Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

TypeFighter

by Sheepolution - Compo Entry

- Try out your own name, I might have included it in the word list -

Eugene is quite the nerd. And being a nerd might be a problem, when you go to a school, full of thugs! Every day Eugene is being bullied, but that will all stop after his latest invention!

Type any word, and shoot it in front of you! There is one downside though: You can only use each word once!

________________________________

Changelog

20/04 - Fixed a bug where the final boss wouldn't jump

- this.bossThug.detectWord(Game.listOfWords[i]);
+ this.bossThug.detectWord(this.words[i]);

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Theme4.28
#33Humor4.05
#60Innovation4.01
#89Overall3.82
#152Fun3.64
#203Mood3.41
#283Graphics3.54
#365Audio3.05
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:06am

Creative game, I have not seen much like this. I feel like you do not have enough time to fight the opponents. At first its ok because you can think of a lot of short words but once you get farther, it takes longer and longer to write words and a lot of the enemies need three hits in about 10 seconds. Art and sound were good along. Also good humor(bonus point for "Swagsdale High"). Overall, very well done! :D

PizzaPortal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:21am

First of all, My name is part of the game, which is amazing

I really like the typing sound, and the game is really hard.
Art and Sound are both excellent, Gameplay is great. Good game.

khahem says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23am

Very cool idea, well executed and harder than expected, especially when you're locked between two muscles, quite realistic actually :D

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:41am

Really awesome entry! A lot more challenging than I would have guessed. Would have loved it if 'failed' words would auto clear, and wished that some words would have special effects (maybe they do?) Graphics and sound were good. Really solid stuff.

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45am

I really enjoyed this. It really tests your immediate vocabulary. Good game as usual, Sheep!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49am

Tried the demo earlier and loved the idea. It's simple, yet very fun.

There's two things I'd change:

1)Reward using longer words
2)auto-move. Typing is fun but moving around isn't, I think this game would work better if it was on rails(automatic movement).

great work by the way! ^^

Bemmu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:59am

I thoroughly enjoyed playing this. Trying to come up with random words was harder than I expected, until I hit upon the idea of just typing in random thoughts as if it was a chat box or going through days of the week, names of months, colors etc. sets with many items in them.

I haven't had this feeling of "oh no, think fast!" very often when playing LD games, a very cool entry.

masterboth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:23am

Awesome game as always, really funny and fun, you always come up with the best game fun and innovating mechanics. Good luck with this game.

kaype says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:27am

Very creative concept, had fun even though it was very difficult :P

I don't like the limited dictionary, but I'm able to get around it.

I've been hyping up this game for a whole 48 hours! Thank god OP delivered.

omgnoseat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:36am

My final words; "oh no". Awesome idea, good job.

hissssssssss says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:37am

Awwww, that poor dad.
I loved this from beginning to end. The roll of all the words you used at the end was an awesome idea too. Are you taking metrics of this? >_>

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:10am

Lol. dat intro.
Typing games are always hit or miss because some people suck at typing; next time include variable difficulty just for the sake of LD. Ended up being just hard enough for me, sorta. Hahahaha.

bazld says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:42am

Great fun. Excellent pixel art and style.

Jezzamon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:32am

This was really fun! I ended up thinking of chains of related things, like fruits, numbers, months, etc, and managed to win out!

This game is really great on the whole! Probably the audio is the area that could use some improvement. Maybe the graphics could be made a little more aesthetically pleasing as well (although I guess stylistically they're not meant to be pretty).

One thing that I disliked at first, but quickly realised was awesome was the fact that when you die your words don't reset. It kinda felt like "damn, I lost the last time, and now I can't even use any of those words! This sucks!", but it forces you to be cleverer in your strategy, and plan ahead.

I wish I could download my wordlist! That would be fun to see :)

Here's my finishing combo: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/2963538/screenshots/typefighter.png


Also: Pressing escape to restart wasn't working for me.

In conclusion, why couldn't I think of words like "stylistically" or "aesthetically" during the game!!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:41am

Solid entry, couldn't really fault it. It's a creative idea, as another person said the movement is a bit tricky to do at the same time as the typing.

hexagore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:40am

Love a good typing game, although omg having to thing of the words to type yourself makes it significantly harder, and so a lot more rewarding

I really love the style and humour of this as well.

jontturi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Really fun and creative. I like everything :D but it's hard. Really hard, probably 'cause I'm not native. My dictionary is big but slow :)

rnlf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Very cool idea! It's pretty hard to come up with words fast enough, especially if it's not your native language, but that's cool :-)

Xaychru says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Really innovative game, I surprisingly found it hard to come up with random words and it was quite fun to play! I'm just disappointed my nickname isn't in the list... :p

Tijn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Dude, I love your games. They're so funny and full of cool details. Even though this is just a typing game, I still had a good laugh. Well done!

danidre14 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08pm

nice game. Sucks that even when you die, but have more life, you still can't use other words XD.

