Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cornflake Ninja

by badlydrawnrod - Compo Entry

Suits from Cereal Refreshments And Products Incorporated (CRAPI) have taken over the cereal factory and are hatching an evil plan to make cereal more addictive by adding sugar. As a ninja, and more importantly as a parent, you are taking your cereal revenge.

Who will be the ultimate cereal killer? (groan)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#279Humor3.26
#344Audio3.09
#702Fun2.88
#702Theme3.17
#794Overall2.90
#835Mood2.56
#868Graphics2.50
#1044Innovation2.17

Comments

Markus Becker says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56pm

I like the music, and the art style. The game fits the theme, but some animations would be nice.
Somethimes I was killed instantaneously, because i landed right in front of the door, but I guess, I should have known better.
Nice, simple, game!

talecrafter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Good game. Always wanted do be a cornflake ninja. :)
Graphics and sound could be improved, of course.

haveric says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Very unforgiving, but still fun. I died several times by accidentally jumping to another platform. Artwork could obviously use work. Music is great although maybe not a great fit for this game style.

Stechas says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Funny to play with all these cereals flying around and quite challange too considering power of enemies. Nice!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:01pm

More games need to contain the phrase "as a ninja, and also as a parent" - made me laugh out loud :)

Nice little platform shooter - agree with other posters about the jump being a bit weird when you hit the top of the screen - but enjoyed it over all

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05pm

I liked how it fit the theme, and that you actually had to play like a ninja to progress. I found it challenging but I always felt that it was my fault, not the game's, so that's good. Definitely work on a post-compo version to improve the graphics and sound - also add a "quit" button for those of us not using a web player :) Otherwise, fantastic entry!

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Fun game. I like the music and pixel art. I enjoyed it, nicely done :)

sanojian says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Hard but fun. Who knew those cereal executives are the real killers?

tonypai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Actually... I don't might more sugar in cereal. Haha, just kidding. :P

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10am

Well, it's certainly funny! It's not immediately obvious that there's no win condition because of the room's shape; I wish the game made it more clear that this was an arcade game. Maybe a high score function would help? (Actually, I should add one in my game too, lol)

So, in conclusion, what it lacks in graphics or unique gameplay it makes up for with humor. A nice entry, as always. :0)

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Damn, those flakes must be lethal!

Love the style, sounds and music. A fun little level, good job :)

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:57am

The music is amazing !

Yoon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:58am

"Avoid CRAPI suits" This made my day !

I enjoyed the sounds and the smoothness of the gameplay (after a few retries, got a score of 200, woohoo !).
I justed wish the hero had one more life, or there was some "1-up" item, because I die too often x)
On the other hand, that greatly contributes to the overall fun.

Have my 5 stars on Humor and Theme.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:23am

Nice!

I guess spawning only happens if you move/the screen scrolls, which is handy because I can sort of chill for a bit if necessary if something else needs my attention. :)

garygreen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Fun game, nice retro graphic style and music, but I wish I had more than 1 life, as I could only get so far.

jacobturn says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:49pm

nice

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Some polishing on the graphics and the sound and my ninja career would last a bit longer ;) It totaly reminds me of the first super mario 1 boss fight. It just lacks the lava :D
Good job and good idea! Thumps up!

Qui says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Fun little game

killako says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Pretty fun and overall enjoyable game!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Funny. Nice retro style.

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:41pm

The core physics felt pretty good, but given the player's jump height, the level felt cramped vertically. And he was unable to jump upward through the higher of two blocks stacked on over the other; may have been intentional, but caught me by surprise.

I presume there was no actual objective for making progress, beyond collecting cereal. If there was, I missed it.

frogcheese says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Pretty humorous entry. It's ironic that the CRAPI suits' one weakness would be the same thing they're dedicated to sugar-coating... cereal.

Gameplay-wise I would've liked a key mapped for quick retries. I died a lot at the start, and since this game is played with the keyboard it was a bit uncomfortable to move to my touchpad each time I had to restart. The rest of the gameplay was short but sweet (rimshot)

I agree with the earlier opinion that the jumping physics made the game feel a little cramped vertically. Speaking of; I think the game might be improved by navigating three floors rather than two. This would give the player some more choices (and more opportunities to screw themselves over!)

NuvlearGames says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:49am

The graphics were definitely a bit sub-par but I cant judge too much on that, the music was enjoyable though. Never thought of using flakes as projectiles

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]