Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Shield Of Eternal Night

by LTyrosine - Jam Entry

The Moon stands high in the sky as you approach the hidden gates of Elberor Crypts.

Ancient monks built this place as a test of courage and sacrifice.
A powerful spell prevents the entrance of those using weapons and year after year, adventurers looking for gold enter these tunnels unarmed to meet their doom.

In your hands rest the Shield of Eternal Night, an ancient relic of unknown origin, unknown age, unknown purpose, just found in your last dungeon raid. You ask yourself what kind of power hides these cold metal bars.
These thoughts give place to fear as the crypt's front door now appear in front of you.

Use wads/arrow keys to walk, space to jump.
Mouse to position shield around you.
Left mouse button to throw the shield, hold it to control its direction.
Collect as much gold as you can then return to the front door to claim your record.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#215Overall(Jam)3.59
#231Mood(Jam)3.47
#261Audio(Jam)3.32
#294Innovation(Jam)3.43
#326Theme(Jam)3.64
#339Graphics(Jam)3.65
#355Fun(Jam)3.27
#754Humor(Jam)2.38
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

dieblume86 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Nice game, i like the idea.

cxen says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:36am

awesome :)):):

jk5000 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:58am

The game is okay. The music is good, but I'm not sure it fits perfectly with the rest of the mood in the game. The graphic expression is quite good and underlines the mood fine. In this game you have the foundation for something really good.

May 8, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Would be more fun if the shield worked like a boomerang! Liked how you could control it with the cursor though

Nick Weihs says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:34am

The art reminded me of old dungeon crawlers like Moraff's world or Ultima Underworld. I think the game's difficulty ramp was a bit too slow to keep my interested, and the controls were rather frustrating. The main problem I had was the mouse not locking to the unity web player window, but the shield was rather hard to control regardless. A lot of times I ended up just holding the mouse on an enemy while my shield bounced and bobbed around them until it finally caught on. Overall, pretty good though! Thanks for sharing your game =)

tummyache says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:41am

Oh man this is absolutely one of my favorites. It really felt like an old PS1 game, which really took me back. I loved the shield throwing mechanic, even if it was a little difficult to figure out where I was aiming and where the shield was at times.

I kept hammering keys to try to find a shop, only to find that the gold was just a score. I felt like a lot of the enemies could have less health, it took a really long time to kill a rat because the shield would bounce straight up into the air after hitting him.

Maybe it would have been nice to have a variable throwing strength that would do more damage but slow you down or something.

May 11, 2015 @ 4:58am

The idea of a shield that obscures your view is a good one. But it's an inherently tricky thing because your most animated cool graphics are actually preventing you from seeing what's going on. The control of the shield when it was flying around also seemed like I was just hoping it would come back and take out the monster rather than I was really in charge of what was going on. That said, interesting premise and good theme and story explanation.

Benjamin says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 7:46am

The core mechanice is good. It tooks me time to learn how to make the shield go back to me but eventualy it feels good. The monsters fights are ok but you can abuse door position very often. When I tried to go back to he front door I was stuck in a door and could not move anymore.
I also think your life bar is too big. I would prefer more shorter sessions ( roguelike style ) rather than a big one.

lochmann-apps says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:46am

Really liked the idea of the game, nice take on the subject! A bit hard to see through the shield, though ;-D

Larzan says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:54am

That was fun! Didn't expect it to be, but it was strangely demanding and i couldn't stop playing, well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]