I enjoyed it, more because of your regular tweets that had me looking forward to it.

Thanks you for participating.

Hatsome says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Creative game with a funny intro. I felt like some words were missing.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Nice! At first I thought it was just like "Typing of the dead" or those kinds of games. But the word being gone forever after you use it really sets it apart.

Great work! :D

PS: this game is hard

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Great concept and well executed. Agree with a lot of the comments. A greater reward for longer words would be great and also no re-use on restart is a bit too punishing but I can understand why you kept it like that :) good work.

alyphen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Pretty genius idea, although it's lacking polish, that's to be expected of an LD game, and it's humorous and pretty fun. Kind of reminds me of Scribblenauts, especially when you get to solving puzzles three times without reusing words.

flyingbear says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:47pm

What a hilarious premise! Sweet backstory too. I really felt for the guy when he was getting pummeled while trying to think of something, anything to type. That was an awesome moment. It's pretty punishing to lose a life and still be restricted from words you used before. Makes each time you die even more difficult. This game sure made me appreciate 10 letter words though. Anyway, this is the perfect kind of game to be doing with a jam of this theme.

rxi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:57pm

This is the first game I've played this Ludum Dare!

As usual another excellent entry -- matching in quality and mood of your previous entries. I really like how you seem to always come up with these interesting little concepts, and love the way you present it. The art is in your usual style, it feels as if it could be mistaken for accidental if it weren't so consistent between your games.

Like your last entry I really enjoyed the prop/set humour -- subtle things in the background I wasn't expecting. Things which it felt like I could have easily missed as I sat there trying to navigate my minds vocabulary, searching for words I haven't used in years and typing them out frantically.

I used 0.0697% of the dictionary -- including my username :)

Nice work.

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31pm

haha i think this is cool+funny

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:50am

Oh my god... I didn't realize how few words I know until I played this game. Hilarious! Hard to think of words when you're getting punched in the face. Lots of laughs, and a good workout for my brain!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:15am

Not exactly my kind of game but I had some fun with it. I'd say work on the balancing, maybe make it easier? Pretty solid game though.

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:34am

I really really like it! :D One of my favourite games in the past was THE TYPING OF THE DEAD, and this is as frantic as that.

The only thing is that you have to still walk yourself... That seems unnecessary and counterintuitive. I stood for a good while before trying arrow keys.

The restriction of using each word once is ingenious!

I hope you continue with this somehow. It's really charming!

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:41am

Really difficult and really good. Coming up with words just somehow manages to be fun. Great job.

Rialgar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:05pm

I made a Let's Play of your game:
https://youtu.be/bA_kS0InKfQ

I played it for 25 minutes before giving up, I have no idea how to beat the boss, great game though.

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04pm

I wonder if you keep track of the words one person uses in a row, it could be a fun psychological experiment. :D

Love the idea, it's a lot of fun in the beginning, and then at some point you actually struggle to come up with something new. Great job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Difficult game, I kept typing long words but not spelling them right, so I get beaten up a lot. Innovative idea, great work

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Brilliant :) Found myself at a loss for words quite fast. Nicely done!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Made a Twitch highlight of my playthrough. http://www.twitch.tv/alucardx60/c/6578411

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Awesome concept. :D It was really hard to think of new words constantly, though, so the difficulty curve was interesting, because it was based on how fast you could think of words. Great game!

DeltaF1 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:31am

This is super creative. I love the concept, but you went the next level and turned the concept into an awesome game. 5 stars!

(P.S. The grate size looks fine :P)

Madball says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:04am

That was quite difficult for me. I found a strategy of typing only long words for normal enemies, which I won't reuse against the boss, and typing words in groups for the boss (colors, animals, etc), but I couldn't complete the game anyway. I find it quite unfair that if you fail the level, you can't reuse words from it, it decreases the chances of winning with each fail.

