Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dino Bombing

by Steven Colling - Compo Entry

DINO BOMBING, what else to say?

My use of the theme is to let the player create his own (very unconventional) weapons, like a meat bomb, which is a piece of meat. And a bomb, too. Create your own bombs with triggers, effects and modifications and use their synergies to extinct dinosaurs, although they didn't do anything bad. But you crashed on their planet and your spaceship's computer registered that their bones can be used as fuel. Let's load the weapon systems!

>> Click on the bomb icons to open a menu where you can modify them! <<

Feel free to tell me how fast you reached the target. My best time was about 4:12 minutes (time in the game, ignoring the pauses while modifying bombs).

You can mute the music by pressing M. Chances are high that it won't run on your laptop (or lag). Don't produce too many dinosaurs, because your computer will explode then.

Requires .NET 4 and XNA 4 to run.

.NET 4:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851

XNA 4:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914


The following fonts were used: HammersmithOne and Bubblegum Sans.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#131Graphics3.92
#203Mood3.41
#204Overall3.59
#261Fun3.42
#287Audio3.19
#316Humor3.18
#440Innovation3.26
#634Theme3.24

Comments

Kep says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:10pm

The art is nice, the sounds fit, and the story is funny, but I couldn't find any particular strategy. I just kept clicking randomly and alternating 1 & 2. After a few minutes of that, I saw that I made little progress and gave up... sorry. Am I missing something?

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Yes, you can click on the bomb slots and modify bombs. The whole game is about that :D

snade says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05pm

Good game, took me a few minutes to understand it though.

Kep says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:19pm

You're right, it's not so much a shooter as an upgrade game. Much better. Rating upgraded. Thanks.
(And thanks for not just responding with "RTFM!")

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:27pm

This game is wonderful. I always love upgrade games, and this adds dinosaurs and a really cool weapon creation mechanism that I love. I actually have the game still running because i want to beat it, but I was worried I'd forget to say how much i liked this game. it's also beautiful

aroymart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:51pm

I beat it. it was really great trying all the cool effects and stuff. I like that it felt like i had a lot of choice in strategy

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Pretty and goofy. A little mindless in how it plays - unless I missed something.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Did you checked out the bomb modification system by clicking on one of the bomb slots?

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:01pm

there is a lot of choice in strategy which made it pretty fun. it turns out i was just reading everything and spamming click though.

babilounet says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:02pm

MOREEE DINOOOS !

liniix says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Was a little confused at what the goal was at first, but over all had a good time playing it, and loved the art.

Park says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Excellent, no element felt like it was short of what it needed to be, a very solid experience with polish. Enjoyed the screenshake, appreciated that the music alternated between on and off to prevent repetitiveness, loved the egggenerator and evolutionizer. ヽ(^。^)丿 The opening sequence was amusing too!

bazoo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:32pm

I liked the game. The aesthetics are pretty yet so simple. Congrats dude, you made a fantastic job :)

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50am

Interresting game, nice art.

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:47pm

This was great fun! I accidentally left the game running while I got dinner and came back 75 minutes later to a screen FULL of Dinos.

Carpet Bombing Scattering Meaty Eggenerators kept me amused for a good number of minutes.

It does get a little monotonous, and the audio bothered me a little bit (might be a personal thing, but the sound and music, while pleasant, got repetitive very quickly).

All in all, great work!

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:47am

Cool game~! pretty fun too!

peterfsat says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:12pm

Cool game, loved the juicing! Took me a minute to get it.

reiknight says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:17pm

The graphics are perfect.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:15pm

That was fun, great work! My best time was about 10 minutes in my second run :D

Saker Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Awesome. I can't stop playing. Boom boom, feed, boon.

SiENcE says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 10:12am

A lot of content you put into the game. The background theme, to kill dinosaurs to use thier bones as fuel is very creepy. But the game is fun to play and I really want more dino types.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]