Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Good Tunnel Is Hard To Dig

by Draknek - Jam Entry

Get the gems, bring them back to the entrance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#139Fun(Jam)3.65
#155Overall(Jam)3.68
#212Innovation(Jam)3.58
#751Mood(Jam)2.71
#815Humor(Jam)2.23
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

someone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57pm

That was a great puzzle game. Challenging but not frustrating.
I like how entering from the top creates a natural progression of introducing the rules.
Most of the places I got stuck was from not fully understanding it, though now I have it figured out I want more levels!
Again a great job for PuzzleScript.

flummox3d says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:15am

Yay, another PuzzleScript game :) Nice work :)

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:19am

Very innovative game with nice puzzles. Enjoyed it very much!

rogberth says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:22am

It took a lot to complete level 1. Great puzzle. I'll leave level 2 for later haha I need to relax my brain now.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:26am

Nice puzzle game, and rather challenging. I'd probably be better at it if I understood more of the rules of what exactly causes the cave ins. Great job!

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:42pm

What a wonderful game. The difficult ramp is perfect; each level feels like a unique challenge with a bespoke solution. You managed to milk a great deal of variety out of the mechanics. The theming goes a long way to make the rules more digestible; I'm presuming you were 'to hell with' the LD theme!

There were a few nuances to the rules that I thought could have been taught more clearly, for example the revelation that causing a collapse of one square will prevent your movement to the next tile (whereas multiple tiles will move and crush you). The red herring in the last level was especially devious, although it was a nice stumper to end on.

Thanks for the feedback on Avenging My Gran, great to get some criticism from the puzzlescript master. Train Braining made me miss my connecting flight last week :)

jmborden says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:47pm

A good tunnel IS hard to dig.

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:05pm

"So how hard could this be, just dig dow-OH SHIT"
5/5

May 1, 2015 @ 6:14am

Awesome puzzle twist on that old game "Boulder Dash"

mortus says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:04am

Just great! Probably the best game mechanics-wise I've played this LD! The gameplay is so unusual that at times I was thinking that it's even theoretically impossible to complete a level, only to complete it in the easiest way imaginable 2 minutes later, experience in other puzzles did not help me at all playing this game. And that says something. Great job!

P.S. No 'Theme' rating? That's unusual. Kinda breaks the whole point of having a themed compo.

May 4, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Played through all the levels and had a really fun time. I think you should note somewhere (or show it through play) that the player can jump 2 blocks high, because that wasn't clear for me and I got stuck in the first level a very long time. Anyway, good job :)

spin-down says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:21pm

I liked this even if it was fiendishly difficult (at least for me!) It was one thing to collect all the gems but to bring them back to the entrance stumped me a few good times. The level design was also excellent.

I'm not sure how it fits the theme of an unconventional weapon though, and the fact I can't vote on the theme kinda negates the whole point of the Ludum Dare.

Timm638 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Loving it!

KaiseanGames says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:06pm

I love puzzle games and this one is great.

blubberquark says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:30pm

I don't see how this game fits the theme. This is cheating! You can't even be rated on theme!

block97 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Cool simple puzzle game. Really enjoyed playing it!

myachin says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:23am

nice puzzle. thanks!

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:04am

Very addictive puzzle game. The last puzzle had me confused because I was overthinking it.

Pietdagamer says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:24am

Very enjoyable puzzle game, well done!

elpaulo says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:45am

Very difficult, but nice entry ^^

Madball says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:16am

Wow, the level design is great! At first I thought it will be just about making long tunnels and not messing up, but it actually makes you think of something else each level! The second from the end level is my favourite.

I noticed a bug: if you get crushed by a single block while standing on a gem, the block will fall down below you, and you'll become a weird blue tile.

Embalaje says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:27am

It´s a great puzzle! And really addicitive, WOW

Druid says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:45am

Pretty solid puzzle game! :D I really like this entry!

JoshuaBurr says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Fun game. Somehow familiar...

careless says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Excellent game, first level took me ages as I was unaware you could jump up to a block.

Really simple and lots of fun!

May 8, 2015 @ 2:01pm

I really enjoyed this game; good level design and the dificulty curve isn't too hard.

frnknstn says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Fun. Made me want to program a Repton clone.

AdricZero says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Challenging. I got a lot of use out of the "R".

wademcgillis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:24pm

i'll beat this someday!

JonathanG says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:23pm

All your games should be named "A Good X is Y to Z"

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]