I liked the game, but I think gameplay mechanics are pretty common.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:54am

Did pretty well, but there's no way I'm getting through that boss, no sir. Especially when I've already used up all the handiest words by then ;)

Really great execution of an interesting concept. Seems many people thought of using words as weapons, but yours is probably the most directly "weapon" I've seen so far. :D

rubna says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:58pm

super inventive and very hard! tests your creativity. might do well as an educational game. great work sheepo

x1212 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:26pm

I like how everytime someone manages to interpret the theme in a way that allows to make a typing game :D
Funny idea and story!

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

When playing I thought of dark stories in my mind that I have a very descriptive thought of... which I then used to beat up muscular sexy dudes, so that was fun. Great work!

My pinky hurts.

sbarrio says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:38pm

I knew this was going to be good from the first screen you posted.

Superb entry, really original, fits the theme, art is nice and plays well.

Congrats!

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:18pm

The guys from the left move way too fast. Neat idea, though, i enjoyed it.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:44am

I beateded it.

I saw you making this game. I loved every second of that.
Then I played it. And I loved MOSTLY every second of that.

If you can type fast and you have a good vocabulary to pull from, and you're quick witted, this game is pretty easy. IN THEORY. But something happens when you start playing. You quickly turn into a bumbling moron capable only of saying things like "CAT FELL TREE HURT HEAD OUCH HELP DOCTOR HOSPITAL NURSE NEEDLE BED SURGERY HEART CANCER EXPLODE DIE DEATH MURDER KILL SATAN"

There should be something the credits for the person that came up with Swagsdale High.

Oh wait... there is... in that long list of words that flies by.

The game is cool, music kinda sucks, but it's simple and repetitive so your brain blocks it out so you can focus on coming up with words. That's a thing, although I'm not sure if you did it on purpose, but you did a good job with that regardless. So while your music skills are lacking, you actual score kinda highly in that category.

The touches you added like the word scroll at the end and the % are welcome additions that serve as a decent reward for the player's hard work.

That jumping flipping boss is a bastard, though... and I killed him with horse rider frank sinatra garden. Fuck yeah.

Cool game, maaaaaaaan.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Pssst - You are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ez58OGO7BXQ

broknecho says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:24pm

Really cool idea and use of the theme. Super hard game. Not being able to reuse the words is insanely difficult but cool idea. Well Done!

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Fantastic, brain freezing game. Will likely come back and play this more later!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Hahhaha, cool idea!
Congrats =)

muromets says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Awesome game, it was very funny :) It really put my brain to work hehe

nassi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Restarted after losing a few lives but managed to beat it without losing any on my second try. The environments offered a lot of good words for me to use as did the situations.

Nice idea and the execution is also flawless. I liked how "unconventional" as a word could be used as a weapon too. Clear winner in the theme department :P.

Mase says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Very cathartic scenario.

The boss seems difficult... I think I understand the strategy now but I don't feel like going through the whole game to try him again.

abdurrahmankh says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:29pm

dude! this is just awesome. please keep making video games!
no more comments cz I have to keep playin this! (and I just bought 5 games on steam sales)

skiddings says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:25pm

This was really fun, but as a dyslexic it got pretty difficult.

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Was a bit difficult, fortunately I pressed some arcane key combination and was able to slow time and annihilate everything with ease.

Jwatt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Your games often seem to have this thing where the interface shapes the gameplay. It adds a certain charm and makes for interesting conceptual games.

It's got a bit of a panicky feel to it, trying to come up with any word whatsoever. I feel like this would be more focused if different scenes had different themes (like words beginning with a letter, or words relating to nature). You'd have a smaller pool of words to sort in your head, so you could spare the short related words to counter attacks. Those kinds of things seem to be details you've planned for, but you didn't really add further mechanics to support them.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Dunno who these people are who thought it was hard. You could have a 10-letter word lined up on the typewriter all the time, and just fire whenever someone attacks.

Then again, the final boss I found completely nonsensically impossible to beat. Dude dodges every single attack, what's up with that?

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:51pm

I like the arbitrary fact that you can only use every word once. I wasn't so happy that I thought of a lot of good words and couldn't use them. :\ First word I tried was smorgasboard. I also felt like the UI could have been better; the glasses as health bar was brilliant, given the bullying theme, but starting over every two lives when there were more than that on screen was confusing. Overall, I enjoyed it, but I feel like you've had stronger entries in the past.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:11am

My strategy was typing out lyrics of songs I knew. It worked pretty well, but didn't get past the cafeteria. It's a neat game! I am not sure about not resetting the words you can use after *losing a life*, but I can see why that decision was made.

monstersauce says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:41am

Love the idea! I'm not good with words so ended up typing numbers as I count from one to twenty.. then it got too long

herniewise says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:57am

Pretty solid and challenging game. Liked it a lot.

