Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ani-melee

by RHY3756547 - Compo Entry

vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv
>>>>>> SEE BELOW FOR LINK TO BOTS (if you have nobody to play with)! <<<<<<
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

A multiplayer game where you fight robots with... various animals. This is probably illegal. js.

I can't stop making games where the player is a variant of the robot from Low Battery. Do I need to see a doctor about this? I suppose in this game it wouldn't really make sense for the players to be anything but robots...

It's not exactly how I wanted it to turn out, but it's beautiful in its own way :') please excuse the lack of cool gfx and other features.

------- INSTRUCTIONS -------

Arrow keys to move (right hand). E+R to swing weapon (left hand, dota style).

Hit other players to blow them up! HP of the other players is signified by the colour of their name. The player with the most kills at the end wins!

There is no chat unfortunately :^( this aint got nothin on snoverchill

------- POST COMPO USABILITY FIXES (20/4/15) -------
- Fix hilariously misplaced line in collision model
- Add mute button (you're welcome haley!)
- Added fastrope simulation, lag handling so game doesn't freeze on old pcs
- game no longer starts immediately, instruction picture precedes it

------- LIBRARIES USED BY CLIENT -------
- glMatrix
- collision.js and svgColParse.js from ld31
- uh, the default canvas stuff?? does that count

------- MODULES USED BY SERVER (node.js) -------
- ws (websockets)
- connect (used for http host)
- serve-static (also used for http host)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#18Fun4.10
#36Overall4.00
#45Humor3.97
#56Theme4.13
#91Audio3.69
#139Graphics3.90
#152Mood3.53
#289Innovation3.49
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:41am

Phoebe!!
I was playing alone, and still had a lot of fun.
Phoebe was my FAVORITE!

Tom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:44pm

phoebe is op

kyyrma says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Not sure if I was playing against bots (are there bots, probably not?) or real players, but there were four of us and it was pretty great. Controls remind me of Super Meat Boy. Really cool visuals and physics for such a short time frame, congrats!

Indiestry says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45pm

had some trouble with the platforming and figuiring out what was going on, but damn that was some good action and fun!

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Heh. Hilarious. Very fun game. Tha one thing I didnt like is the particles. To many particles. Its hard to see what is going on because of them.

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Really good game!
Only the "quake" effect was a bit distracting.

Zak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Cool game, controls are great :)

Horsed says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:43am

I get a "NETWORK ERROR" :-(

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:46am

Very good game! Had fun playing with my friend, and personally I think the excessive particles add something special. The one improvement I could think of for this would be if there were sounds when u bashed these animals against the walls and other people

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:49am

Funny game, though it wasn't very intuitive at first for me. There were maybe too many people in the room at once - it started getting kinda laggy. But also kinda fun because of how hectic it was XD

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:17am

@andrewkennedy sorry about that! I was stress testing a bot I made and it got a little out of hand 8O|

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:09am

You have a real talent for game feel. The sparks flying with every movement or wall bounce, the camera shake after slamming down the large animals. Everything felt just right. Great job!

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:16am

A ton of fun. Really enjoy how hectic the fights were. The swinging mechanics were kind of odd, but I started to get the hang of it a bit. As usual, particles and overall juice was awesome. Screenshake was a bit overwhelming, but I believe you're aware of that.

You absolutely need to develop this more.

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:08am

Hilariously fun. Hard to play but in one of the best ways.
Soundtrack is quite suited to the chaos which ensues.
You say excuse your graphics, but sometimes with ragdoll sprites, less is more (Phoebe demonstrates this quite nicely, well rigged!)

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:49am

Crazy multiplayer game with a crazy premise. It was hard to tell how effective your...weapon...was, and what makes it more effective than others. Still, I like what I played, and think you deserve all the praise for putting it together in such a short amount of time.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:21am

This was really fun. The game feel a bit more polished.
Well done.

davidB says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:36am

crazy, but too un-readable and hard to control. anyway well done.

strega says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:13am

Awesome animal flail action! It was a bit hard to read what was going on with all the sparks and things. The bots were really good I think I got maybe one kill off them.

Demy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:59am

Crazy and nice. Awesome action multiplayer game. It's hard to control this robot and to make him stay at the place, but I think it's a part of the game mechanics.

crazyrems says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:03am

Incredible. Particles makes my computer lag, but still fun!

Split82 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:26am

Great job. Perfect platformer action. I got problem seeing what's happening. Maybe more colourful robots would help.

coderitual says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Wow! This is so far one of the best game/experiment I've seen here. Graphics is sweet to. I'm really interested in the way you communicate with AI window. 5/5 for me.

Goutye says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Really a good entry! Nice work! I liked the multiplayer part. Maybe something can be better : allows a walljumping a little bit more higher than the usual one. We need to do a lot of walljumping to go above, so we are killed easily. Therefore, it's currently better to stay in a certain location. Think about it! Great great one!

DKoding says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Great stuff! Plays very well. You won't often find me complaining about TOO much going on on screen but this is one of those times. It were at times impossible to see where your character was, maybe make them more distinct from each other? They kind of drown in particle effects and the vibrating screen. :-) Otherwise, great stuff!

sbot1101 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Fantastic compo entry. Online multiplayer!? Insane. Fun animal flailing action. Screenshake can get a bit much at times though.

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Not to dismiss these comments, but there's always a huge white name label above the characters as is. I don't think you can get any more distinct than that.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Juiciness at its best, great graphics as well as music. I didn't quite get the goal of the game as I was apparently alone in the game but it still was a lot of fun.

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:25pm

@Tselmek this is a multiplayer game - you need to either invite friends or run the Bots linked above the source.

Thanks for the generally positive feedback everyone! I'm not happy with some of the areas mentioned as weak points too - I'll probably discuss why those things turned out like they did when I make a post mortem.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:15pm

wowowowowowow!!! This is so cool! I really wanted to make something similar to this, but am a baby coder (still ended up with something I am proud of though). I looked at your AI tutorial and am trying to implement your advice into my game. Would love to learn more about how you did the smart camera, wall jumping, and animal physics. Everything in this game is so juicy, it feels amazing!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Very funny to play and super animated!!
Well made!!

Donpastor says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Had a lot of fun with this. It's amazing what you archieved in so little time. Thumbs up!

wilbefast says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Wow, a multiplayer game in 48 hours - that's some serious Dragon Kill Points my friend ^^

Great job! Wish I had some people to play with but the bots are good :) AI too, wow. If only there was a 1337 hax00r category!

May 3, 2015 @ 3:24pm

It looks like a fun multiplayer game, it does however lag alot when you play with other people and alot of this are flying on the screen. The only obvius thing to fix in this game is some optimization.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 3:38pm

Crazy silly fun - so chaotic! The graphics were pretty nice overall and the music added to the energy of the game. Phoebe was the best animal naturally! Keep it up, this is awesome!

ViKing Games says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Tons of fun, even though I played with bots. The graphics looked fantastic, especially the little effects thrown in there. The music and sound fit fantastically with the game. Overall, fantastic entry.

Also, you made Snoverchill AND elfsworld.me? BY DOME, YOU ARE THE BEST PERSON EVER. *high five*

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]