Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hedge

by Martins - Compo Entry

You are in charge of excavating an ancient maze which may on may not be an anti-alien super-weapon. Advance step by step and try not to break it!

A) Select hedge part - "??"
B) Click "Explore"
C) Wait for needle to Spin
D) Stop the needle by clicking on button or with [Space]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#80Innovation3.93
#264Humor3.29
#517Audio2.76
#543Mood2.94
#583Overall3.14
#668Theme3.20
#681Graphics2.85
#847Fun2.69

Comments

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:02pm

This game is so much fun! I love the idea of skill-based labyrinth trimming, especially when it defines the shape of the labyrinth itself. Good sense of humor too. I want to get better at this game so that I can trim more.

iceburg7 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:28am

Excellent work, this is just such a crazy new idea of how a maze can work and you can interact with it. The humor is on point, and pulls the theme into it in a way that I like very much. Music is actually a bit annoying rather than beneficial, but it's forgivable. Great work.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:50am

Cool idea for sure, but maybe I'm just bad at it, haha.

ALLCAPSON says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54am

I'm awful at timing things well, so I wasn't able to see as much as this game as I would have wanted. The rest of the game had a good style that I liked.

Cryotube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56am

Had a bit of trouble understanding what was going on initially, but overall a really nice concept!
I didn't get to find out what was at the end though..

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

I wish it wasnt so hard, because its a cool idea for a game but to really get into the meat of the game you need some early successes - slow the spinner down!

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Interesting idea, though I find that little spinning thing awkward to time, it seems like if you don't hit it on the first spin it is really just chance.

Music started out charming enough but after a few loops it did get a bit grating.

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Even after I figured out how to play the game it didn't make much sense to me, but I still found it to be very fun!

Mimus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:20pm

I'm sorry but this game is not my type, it is too difficult from the beginning, is not made for a beginner ...
(Google Translate, I'm French)

Aik says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Feel a bit bad about rating it because I didn't get very far at all, but not for lack of trying.

maunovaha says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03pm

hmm.. interesting game, but it's pretty hard. Nice simple graphics. :) !

volkoivan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Cool idea and realization, but it's really hard to play even at the early stage. But anyway, really cool and innovative, 5/5

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Great idea, fun game, but hard at timing the needle
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:27am

It took me a while to figure out how to play the game - it could use some kind of tutorial - I'm actually still not sure I fully understand. I think I like the idea though, it was fun learning how to time the spinner.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:34am

The game is good on paper it just needs some refinement around the spinner. Difficult 0 should be a bit easier, and you can ramp things up by making the windows tinier, rather than making the spinner spin as fast as it does and "run out" after only so many rotations. I'd rather it be a test of getting the arrow in between the markers instead of trying to twitch get it in yellow as soon as it starts moving. But audio, theme, graphics, and general idea are all pretty good.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:45am

I really like the concept and presentation, but the arrow spins a bit too fast and stops too soon to be able to accurately predict and make it stop, so rather than skill it ends up becoming a matter of randomly hitting space and hope to be lucky.

Null DIES says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:31pm

An interesting game concept.
My only problem with the game is that the spinner thing is difficult from the very beginning. You need to make the spinner's difficulty gradually increases.
Other than that, Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]