VividReality says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:06am

Very innovative :) I've never heard of any weapon like it. Even though you thought it meant inconvenient, it's still a pretty unconventional weapon. Very well done!

albinobat says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:20am

I was surprised I was able to spell supercalifragilisticexpialidocious correctly in my first go

dos says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:46am

Amazing mechanic, I love it! Great for playing with bunch of friends around :D

cdgugler says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:53am

Great idea! This game gets hard really fast, I'd start to blank after running out of words and have to think of a new topic.

Gomango999 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:54am

This is a really innovative game! My only small complaint was that there could have been a little more variety in it, instead of just normal, and weight throwing enemies. Everything other than that was basically perfect! Very good job!

oranebeast says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:43am

The game was absolutely amazing, I killed with the written power of god. The pen is truly mightier than the sword! I died typing sun. I felt the player should be a little faster; But the graphics humor and innovation just cleared that out of my mind. Awesome game. I used that word dude. And that one.

careless says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:53pm

how hard can it be to think of words! Very nice idea and enjoyed playing.

Nice entry!!

joe40001 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Very innovative and fun. A bit too hard but otherwise a very great take on the theme.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:56am

Had me typing really fast, really fun! Such a fun/funny idea! I had a great time, well done!

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:11am

Great game and theme! I felt like I was playing bookworm on steroids :-D

SteveSalmond says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:41am

So hard! And yet super fun. Lots of cool touches - I especially liked the glasses-as-health-bar thing. Awesome job :)

Sanguine says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Keyboard control was a bit unnecessary, I felt like it didn't really add anything to the game, it just made it annoying because I had to switch between typing. Getting damage was a bit confusing and I wasn't sure when I got damaged and when I didn't. The game was a bit too hard for me. The font was nice in combination with the pixel art.

GarethIW says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Well done, nice use of the theme.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:21pm

Very, very good. As a fast typist, this was pretty challenging, so I can't imagine how hard it would be if you're not. Love the style and the mechanic is rather fascinating.

Pierrec says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:43pm

It quickly get boring but I loved it anyway. It's fun to play with friends shouting words at you

igoramendola says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Super cool idea! Took me a while to finish it haha
I liked the option of moving the character when I wanted because I used those intervals when nobody was attacking me to think more different words.
It was pretty fun and challenging. Good entry :D

May 4, 2015 @ 5:11pm

I've made a typing game too! :D
Excellent art, music and SFXs! The game is too hard, though. Sometimes the enemies appears on the back of the player, and they punch too fast, there's little time to move and then type long words. There's also no used words list, so it's up to the player to remember which ones he/she already used.

Despite that, great entry! It looks and feels very polished!

joekinley says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 6:03pm

I loved the idea. That little twist that you can only use words once, pretty cool. It was a lot of fun and great. Loved the funny theme realization, and the back story. Great job.

Alex Rose says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:05pm

The game's absolutely hilarious, graphics are wonderful, it's a classic Sheepolution extravaganza.

The only thing I don't like about it is that, unlike most games where the more you play something the easier it seems to get, in this instance it just seems to get harder since you use up all your small/large words.

I don't know how to solve that problem though (although a nicer respawn at the boss would help).

It's also fucking hilarious. Like, it should definitely win humour.

There's not much more I can add to that, you know you made something great here and so does everyone else lol.

pixzleone says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Very cool, and i love that you included my name! Keep it up!

Managore says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:54pm

For some reason I am REALLY bad at this game, unless I'm enumerating something (days of the week, months, words beginning with different letters of the alphabet, etc) or adding 's' to the end of everything!

But I really like it. The inability to reuse words turns the game from a generic typing challenge into a much more interesting and challenging beast. I've seen one or two other games with words as weapons, but I think you handled it the best, mechanically.

I found being ambushed especially difficult, particularly because you would lose health quickly when they closed the gap and started pummeling you in the face. Sometimes I would type out a long word, realize I had already used it and have to backspace it away before I could type a new word, and this often meant my death. Being able to 'enter' used words to clear the typewriter would have made it easier, but I can understand if this is a decision you made to punish keyboard mashing.

It was also a pleasant surprise to try Ludum Dare related words, to see which ones were included. There were many more than I expected!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]