Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Power Of Love

by KunoNoOni - Compo Entry

The Power of Love by KunoNoOni for Ludum Dare #32
Made with Unity 5.0

Hate is everywhere... It turns the best of us into zombies!
Your job is to turn these hate filled zombies into humans
again with the Power of Love!

WASD to move. Mouse to rotate the player. Your view will
not rotate.

There are 3 levels and 8 Zombies per level. Zombies emit
hate, which will hurt you. For each zombie you convert
you gain a little love, which is the bar above the player.

When your love is all gone the game is over. Beware of
hate fountains, these emit hate which can hurt you and
can convert a changed human back into a zombie!

There is one spinning heart on each level. This heart will
restore 25 points of love to you. Just remember there is
only one.

Once you have converted all 8 zombies to humans you
will advance to the next level. Once all 3 levels are
completed you win the game!

Notes and Tips:
1. This is my first game done with Unity. So be nice :)

2. With that said, I have no idea why the player does not collide with the walls. I think something really odd is going on because I have Use Gravity turned on yet after going through a wall the player does not fall. Don't think of this as a bug, think of it as a keen strategic features! Just to put this in perspective, the player will collide with the zombies, and can get pickups and trigger buttons but he won't collide with the walls... Honestly the game is easy enough that you should never need to come into contact with the walls.

3. You will move forward in whatever direction the crosshair is facing. Also just to reiterate above. The camera always facing forward and will not rotate at all. The only thing that rotates is the player and the crosshair.

4. On levels 1 and 2 there is a green button next to only one of the hate fountains. If you touch the button it will change to red and the fountain will stop spewing. Just this one fountain, the other hate fountains will continue to spew hate. This is not a bug, this was the intended feature.

5. It may look like your not hitting the zombies, the particle effect they emit blocks your hearts. This is intended, think of it as there hate is so strong it repels your love.

6. I do not have a Mac or a Linux Box I could test those builds on. If you do and you have a problem please let me know.

7. If you run the Windows build you will need to alt-tab and then right click the program in the taskbar to close it. I blame my inexperience with Unity.

8. Remember to rate high and rate often! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#523Audio2.75
#630Theme3.25
#718Humor2.40
#825Mood2.58
#929Graphics2.38
#932Overall2.72
#948Innovation2.46
#1011Fun2.29
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23am

Good sound effects and Music. Camera needed to follow where you were aiming; otherwise impossible to see enemies below you which could come in range at any time. Also made it hard to aim since left/right mouse movement doesn't make any sense from a fixed perspective. Good theme, would like to see more human-like models/textures.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28am

I found the control orienting to the player rotation to be quite hard to anticipate, and led to a few deaths :(

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36am

The menu made me think of using powerpoint back in highschool XD

The controls were a little disconcerting, but once I realized WASD direction was relative to how the player was facing I could kind of go where I meant to. It was a fun concept, I think you could make something really cool if you continue with it post-LD

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:39am

Clunky controls and repetetive music. Make mute button, please.

donan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:41am

Controls are a bit hard at first, but its a good idea :D

Anas Azmi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:02am

This seems to be your first 3D game in LD. While I applaud your effort in trying Unity out, I personally would stick to 2D, especially in a Compo and if you're not familiar with an engine's workflow. I had the same idea, but backed out before I started.
I like the idea of using the power of love to turn zombies into humans. It's a good look at the society nowadays.

cgriff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:39am

I found it quite hard to control with the mouse and a bit confusing in general. For a first effort though - it is a complete and rounded game, so well done. And nice particles effects.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Interesting mechanics, but it seems to me a little bit confused so as to move the avatar. There is a potential for this entry, maybe with more features. Thank you ++

skylinegames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24pm

10/10 best. game. ever.

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:58pm

i like that shape ...lol..

but yeah... so hard to hit the enemy... this game reminds me .. to give them all love... love for everyone... cool!!!
love will prevail!

Catman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Great concept, but hard to play! Fix the controls by reducing the turning speed, place the camera above and this can become a cool game :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:58pm

You should realy fix it so that you can not go through the walls.

lanza says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

It's a good idea, but the player is hard to control, you have to get used to it.

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Camera needs to follow the player for this to work right.

Jon Reid says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I clicked start on the web version of this game, and it froze up my computer! be careful! Im running a mac, with firefox.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:52pm

First off, thank you all for playing/rating my entry! Now to your concerns.

1. As I explained in the Notes and Tips above, I have no idea why the player doesn't collide with the wall yet can collide with the zombies.

2. I blame my inexperience with Unity as to my the controls are so clunky. I guess I just got used to them while I was testing. I was trying to go for a third person view but it looks like I failed. I will do better next time I promise! :)

3. @Jon Reid, sorry to hear the web version did that to your computer. Did you try the OS/X x86 version I have linked? I don't have a Mac so I couldn't test them myself.

NIGIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:45am

So... Some pointers after checking out your source:
- Your collisions issues are due to your character's position being frozen on all axes. That's under Constraints on the Rigidbody, and basically tells the physics engine to not do anything on the position -- like applying gravity, or forcing you out of a collision.
- Third-person camera and tank controls work pretty well together if the camera turns with the character. A quick and dirty way to do that in Unity is to simply put it as a child of the player object. You can then also remove that DontRotate script from the health bar, as its rotation then naturally follows the viewport's.

SFX are too loud compared to the BGM. Especially with the sprinkler things. I suspect that's because so many of them play at once...

Otherwise, overall it's a neat arena game. Clean and simple presentation. Pretty fun. Good job!

PS: Theme and username/avatar fit too damn well.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:18pm

@NIGIC Thank you for your feedback. I really appreciate taking the time to look at my code :).

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:58am

Great work on your 1st unity game! Makes me think of Robotron/SmashTV arena shooters. Keep up the great work.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:14am

Nice effort for your first Unity game. It was a fine idea of a game. Agree with most of the comments above. Some unity games have hyper mouse sensitivity for me. This was one of those games. On OSX. It was fairly hard to aim as my guy turned too fast.

Keep going. There are tons of people and scripts in the Unity forums. Your wall blocking issue was likely due to the Project Settings/Physics/Layer Collision Matrix.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:12pm

@McFunkypants @GeorgeBroussard Thank you for the kind words and the feedback. I will look into implementing an options screen where you can adjust the mouse sensitivity in future 3D games.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:28pm

That noise! xD The game has a nice concept tho :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]