Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Beating Aliens With Oversized BALLS!! (BOWAB)

by ProgramGamer - Compo Entry

This is my submission for Ludum Dare 32. It is a game featuring seven levels of, uh, something. You throw balls at aliens I guess. Also, a game pad is required to play. Like, an xBox 360/One or a PS3/PS4 controller plugged in your computer.

Left/Right to move
A to jump
X and B to throw the ball at different angles
Y to pick up a ball from a basket or from the ground.
Down + X to drop your ball without throwing it (but why though)

Have fun!

-ProgramGamer

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Fun3.59
#261Graphics3.59
#333Overall3.41
#547Audio2.71
#634Theme3.24
#639Humor2.56
#852Innovation2.65
#2008Coolness30%

Comments

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Awesome little platformer! Tough, but the mechanics were solid and it didn't feel unfair.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:35am

I love these graphics!! Quite challenging and very well done.

ohai1 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:11am

Nice and challenging. Music fits the mood, but I got tired by it way too fast. Controls feel very nice except character doesn't always turn around instantly (very small delay but totally noticeable taking difficulty level to consideration).

Aaranos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Fun game, got stuck a few times though and didn't see any way to reset the level.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:39am

Nice platformer, with a good puzzle design. Did find one of the later levels with the groups of three guys you have to jump in between pretty difficult though.

johnnwfs says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:09am

Nice game, thanks for the source - my gamepad wasn't working so I changed the code to use keyboard and had a lot of fun getting the aliens bonked with balls. Cool thematic, nice graphics. Only complaint was the looping sounds. Some more variety may have had me trying to play longer.

MonoS says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:05pm

I got stuck at the 5th level because it required very thing platforming [due to the low ceiling] so i didn't finished the game.

The music at the beginning was cool, but after 90 seconds it became unsupportable.

the game is fun in the end, but please fix the 5th level

John Vanis says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:52pm

I could not start the game. The game does not respond when buttons are pressed. Ugly start screen and music.

eddynardo says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:42pm

I really wanted to start the game but i dont have any game pad.Is it hard to make it work with keyboard too?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]