Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Thanks Guugle!

by Kitch - Compo Entry

The Bluetoids are on their way to invade Earth! You are leading the fight, by hacking into their favorite search engine and rearranging the results, in an attempt to cause chaos.

Gameplay is rather simple, try to select the correct order of the search results for each level.

If you are correct, the ship will explode, and the level is over.

If you are incorrect, the Bluetoid character will give their appreciation to their favorite search engine.

Thanks Guugle!

Created in HaxeFlixel.
Artwork in Photoshop.
Music in FL Studio.

Heavily influenced by some previous LD games I've played :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#16Humor4.15
#19Audio4.15
#73Graphics4.12
#87Theme4.00
#152Mood3.53
#153Innovation3.74
#219Overall3.56
#383Fun3.26

Comments

YarharALC says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 11:49pm

I can't tell if I'm progressing or not.

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:37am

For the "Red Thingie" level, I somehow couldn't get it "intuitively" so I had to iterate it.

The winning combo is Tech Support/Beam/Unclog.

"Done Naturally" I would have expected Unclog/Beam/Tech or Tech/Unclog/Beam.

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! So I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:20pm

A very polished experience. I love the humour - I got a clear 'McPixel' vibe.

The animations are great, the music is catchy, and the length seems pretty much perfect for what it is. Well done!

PapyPilgrim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Having a little victory fanfare and a "you failed" text at the same time is a bit confusing, even with the instruction stating that the ship should exploe.
Otherwise I really like that idea, and it manages to be dynamic and funny. Good job!

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:10pm

It reminds me to McPixel (stetic, sound,...). I like it, but i don't know why :-S

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Love the art and humor!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Reminds me of old Lucas Art point and click games, with the surrealness of the puzzles. Enjoyable music, and cohesive art style throughout.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Humor humor. This idea is great, but it's really hard to find the right order. I love this aesthetic which is similar with all these old games like another world, maniac mansion, etc. Thank you for this entry. Neat ++

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Very nice. It was a little hard to figure out if the order you chose was actually correct or not, but it was a really fun and cute game. Nice graphics and music.

Thor7791 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19am

I loved this so much. This was wonderful!

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:51am

This was great. The music and whole presentation was a lot of fun. It took me the longest to get the wrong answer for the blue thing that was red.

I appreciated the "You failed!" message with the thumbs up.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:32am

Haha, great idea. I gave the right answer (thus failing the level) like 4 times in a row without even trying. Now I wish the game was about giving the right answer! I liked the graphics a lot, all of the little animations specifically, and the humor of these aliens' guugle searches. Nice job.

Luke Molnar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:26am

Very epic! Loved it!

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:43pm

I love this concept! Original! Lovely art too.

hrd_games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Strange, and hard to know what I'm doing. Still, it's silly, and looks damn good.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:36pm

I felt happy when I helped them, but also wanted to kill them. Great graphics! I included it in part 3 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Q8RvVjW24Io

EwChap says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:52am

Very well put together entry. Love the theme use and the premise.

rudra says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Pretty nice concept, and a well polished one :)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:01pm

I couldn't quite figure out the order of the commands, though I love the art and the humor.

May 2, 2015 @ 9:12am

Order was difficult to figure out but I really liked this. Thought it was clever and the art, music and setting worked well. Interesting interpretation of the theme and Guugle for the win.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]