Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Solar Tycoon

by Arowx - Compo Entry

You had the nightmare again. The disaster happens and the power goes out then in a matter of days the entire city has turned into an angry hungry mob.

But this time it was different as you realised that with renewable energy everywhere the lights would stay on and civilisation would prevail over a collapse into anarchy.

And your destiny is to be the Solar Energy Tycoon who will thrust back the darkness and anarchy with the unconventional weapons of solar panels, wind turbines and wave generators!

But where to start...

Mouse controls.

WASD to move camera.
Mouse Wheel zoom in out (buggy in webgl version)

Hints and tips

1. Hire Crew - Minimum Crew 1 of each staff + Car + Van
2. Buy panels 100+
3. Select a field or building and choose the build solar icon.
4. Repeat 2,3,4 as necessary to build up your power base.

OK You need fitters and electricians to set up the panels, vans to deliver the planes and cars for the electricians and managers.

More fitters and electricians speed up the build times.
Managers and admin staff reduce the the build times.

Additional Note: I did not get a lot of time to playtest so let me know if anyone figures out how to win the game.

Will continue to work on this as my entry in the Indie Dev Mix Tape #2 Jam.
http://en.reddit.com/r/IndieDev/comments/337m4m/mixtape_2_halftime_highfives/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#197Graphics3.71
#730Overall2.97
#793Mood2.63
#823Innovation2.70
#835Humor2.14
#855Fun2.67
#1067Theme2.29

Comments

scorched says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I catch an null pointer exception at the beginning in both versions (either in log or in popup messagebox). Mozilla Firefox here

Arowx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Seems fine for me, latest version of firefox, chrome, webplayer and webgl both fine. Anyone else having problems?

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:58pm

I had no problems with the webplayer (also using Firefox). Man this game looks great and I love tycoon games, but extra help text would be really useful. I think I created a bunch of solar panels? I wasn't sure how the "jobs" work or what sliding the green bars did, and I just bought one of everything.

Anyway, I'm curious where this is going so I'm saving your mix tape link for later :)

zwartraider says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Quite an elaborate game for the given timeframe! I also like the crisp graphics of the world and the UI!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Graphics were good, audio appears to be missing?

Some of the buttons didn't seem to work, I couldn't seem to get it to a point where I'm generating income. Not sure if incomplete or not functioning?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Seems like a neat idea, the interface is very confusing at first, I spent a lot of time clicking around trying to figure out what I was doing.

paulfysh says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

I couldnt really figure out how to build anything, none of the buttons appear to do anything (except for buying stores and hiring staff)

Jerre says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:58pm

Hey, sadly I could not find out how to do any thing, I bought some stuff and tried to build solar panels, at the right jobs came in to view, but nothing seemed to happen. It's a shame because probably there is some interesting stuff in a tycoon game. Visuals are very good tho.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:59pm

I haven't the faintest idea of how to play this game :x

pema99 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Quite neat, I love the UI design.

rplnt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07pm

I had no idea what I was doing, maybe it didn't work because of the exception... so I'll only rate graphics, which I like :)

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Nice sim, little problens but still a very good job. Congratulations!

Kevlanche says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:13pm

This game looks like it's really good but I'm sad to say I really can't figure it out. I installed solar panels on ~half the houses and then ran out of money. How do you earn money?

The game looks great and I love these types of games, but some sort of tutorial is sorely needed because currently it is just confusing.

Pix3M says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:23pm

This looks like a game I could easily enjoy but a strategy game of this kind needs some pretty solid tutorials to explain the game. I click around and almost nothing is responsive - I can get info on a plot of land, but I can't do anything more than this

How do I build something? How do I get money? Can I do something with the houses? Do I need staff?

wilsk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:23pm

I'm terribly at Solar Tycooning, every business I run can only afford a bunch of solar panels and then makes virtually no money :) Great concept, will be interested to see what you make of it.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:05am

Very complex game for the time-frame of a LD compo. However, like other said, a small text tutorial to get people started would help. I'm currently stuck without being able to build more solar panels (I've bought enough of them) and the game don't tell me what I'm missing to build more. Electricians? Fitters? Cars? Vans?

Arowx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:59am

OK You need fitters and electricians to set up the panels, vans to deliver the planes and cars for the electricians and managers.

More fitters and electricians speed up the build times.
Managers and admin staff reduce the the build times.

thomz12 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Hard to find out what to do. I like the graphics!

resty says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Nice graphics, and the UI is really incredible for a game in 48h.
It's a pity that it doesn't have any audio.

And the Fire button seems not work, when I click it: sometimes no response, sometimes increase the employees.

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Really cool concept. Pretty buggy and unclear what to do. Would like to see more of this game! Also no OS builds? the WebGL build broke for me, webplayer worked in Firefox though, also got the null pointer exception

hadesfury says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Good game ... but need a little more feedback

Langouste says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Super game! I love it, thanks ;)

Malakat says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:33pm

I like what you're trying to do here, but the game does a very poor job explaining itself.

rishal says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Nice engine you have there.

vikpek says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Hard to get at first - but it's a good idea. Solid UI work!

plams says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:20pm

The game lacks some financial overview. By experimentation I figured out that only staff requires continuous funds, so the only way I could get income was by installing some things and then firing everybody :) It's very unfinished, yet promising! Also amazing you managed all this in 48h.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]