Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

THE CLAW

by CiderPunk - Compo Entry

You fly THE CLAW in this shoot 'em up, the slight problem is THE CLAW doesn't have any guns!, that's OK though, you got a CLAW!

Click and hold with the left mouse button to fly around, right click (or press any key on the web version) to launch THE CLAW, capturing a ship will co-opt it's weapons for your own purposes, it'll also serve as a shield should you take any damage to the front.


Right clicking while holding a ship will consume the ship, adding whatever health it has remaining to yours, and freeing THE CLAW for more CLAWING action.

It's all mouse controlled because it's designed for android touch screens, this is a phone game! I may add joypad/key controls later.

Sadly there's no sound, and no attack patterns, and no starfield and no shaders for engine glow, but it's fun!

written in Java using LibGDX, models created in blender, additional art in Gimp.

Embedded web version has problems with keys so try the link or better yet download the JAR :)

20/04/15: updated web and html version
* fixed disappearing health-bar after death
* uncommented progression that makes it a bit harder as you play - oops!

20/04/15 (later): published on Google play store, this is the definitive compo edition, how it was meant to be played :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#100Theme3.98
#145Innovation3.76
#217Graphics3.67
#305Fun3.36
#333Overall3.41
#572Mood2.91
#691Humor2.46

Comments

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:20pm

This game is actually pretty good! It plays smooth and looks very cool for a compo job! Nice work.

Finish it and put it on Google Play with Ads!

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:04pm

I just needed a moment but when i realized the core mechanic i was really hooked. Really cool idea and good 3d models btw.

vidarn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:27pm

It took me a while to get used to the controls on Android but once I got it I really enjoyed the game. A sweet twist on the old Space-shooter!
Great job :)

remiv says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:00pm

Interesting interpretation of the theme.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Really novel mechanics, highjacking enemy ships and smashing them together. I could definitely see a fully fleshed out version of this game post-LD. Great work!

Mossy Frog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:52pm

A pretty neat take on the unconventional weapon :] Nice entry, and cool models!

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:53pm

pretty nice game! i love the concept. only complaint is the lack of music.

SilentNight says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Its a cool, innovative theme idea. It plays really well. It took me a few to understand how it was supposed to play. Would be cool to see an expanded version!

Justin Mullin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:51am

Very clever idea, and nice art with smooth animations tops it off. Nicely done!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:19am

I think this was the first libgdx 3d game I played. Very cool idea and controlls work really nice on Android. Gets a little repetitive, but overall gold York!

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:37pm

thanks everyone!
btw my score to beat is 24,500

LMT says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Nice game. I like the graphics and the claw mechanic is really neat. I never would've thought of that. Shame about the no audio though.

philipp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Nice mechanic! Really interesting to handle. First for grabbing an enemy and second for shooting it behind enemies and than adjusting the altitude to hit them in their backs.

The difficulty escalated a bit too quickly for my taste, but I'm shitty at SHMUPS.

Btw: I can't be the only one, who said the title with the voice of the aliens in Toy Story :D

ZoneOne2 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Well done. Very smooth and polished. I like the hook mechanic; that's a pretty neat idea.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Cool concept, but the execution was a little weak. Definitely could be a cool game with some work and polishing.

Sverik says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:00am

Very good concept, and nicely done graphics/models. It's a bit too difficult immediately from the start, though. Too easy to die in the first few seconds. But otherwise it's a fun and interesting game. Have you considered adding controller/gamepad support to either PC or Android version? :)

louki0101 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:17pm

3D models were really good! Also interesting concept where you 'bite' the ships and use them as a weapon.

bradur says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:22pm

- The idea is great!
- The implementation of the mechanics is very good.
- Needs music & sfx for better atmosphere & mood
- Needs more content as well
- The models are good quality

Null DIES says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:58pm

The Claw idea is amazing. It is really an unconventional weapon.
The only suggestion I have is to have the difficulty lower at the beginning and slowly increase it.
Anyway, nice work.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:02pm

A very good game.
Sound will make it exceptional.
Thanks.

jojocanard says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Great game. The mechanic is smart and fits the theme very very well (I like the way the unconventional weapon is the claw.. but also your ennemies). The gameplay is hard to master and well done.
The maniability was not perfect but it was probably because I played it on my computer.

Fabraz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:45pm

CLAW time!

May 7, 2015 @ 11:08pm

"Next time I suggest you avoid dying"... thx for the info :p
Nice looking graphics and original idea.
Sound would be nice.

freaknarf says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:27am

Nice concept !!
I had issues with the mouse (richt clik on the web version calls a window, there was an increasing offset between mouse and ship...stuff like this) and i thhink you should make brighter ennemies or at least more sontrasted with background.
This can be fun !

CiderPunk says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Thanks for the feedback, it's not supposed to follow your mouse pointer exactly, your pointer is simulating a finger on a phone screen so generally you'd be using your left thumb as a virtual joystick, sort of, so you can take your thumb off the screen and reset the position for comfort without changing your in-game position. eventually you'd be able to adjust the sensitivity so you wouldn't have to move the mouse/digit so far to move.

Re. the web version right click popping up context menus, that was unavoidable and the reason it looks for key input as an alternative, it's terrible and I'd much rather ppl played the JAR or android version! :)

cyand1317 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:41pm

The idea is interesting and the game is fun! However (on Windows) the ships do not move accurately with the mouse - about 1.2x faster depending on the window size.

thickspit says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I really enjoyed this! I would LOVE to see it as a full game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]