Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Food Fighter 2000

by sP0CkEr2 - Jam Entry

** Update **

Added Win/Mac/Linux Standalone versions - please leave feedback if they don't work.

** End Update **


Thanks for Playing FF2K!!

You are the KING of the Cafeteria. No one can beat you in a Food Fight with your Food Fighter 2000. Pickup Food around the Cafeteria Tables and use it to shoot the other Kids for BIG SCORES. When the Teacher comes, make sure you TAKE THEM OUT before they spoil your fun!

My 7 & 10 year old did all the Voxel Artwork. I coded and built the levels. The 7 year old did the sounds.

Notables:

The game is still a little rough around the edges, and maybe even buggy. If we get enough feedback we might make a Post-Jam version. We have four more Cafeterias built but untested.

Instructions:

WASD = Move
Mouse = Aim/Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#252Humor(Jam)3.40
#301Audio(Jam)3.24
#431Graphics(Jam)3.47
#443Theme(Jam)3.45
#497Fun(Jam)3.09
#535Overall(Jam)3.19
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#669Innovation(Jam)2.83

Comments

Interface says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:28am

I like the music and the graphics. Solid entry, although a bit buggy. Did end up outside the cafeteria at some point, I assume that's not supposed to happen :-) Also had negative health but ended up winning.
Can't wait for my daughter to be old enough to help out.

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29am

Made it to day three of throwing food at teachers.. every students dream! hahaha. I love that your little ones actually helped with the game, neat! There were only minor bugs, some which are an easy fix. All in all I'd like too see post-jam version, Great Job!

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:33am

Got knocked outside the playing field somehow, but before that the shooting was alright.

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:56am

Nice game. I liked the art, but I noticed that the characters are sliding. This game have a good potential, maybe with a multiplayer.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

I love it! The voices are so fun, too. One of your kids, perhaps? =)

klbrazil says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:00am

i liked the music XD it's great that you have child to help out like youre bonding :D

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:03am

When I try to play I get an error: "The content was stopped because a fatal content error has been detected." I'd like to try it out. Let me know if i'm crazy or something.

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:32am

Just adorable haha

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:40am

internetpaulicy > was that on the web version or on one of the stand alone versions?

Reisen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:46am

Also encountered the "The content was stopped because a fatal content error has been detected." error, was playing the web version.

Firaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:09am

This was pretty fun. I believe oranges are bugged, because I pelted a teacher with roughly 80 oranges to no avail, switched to pizza, and then tore all of the teachers to pepperoni.

richiebranson says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:26am

I like the graphical style. Simple, yet very retro. The music matches perfectly. There were a few bugs, but I can definitely see the potential in this with some more polish. Good work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:26am

Firaa > you might be right about the oranges - will need to fix

error031 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:44pm

I love the graphic, nice work!

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:37am

so funny. nice job

Hambone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:49am

haha, this was fun!

jacketsj says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:57am

Good audio and nice graphics (albeit waaaaay too many particles), though the bugs were a bit intrusive. Had to refresh a few times.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:27am

jacketsj> not by design - some of the particles get caught in loops

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:06am

This would be amazing as a local multiplayer game! Please make that!

As it is it's pretty fun and, apart from a few not too important bugs, it's well executed.

FOOD FIGHT!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Really funny idea, and nice ramp up with more teachers on each level. I also love that you did this with your kids, that's an awesome way to spend a Ludum Dare weekend.

For whatever reason picking up food didn't work for me on the web version, but worked fine on the Windows build.

Nilq says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:40am

Nice. I don't quite get it though...

sorlok says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:02am

Great game! Not only are the mechanics solid, but the world it's set in is a lot of fun! Doing a food fight was a really cool idea! Great!

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:37am

Really nice game! i walked out the door and went around the building, falling into an infinite hole though. that was probably unintentional.

Flayk says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:27am

The mood of this game was great. It was fun hearing the kids yell, "Teacher!". It had a good sense of humor, too. I wasn't fond of the music, as it was all over the place and a bit too high pitch for my taste. The graphics were alright, nothing I can say about them. It went with the theme well, seeing as you fight with food. However, because you were using a gun, I couldn't call it a "unconventional weapon", as it were the ammo that was unconventional. It was playable, but couldn't hold my attention for very long. Overall, I think a lot of these issues have already been looked at (As you said, you are waiting for feedback). I'm glad I got to review your game.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:39am

Nice game :D! It's very nice that you do a game together all the family! It's fun to throw food at people, tough controls were a bit buggy!!

Keep up the good work!

ZQMony says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:23am

Nice game, although it is laggy and a little buggy. I had negative health but could still play.

Ammypendent says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:34am

Simple but fun gameplay. Nice voice acting ;)
There were a few physics quirks (flying up, getting out of playfield, etc).

Almost says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:42am

The concept is pretty funny and the art is cool, but the gameplay doesn't seem too deep. It's pretty cool that you worked with your kids.

I don't really know what the point of shooting the other kids is, and it seems weird that it shows a teacher counter when the teachers haven't yet come.

I couldn't figure out how to alter the trajectory of my shots, it seems like each food had a fixed distance.

Walking into the right corner of the map can throw you up into the sky or through the wall, the physics colliders for the map could be different than the meshes.

MaesK says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Nice game! It needs some polish, as I got outside the bounds in round 1, and health below zero in round 2, but it was fun. Good work.

Oh, and take a look at those Unity GUI/3dText fonts, they have some artifacts that don't look good. It may be a lightning issue or scale problem or similar... or it might be my graphics card driver and just that.

Frozenfire92 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Pretty fun little game. The music and graphics were quite fitting. It was a little buggy but to be expected :) Keep up the games!

rogueNoodle says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:13pm

Fun! Had a few bugs, but in the end, I won the game with -209 health, so I walked away happy ;)

Snicklodocus says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:16am

Good game you made! I liked the art! It's pretty buggy though as others have said. The sound effects added a lot, good job there!

GarethIW says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:30am

Hooray for family-made games! The cute art and sounds really made this one.

May 8, 2015 @ 2:07am

Like the graphics and sound effects. Seems like it didn't register the vast majority of my mouse clicks though, because there rarely seemed to be food flying away from me. Nice idea.

Xanjos says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 4:37pm

A bit buggy (I think there was one instance where I got catapulted behind the game arena) but pretty solid gameplay mechanics. I also loved the voxel artwork your kids had done for the game as well. I think the one thing it needs is some more noise (otherwise it won't feel like it's a food fight :D)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]