

I like graphics though I'd like to see more gameplay feedback like knowing when you are going to win or lose.

Chaoseed says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:37pm

This is pretty intriguing! Nicely spooky, and the gameplay is interesting. I think there may be some issues, like: How do I know how much health I have? I used a rune on my own square and got a "YOU DIED" message, but I was still able to play; is that correct? The other thing that nagged at me was that I could play cards any time I wanted, and in theory I can "run out" (which is why fragments let me recover them), but I didn't seem to be in any danger of running out any time soon. Maybe I'm just not in tune with the way it was balanced. Hm...I'm afraid as the theme goes, though, it wasn't really "unconventional"...

n9Mtq4 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Loved the graphics and the soft music.

Borkleby says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:13am

WHOA! Lots of crazy 3d stuff going on here! I also like the music. I died a lot, but I actually had the most fun running around while I was dead on the floor. :D

Mossy Frog says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:51am

strangley relaxing to play. Enjoyed the music and the 3D art. well done, nice entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]