Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dr. Rampage

by zzForrest - Compo Entry

Dr. Rampage is on a crazy rampage through his own clinic, throwing pills at people that make crazy things happen. Once the CDC gets involved and gigantic flying syringes show up to the party, things are gonna get crazy!

EDIT:
It appears I uploaded a test version of the game with the starting health at 2, instead of 200. It's been fixed, and I apologize for this mistake.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#624Humor2.59
#786Audio2.00
#901Fun2.59
#905Theme2.81
#949Graphics2.33
#1048Overall2.50
#1089Innovation1.90
#1601Coolness42%

Comments

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:54pm

This is what happens when Robotron meets Dr. Mario! Neat little game, the different things that happen to the characters is funny too :)

slowfrog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Feels a bit like Infectonator.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Funny, but nothing really unconventional.

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:35pm

So the Unconventional Weapon is pills, right? But whether it's pills or bullets or baby-brontoraurs with aprons wouldn't matter to gameplay itself, unfortunately, since the only effect of the pills is the death animation of the NPC you hit. The graphics are sufficient and the death animations are cute ("oh look, a kitty!"), the sounds and enemy/level-design pretty basic. Having the player-char take a little more damage would have been nice, because I really suck at shooters ;)

CodeNMore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:42pm

I like the smoothness and feel of the game, and it's a good idea! I suppose pills are unconventional...it is a bit easy just because you can spam the Z key and fire as much as you want but I like that :)

nassi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Diagonal shooting would've been useful. The doctor must be one strong fella, since he can throw those pills so hard that it makes even robots explode.

Gameplay was basic but it felt pretty good. Strafing and diagonal shooting would've made it feel even better.

Wevel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:00pm

A bit basic but works well, might be nice to see your health.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Managed to get a score of 910. Felt like the game got a little too hard too quickly. Also, the controls felt a bit weird and made me quite frustrated. If you would walk up/down and left/right at the same time, the player would always be rotated to the side, never to the top, so if you were trying to shoot someone who is UP, you couldn't do it if you moved even an inch to the left or right while doing so. But yeah. No further complaints. The game idea itself is pretty good and I'm amazed by the mob variety. Good job!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Interesting idea, are those pills given to patients? xD

NoSoupForYou says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:40am

Fun game. Starts out simple but new enemies get added in with a solid difficulty curve. The artwork is also nice, I like some of the death animations in particular.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]