Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Legends of Kersalmon

by tummyache - Compo Entry

In a world where Fish are weapons, the last Coelacanth has had his wife stolen away from him as a prize for "The Fisher King".

As someone with legs you utilize the power of fish to win back the love of the lonely Coelacanth.

Hoping there aren't a lot of bugs, I happened to push "Testing" off of my list of things to do for this LD.

CONTROLS:

LEFT & RIGHT: MOVE
SPACE: JUMP
F: SWING FISH
UP + F: FISH SPECIAL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#67Graphics4.15
#103Theme3.97
#175Overall3.64
#203Mood3.41
#236Fun3.47
#261Audio3.23
#331Humor3.15
#556Innovation3.10

Comments

MegaMasterX says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:30am

Oh MAN. The sprites and animations in this are top-tier. I do feel like floaty (and gravity-defying) jumps breaks immersion JUST a tad, but all-in-all this is a really cool entry. Interesting mechanics with great art!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:34am

Animations are great. Love the fisherman theme. Found it tough to land hits, but eventually got used to it.

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:36am

Fantastic artwork. The attack animation fits great!

Mechamew says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:38am

I only got as far as the archer fish after which I fell through the level at the point where you meat the knight in the pit :/
It's a funny idea. I wish it was a little more condensed so i could have seen more of it quicker. I didn't really like the branching paths, but I'm that into metroidvania's

seraphki says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:43am

Running animation for the fisherman is cute. Jumps are a little high, though.

It took me a while to figure out how to attack (did I miss a tutorial?) if there isn't a tutorial, maybe post the controls in the description. =3

Combat is a little difficult, and its a long way to walk back to your first fight if you fail. Maybe the fights could either be easier or a checkpoint could be nearby so its not so frustrating while you're learning?

Graphics are adorable though, music feels nice. Like the concept. Well done =D

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:47am

@seraphki, good point. I added the controls to the description. Hopefully it helps some people out.

andrewjoy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:07am

Really good game, heaps of levels and very appropriate art. Well done!

dvdfu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:09am

Love the weapon and animations!

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:21am

The fishing mini game was the best fishing I've ever experienced in a video game.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:28am

Really cool game and nice art. There's lots of levels and power-ups as well! I could definitely see this as a full web game.

Some gripes I have is that:

> Some of the power-ups should be incorporated into the player rather than having to switch to the fish to use it. (IE: time bomb and pufferfish.)

> Once you reach the 3rd pond, the timing required to catch the fish is a tad ridiculous.

Anyways, great job! I had fun playing it. :)

gillyadrien says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:34am

Amazing work for two days! I actually finished the game, and it was great!

I never used the "f" button to hit though, the range is so short that it really isn't worth it, compared to the other abilities.

Definitely high marks for this entry. Great work!

BroCade says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:19am

Totes jelly of those pixel art skills! This is an amazing amount of work for 2 days. Great use of layers to great depth. My only comment is the floaty jump (could easily be fixed by having the character accelerate down, this would give him the impression of weight).

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:50am

Love the art style to this game and it's really fun to play! Really like that fishing system aswell, makes it feel like i'm really trying to fish that fish! one of my favourites so far :)

-Neith

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:25pm

I love the graphic style! Well done!

Garris says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:28pm

This game is really cute! I love the lanky fisherman, and I love that I'm using a fish as a weapon. Really enjoyed the art. Nice job!

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Legends of Kersalmon was a surprisingly really good platformer! I was thoroughly impressed by how tight the character's movement was. Made making jumps and moving around really enjoyable. Visuals were nice as who doesn't love pixel art? The upgrade system worked well but I mostly found myself using the Koi exclusively unless there was a puzzle or enemy that required something else. The music was... Repetitive. Not bad. But very repetitive. I understand the time limit on the competition but for how long you were in each area and had to listen to the same track on repeat for as long as we need to, it gets old. The only real criticism I have is the controls. F and R? Very strange choice. I think Z for jump, X for attack/special and C for change inventory could have worked better? Maybe WASD for movement, Space for jump, F for attack and E to change? I'm not sure, either way F and R with Space was kind of uncomfortable. Now I need to fit an obligatory fish pun in the review... This game was a ton of fun and I deFINitely think it has the oppor-tuna-ty to become something reelly cool! I'll see myself out now.

