Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Cellular Warfare

by VDZ - Compo Entry

(Updated on April 21st, 2015. For judging, please use the original version (first two links). For just playing for fun, the post-LD version is highly recommended (online records, more maps, etc).)

Our scientists have engineered giant single-celled organisms for
use in combat. It is your task to deploy these organisms to
crush our enemies.

Cellular Warfare is a more video game-like take on Conway's
Game of Life. Use the mechanics of Game of Life to kill your
enemies in this puzzle/strategy game.

A detailed explanation of game rules can be found in-game,
just click 'How to play' from the main menu.



This game is Windows-only.



This game is public domain. Feel free to do whatever you want with it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#161Audio3.45
#315Innovation3.45
#462Overall3.27
#520Theme3.38
#638Fun2.95
#664Mood2.79
#718Humor2.40
#908Graphics2.43
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Music was good.
Love the idea of using conways game of life, although I did just tend to trial and error it.
Graphics were very simple
Good number of levels and a level editor which is excellent considering the time constraints.

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:42am

I actually enjoyed this one a ton. Ended up beating every level except the Ludum Dare one. I love the dynamic music that keeps pace with every step of of growth. The UI looks amateurish but the game is definitely not amateur at all. It's a real gem.

MoltenMustafa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:51am

hey bud, played your game and wrote about it here http://pastebin.com/byfbeyJA.. neat concept if a bit hard to understand. I didn't mention it in the writeup but I also really liked the audio

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:09pm

When playing this game, I tended to just try things and see what would happen, and I found that really enjoyable and exciting. It would have been nice to be able to make turns pass more quickly, since a lot of the game is spent waiting. Nice work on the music shifting based on gameplay. Great work!

jhell says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:35am

Hi, really interesting idea, congratz on the music, but as is, it's very difficult to play. I really love the idea, maybe you could unlock known "shapes" that are pre-build that you could place? Or have a cell generator that grants you one starting cell and generates moves, so you can try more configuration without retrying the level.

bace1000 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:29pm

The Game of Life is too unpredictable for a game IMHO. It is a nice idea though :)

Knowledge says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:45pm

A pretty hard game. I like the music and the concept

Zayron says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:46pm

I had fun with this! Nice job!

Alex Rose says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Okay so first thing's first - I somehow didn't actually yet know the rules of Conway's Game of Life when I started playing, so it was educational for a start.

The music syncing with the gameplay and the different layers of music for different events were very cool. Would've been nice to have a speedup button a la Chu Chu Rocket.

Was a fun learning experience. I found a lot of it to be trial and error though because I didn't know what the effects would be, but that's my bad really.

Very cool that you included a map editor too, and really helpful tutorial. Graphics are basic but cool and fitting, tutorial was also humourous. Great use of the theme.

I still have 4 levels to complete and I'm going to do that now but I wanted to make sure I get a rating and some feedback in before the deadline.

Great work as usual, I love seeing the range of games you make.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]