Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Teed Off

by sanojian - Compo Entry

There is an alien invasion just when you got a tee time.


HTML5 game using Phaser.io

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#70Theme4.05
#97Fun3.77
#129Overall3.72
#171Humor3.51
#191Innovation3.68
#234Mood3.35
#287Audio3.19
#384Graphics3.33

Comments

Leon75 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:08am

Fun game, better than the average golf game. Didn't spot any bugs while playing either.

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:44am

Haha this is pretty fun man! I like the idea of the game and it plays well. The lazer sound effect got annoying though,

A333 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:29am

Great game.
Hole 7 is a nightmare. Probably because I suck at angle-force games =)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:25am

Wow that's hard! I love it, it's a pretty interesting take on the "throwable" genre, very fun. I lost on hole 5 :/

Only thing that irks me is that the animation for the alien when it destroys the town is a bit long. But that's a pet peeve more than anything else.

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:40pm

Like it! Different spin on it.
I found the speed of the swing a little hard. I struggled to get the angle I wanted more than figuring out where it should be.
I enjoyed tho!

feizenbara says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Great game and fun plot :-)

morazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Very original, fun and hilarious. I like it! :D

micahcowan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Hole 8 is really clever.

Fun/addictive game, plays great. Great use of the theme, too. Love it!

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Lost on the 9th hole. Best part was when you get the alien right in the head :) Controls were good, felt like the swing timer was a little fast, or maybe I'm just slow. Fun game, I really liked it.

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:09pm

very nice game! i had to play until the city was saved. i guess you designed it having a mobile port in mind?

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Concept is good.
Found it a little punishing to try anf fail, maybe a level retry option.
An indication of my last attempt path, and settings would aid.
Fits theme well.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Not a big fan of golf but this was pretty fun! I found a bug at the very end where if you click swing again a second message shows up and the ship creates new destroyed buildings on the right.

Lyxilion says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Epic game ! xD

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:12am

Nicely executed! Entertaining with polished game mechanics. Also, I liked the alien slowly destroying all the small houses in the background. The laser animation could have been faster though (or having a skip button), as I spent half the playing time waiting for the animation.

After hole 9 it crashed for me with the console message:

Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property 'par' of undefined (index.js:432).

Nevertheless, nice job :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Great idea and lots of fun! Would be cool if you had some kind of indicator to line up your shot a bit easier

Matsuki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:17pm

That was awesome, incredibly innovative, good job :)

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:41pm

What a hilarious concept, and lots of fun to play. The animation of hitting an alien right on the head is hilarious and super satisfying.

The game can be quite challenging, since you have to extrapolate from the Swing meter where the ball will go, resulting in a lot of trial and error shots. It would be nice to let players restart a hole (with whatever level of city destruction there was when the originally started that hole) instead of having to restart the entire game.

I really liked the music and graphics, aside from the red text that can be a bit hard to read on the backgrounds it appears on.

Great work!

FReNeTiC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Tons of fun!
Thanks for doing that!

polegar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Really cool game, i had a good time playing. I just wanted to test it, but finally I play more than i should :).
The only drawback is the laser sound which can be annoying over time

strega says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:03am

Really awesome! Liked the mechanics. I wish I could click anyway to start swinging though, and not have to wait for the alien to destroy a building.

TD5 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Good audio and graphics, fits the theme nicely and very playable. All in all an excellent game! Would be a good on a mobile phone too.

Makay says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:16am

Liked every bit of it! Very amusing and challenging! Well done!

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Nice game. The speed of the Swing is a tad too quick (and the laser animation a bit too long) though.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:14pm

This one goes in my top 10 list (out of about 40 reviewed so far). Great idea and execution. The whole situation is pretty funny as well. You took a pretty well known game (golf) and put a very different twist on it while still keeping its core mechanics intact. My only complaint is a lack of instructions for how to play; and a description of the different clubs would be useful to us non-golfers. Good graphics and matching audio as well.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Clever original game, enjoyed this one alot. Liked how the buildings in the background were your lives. Will be coming back to play this one. Only suggestion is maybe tweaking the swing timer a fraction.

Larry says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:29pm

It was a pretty fun game. Saved the city on my second try with a score of -9 and two buildings left.

VDZ says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:38am

Fun little game.

Hole 7 felt like bullshit because you can only win by abusing the fact that the hitbox is bigger than the sprite (you can't actually hit the sprite itself), so it took me a lot of tries to figure out how to clear it.

The game's replayability suffers from the lack of variation between playthroughs; once you memorize how much power each shot takes it becomes kind of boring.

(Best score: -22. Did really well until I got a Triple Bogey on hole 9.)

Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Overall was really good, the different swing styles and bounce mechanics were cool

jmborden says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:41am

Cool idea for a game, very different kind of game. Fits the theme well, had nice graphics, great audio and was fun to play! Well done!

yuigoto says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 10:50pm

When I saw the screenshots I didn't think it would be this fun, but this game is GOOD! I enjoyed playing it a LOT! :D

Graphics have that nice NES style, sound effects and music are really nice, but the gameplay is really good!

It falls perfectly in Bushnell's Law of being "simple to play, but hard to master" as the controls and concept are quite simple, but levels become challenging enough to require lots of gameplays.

cdgugler says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 4:06am

Love this game! Very original concept and fun take on the genre. Very polished graphics and audio too.

ChronoDK says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:05am

This is so addicting! I love it. Very difficult, but great fun anyway.

Saker Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:22am

Very original game with cool music and fun gameplay. Conrats! :)

May 4, 2015 @ 1:02pm

I won with one house left ;D Very fun to play!

celisoft says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 12:45pm

The game was fun !

sekaru says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Pretty fun. Cool graphics too.

May 20, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Funny game! Great graphics. I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/ArGc_dQ-3Lc

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]