Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Turbo Moon Hero

by Photon - Compo Entry

Get ready to be the hero or worlds... because literally, you are the defense for an entire planet against meteors and space drones. You stand/float/orbit between this quaint ecosphere and impending galactic dangers. Can you intercept and otherwise pummel all that threatens your host planet all while obeying physics (give or take) and staying in your designated orbital path? Step up (figuratively speaking,) because you are a moon...

You are the Turbo Moon Hero!

Move : Arrow Keys
Z: Orbit Faster
X: Use Turbo Attack (w/ full gauge)

About Turbo: You get points for your turbo by destroying the dangerous stuff with your moon hero. Some stuff is more dangerous then others and awards you more points! One the gauge is full, press X to go into turbo mode for a brief time period and really start smashing stuff!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#433Innovation3.27
#509Theme3.40
#590Overall3.13
#612Fun2.97
#624Humor2.59
#692Graphics2.83
#744Audio2.21
#781Mood2.65

Comments

kristof says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:10am

Nice little game. Pretty difficult though. Controlling both the planet and the space ship felt a bit overwhelming. Maybe a slower start with less meteors would help the player to get used to the controls. Overall a nice first game to play :-)

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:45pm

quite hard but I think the concept is good

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Pretty nice! It does feel a little bit tricky to control the planet and the player simultaneously. However, it's a solid game for 48 hours.

P.S. If you change the embed URL to 'http://static.stencyl.com/games/30518-0.swf', you can embed the game without having a frame around it, as it does currently. :)

Photon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:31pm

@kristof, PixlWalkr, ETH: Yeah, I kinda went back and forth on the difficulty. I was trying to balance the action so that things weren't too boring at the start or too crazy right after the start. Near the end I swayed closer to keeping a little more action in the hopes of staving off "boring," which risked a higher difficulty curve. Hopefully you guys didn't get too frustrated!

Thanks for playing and giving your feedback!

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:27am

This is super hard! I could never fill up my gauge even halfway. But it's a cool concept, and it's fun to play even though I'm super bad at it. I like the moon sprite too :) Good one.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:28am

Very original concept. A little bit frustrating thou.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:31am

Well done, i like the style of graphics and the simple but fun gameplay :)

Taldius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32am

This game was funny, but it's pretty difficult and simple.

Mark T says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38am

Nice, simple. But super hard. Maybe if you could reverse the orbit? Perhaps if the planet could move a little quicker it might be a little more beatable.

jfraser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Cool mechanics, fun graphics and the music went really well with the game.

peecestudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:18pm

Nice game pretty hard. Nice animations.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:47am

Nice concept. I liked that you could only move the guy in one direction - made you have to plan out his movement. You should allow us to move the planet much more quickly though

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:49am

Fun little game - loved the moon's animations. Sometime I felt like getting hit was unavoidable - it would be nice if either the Earth could move a little faster, or the moon could reverse it's orbit

herniewise says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:50am

Nice Concept :)

KirbiKaka says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:54am

This is a really cool application of the theme! I like that you gave the moon a little headband and gloves, it's really cute :]!

Although I'm also a fan of the single-direction orbiting and controlling speed, I think the game is still a bit too hard to control. One possibility could be that the world's movement feels a little slow. Another thing might be that there are only two speeds for the moon, so it's harder to get a good control over your defense. It'd be cool to see some system that would allow you to scale the speed of the moon, or possibly even pause the moon's movement?

By the way, I really appreciate that the game is embedded in this site. Super convenient! This game is really cool, I'm impressed you got all of this in 48 hours :D

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:28am

The blank expression on the moons face when the earth explodes is perfect.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:38am

Makes sense. Looks nice. Hard. I want that planet to move just a little faster.

The smash sound is nice, but it could use a little company. Maybe a little music or a few variations on the collision sound.

Your game's goal is the opposite of mine. =) You want to keep the asteroids away, I want to bring the asteroids home for mining.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:29am

Cool game! I liked the little moon animations especially! It was tough to get your brain around moving the moon and the earth together, but it clicked after a while and I managed to last more than a few seconds! Good job :)

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:39am

Love the little moon with boxing gloves :) you should add some powerups :) awesome job!

ceosol says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:18am

The controls were a bit too slow, sometimes it would be impossible to move out of the way. The moon ran at the same speed as the meteors which added even more to the difficulty of motion. However, I think the game is a great idea. People would definitely play it for the quirkiness of a boxing moon! I also loved the moon's facial expression when you die.

jprogman says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:34am

I believe the uni-direction of the orbiting adds to the difficulty. Fortunately, the speed-up or down helps add some control. I've tried to keep myself alive until I try the turbo attack. Managed to do that... then I lost the game.

Nicely done.

drludos says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:37am

Very original and innovative gameplay idea, I like it! The game is quite challenging though, maybe you should allow the player to change orbit direction instead of only changing the rotation speed? (it's frustrating to see a missile coming and to miss it because the hero is 1/100 second to slow or too fast)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]