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:55pm

Beautiful game! The controls are kinda weird, but you get used to it. The music was also excellent... it remind me of Ultima series. Great job!

xhunterko says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:16am

Great animations! After dying at the boss and then having to go through the last level again, I really didn't want to. Great idea though and the animation was mostly spot on!

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:02am

This looks and sounds very good. The platforming action is a bit strange at first, but I got used to it after a while. However, defeating enemies is a bit hard, but that's to expect when you use a fishing pole to defeat knights in armor :).

GarethIW says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:52am

Great art, feel and mood. I found melee combat too risky so ended up using specials throughout. Almost made the game too easy. Nice puzzles with the water wheels. Died at boss and didn't feel like playing through again, a checkpoint would have been good there. Great job for 2 days!

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Hacia mucho tiempo que no veía un juego similar. Enhorabuena por tu genial trabajo, ha sido muy entretenido y agradable jugarlo. Un abrazo.

Visita mi juego y vota, por favor.http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

shadow64 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Thanks for commenting on my game! :) I love the idea of the fish and having different abilities based on the fish you have. The music gets a little repetitive, but obviously that can be tough. The level design could use some work - leaving the initial area takes a really long time and there's not much to do.

Combat is good and again, the idea is great. Thanks for sharing and congrats on completing! Keep going with this!

LeReveur says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:14pm

I really likes this one. I don't reached the end because of an invisible pit I fall in near the end of the castle, but still a good entry. Well done. :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:01pm

That jump is otherwordly, to be sure. I wish when you died it didn't take you all the way back to the beginning. Love the art though, it is really top notch.

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Very cool mechanic, and pretty good platforming. Loved the fish clouds!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:49pm

I won! Suuuuuper long game for a compo entry, crazy amount of content you created there.

The HP ups were really appreciated. If I had died because of no healing, and there wasn't a checkpoint (I didn't die so I don't know if there are checkpoints), I might have stopped playing. :P

The different fishes are a great idea, but the default fishing rod option seemed really bad, perhaps on purpose. The first knight enemies are so fast and do so much damage, managing to land even one delayed fishing rod swing feels like it should do more damage since it's so risky. :P Or maybe that's the point, and the player is just supposed to reply on powers.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:49pm

I forgot to mention, the knights knocking you into the air seems to make the invincibility period nearly useless, because you can be hit again by the time you land where you can do another attack. Great job overall though!

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:18am

Great artwork and animation. Swinging the fish was fun but I ended up using the special weapon the whole time. It reminded me of shovel night for some reason.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:47am

Felt like a very long Metroidvania game, where the majority of it was about just figuring out how the maze was laid out. I do like the large amount of content you have there, but I think a lot of the enemy placements and the length of the game was padding rather than enhancing the experience.

I also think more juice could used, such as screen shakes and flashes. Kind liked the sound effects for the snapper bomb, though. Maybe there should be more of that.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:05am

Really liked the character design and animations, the game looked really nice. Gameplay was fun, I liked the fishing mini game and different fish weapons. Great entry!

flummox3d says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:11am

Really, really loving this game. The art, the gameplay, the silliness of the weapons, love all of it :) Although the archer sometimes seems a bit too OP and the music can be repetitive, but otherwise it's a pretty great game. Really well done! :)

dwemthy says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:31pm

The special power was the way to go, no limit to its usage. Art style is great. Like others have said the jump feels too floaty/high. Great overall!

reiknight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:29am

I really loved your art :). I think a "mana" bar is interesting for this game because the special power is a little OP without limit!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]