Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Astro-Tow

by binarycoder - Compo Entry

Controls:
Move- left mouse
Grapple/Thruster - right mouse
Mouse wheel/number keys:
1- Default grapple
2- Short grapple
3- attracting grapple.
4- thruster.
Space- boost
Shift- delete grapple

What starts as a simple day on the job as a space station maintenance ship, quickly becomes a vicious battle. With no guns, you must use your equipment in inventive methods to defend the station!


Made in Game Maker: Studio, art editing in paint.net, and sound effects from sfxr.

It's a bit short, and lacking in the combat side, but I think the mechanics are pretty solid. Also is a bit slow. I intended for it to ramp up very quickly after the tutorial, but wasn't able to.


Changelog:
0.1- Fixed a common crash, added additional keybinds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#402Fun3.23
#440Innovation3.26
#514Mood2.97
#581Theme3.31
#636Overall3.08
#644Graphics2.91
#690Audio2.35
#850Humor2.10

Comments

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:52am

Looks like a fun idea. Any chance of a mac or web player port?

binarycoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56am

Afraid not. Might be Android eventually, but that's all I can do through GM:S at the moment.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Love the retro graphics. The gameplay was a little to slow and tedious for me. But good job.

ViliX64 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

The game could be overall a bit faster, but still nice idea and implementation :)

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:47pm

I liked the physics based gameplay and the ease of controls. I also appreciated the regenerating shield system, otherwise it could have been frustrating to play without trying to scratch anything. The gameplay isn't the most interesting yet, but I think the idea has a lot of potential. Great entry!

Wevel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Nice idea

jmf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Nice controls, very fluid. Could have used more of a tutorial on what the different weapons do + it is a bit long for Ludum Dare. Other than that though very solid and fun.

Shivur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25am

What a good idea!

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:28am

Nice game, reminds me of Thrust on C64, just without gravity. The game crashed after playing 5-10 levels though.

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Yeah so, really fun! I enjyoed myself :D

Ghen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:04am

good idea, and well done implementation, really fun and nice game, great job!

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:30am

Very fun! Controls are a bit difficult to get used to though.

RoryD says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Ok, I love physics games so I really enjoyed this game. I felt like I should be able to rotate in place though. Did you consider this but not do it for gameplay reasons?

The grapple mechanic is fun, but I was a little unclear as to the rules of the length of the grapple leash. I think it's probably tied to the distance you grab it at, but not knowing made putting the little blue things into the slots pretty difficult sometimes.

I like the old-school looking ship and asteroids, and I wish the other items in the game had looked in this style too. In particular, the grey walls on the grey background were confusing at first.

I appreciated your very well thought out introduction to each of the mechanics via the level design.

All in all, good job!

Finally, it crashed several times for me:

___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Mouse Event for Glob Right Released
for object obj_Player:

Unable to find any instance for object index '102262' name '<undefined>'
at gml_Object_obj_Player_Mouse_57
############################################################################################

binarycoder says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Thanks for that! I've submitted an updated version with a few bug fixes.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:41am

cool idea, but a non installable version (like a zip file) could be better ;)

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:16am

Love the variety of tools, and the level design! The controls got in the way a bit, and I had a lot of trouble remembering which numbers did what. I eventually noticed the icon at the top of the screen which tells you what you're using, but what if you arranged them at the bottom left, so they line up roughly with the corresponding number keys? Just a thought!

By the way, if you're interested in a more "arcade" approach to a similar mechanic, check out our game TUGBOAT. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=25522

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:41am

Nice game. A bit slow going for me - like the simple lines and the audio effects were cool.

StefanDJagers says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Pretty cool that you already have a Steam Workshop link! ;)

Very nice idea, really got his own style compared to some other entries.
Great work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]