Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A nice Day in the Park

by Polyganz - Compo Entry

A nice Day in the Park - by Tobias Baumann (@Polyganz)

Left click to play.

Credits:
Powered by Perception Neuron motion-capture system (www.neuronmocap.com)
Big thanks to the mocap actors Will, Chris, Sam and Dave! <3

No bananas were harmed in the making of this video game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.36
#12Fun4.18
#43Mood3.90
#110Innovation3.86
#134Graphics3.91
#144Overall3.68
#187Theme3.82
#535Audio2.73
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

liquidminduk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:26am

Really well done Tobi! It really shows the power of Perception Neuron!
Great job to the actors, and as always your style shines through. Keep up the awesome work!

Scale it baby, scale it!

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Wish there'd been a bit of music, but asides from that this game was really interesting! Nice entry

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Web link on IE give "bad file length" error and won't start up.

NoxiiStudio says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Really loved it! The animation is really sweet to the eyes, it's funny and joyfull! Well done!

Love your style!

terrykim426 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I can't seems to run the game via web. The error given is "Bad file length."

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Pretty fun. Vaguely reminds me of Dragon's Lair with the "Here's a scenario. Do this thing. Whoops. Try again" gameplay.

Although it doesn't take away quarters, which is nice.

Gipzo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:11pm

Brilliant annimations! Well done!

madameberry says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:12pm

That was certainly an experience. XD

Rulrite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

A simple and fun concept executed extremely well! I had a great time with this one; you did a great job integrating the motion capture and I love your sense of humour.

Backterria says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

This is awesome!Cool gameplay and lots of fun!Just love it!

bitdecaygames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48pm

I'm on a Mac, and I don't want to have to download a separate program to unpack the .rar file. Could you release the game for Mac as a .zip?

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Omg this game is all 5 XD Sir, you made my day brighter! Thank you!

Robber says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:01pm

nice graphical style works very well with the motion captured animations!

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:32am

This is very entertaining. I like the animations a lot.

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:39pm

So proud to be a part of this! Great work mate, that the game defies genre is testament to your 'experience first' methodology. I would love to see more Avery-esque cartoon techniques incorporated in a project like this. Looking forward to our next jam :)

kunzbe says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:28pm

oh, another swiss game :) nice entry! The movements done with the neuro system are really neat!

CiderPunk says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:38pm

a mocapped compo entry?!?! wow! great fun too, well done!

cyand1317 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Well, well... This is fun and an unforgettable day in the park :) It's 5 stars in several categories... Though source code is required for Compo entries.

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:55pm

This game is so fun with very good animations! Thank you!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]