Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Fishland King

by torcado194 - Compo Entry

Fishland King!

You're on a dock! Your weapon is a fish! Kill the dudes! get the fishy foods! Win the game!

Controls:
WASD and Mouse
Esc to quit to menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#113Humor3.70
#197Graphics3.71
#208Overall3.58
#242Fun3.46
#305Mood3.24
#454Theme3.46
#599Audio2.58
#703Innovation2.88
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:02am

Awesome game. Nice graphics andI love how the fish changes but when I died, and hit play again, it still says: "DED" and I cant play.

tsameti says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:57am

Okay, that's pretty great there.
He's right though. You can't restart the game.

dingotime says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07am

Very nice. I wanted to keep playing to get even bigger fish. (actually took me a while to figure out how to pick up food - because you have to right on to and then click on it?)

torcado194 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

thanks for the comments!
you're totally right, you cant restart. i forgot to reset some variables when the game resets, my bad. i dont think that counts as a 'game breaking bug' enough for me to fix it after the deadline. if it does, let me know and ill fix it real quick!

torcado194 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:04am

(just refresh to reset, btw.)

TiberiusC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:26am

oh my gosh, that game is freakin' great to play :D loved it. Just run and swing da feesh and you're set for life :D

uvwar says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:40pm

I liked the upgrading fish a lot! The main character was very cute, but I think his color blends into the dock a little bit too much, maybe make the wood of the dock a few shades darker to make him pop more. I also thought the life preserver throwing guys were a little difficult to dodge, maybe they could wind up and throw or something instead of just getting pelting as soon as you come within view.

concalf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:26pm

What's better than slapping people with a fish? Using a bigger fish!

jlauper says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Fun game, I like dead you keep your progress when you die!

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:11am

Haha, flailing round bigger and bigger fish was great! The art was really nice and the main swordplay mechanic has a lot of potential. Nice one.

Xaychru says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:22pm

Haha really fun game! The combat system is great, it became quite addictive when I discovered I could make my fish grow and it kept me playing for longer than I expected. My only complain is that the graphics are a bit repetitive, but the game still looks nice. :)

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Nice polished game. As far as good 2d melee combat goes, you got it down.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Nice little game with simple concept, had quite a bit of time playing, but it was quite hard. Excellent job!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:00am

Fun little game, really liked the character art. Dodging the lifesavers seemed impossible at certain points - it would be nice if you could destroy them by hitting them, or if they were smaller and had a slower attack speed. The game restarted fine for me though

gruhn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:43pm

A fun and beautiful game, with good feedback to the player, and a good idea for the theme

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:49pm

First off, awesome graphics and clever design. I like the fish growing!

Unfortunately, with the tiny hitbox (especially on the first fish), and especially the knockback, the game is super frustrating. If the hitbox was bigger, if there wasn't knockback from your own swings, ir the enemy melee hitbox were smaller, and/or if you could melee the life preservers to destroy them, I think things could be a lot of fun. As it is, it is very frustrating. :(

Also, since the enemies are already challenging, and so many clicks are already required, is it necessary to melee the pickups? Perhaps just walking over them to grab food would make the flow better.

The health meter fish bowl is cute, but it is difficult to know how many hits away from death you are, so that also led to frustration for me.

There might be a bug when I restarted and got a very long fish. I reloaded the page to fix it, but that might actually be a nice feature for a small game...the longer fish was way more fun, even though it still had the same sort of small hitbox and player pushback issues.

With screen size as small as it is and the life preservers being unblockable and undestroyable, their speed is pretty fast.

As huge and mazelike as the level is, having a win counter of some sort would be nice. I didn't know if I needed to get all the food or defeat all the enemies, but apparently the answer was neither -- I randomly got a WIN popup while still playing, with maybe 2 enemies and 1 food drop left. Or maybe I got all the food drops but there were 2 enemies left.

I know it's just a 24 hour game, and again you had great graphics and clever ideas, but I wanted to try to give some detailed feedback if you work on this past the competition. :)

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Correction, I meant 48-hour game. :P

burlapjack says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:01am

I had fun playing this! It's a nice homage to the Vlambeer crew. I did a video review. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hC9bzhpuYV4

torcado194 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:52am

@GAFBlizzard very valid points! i agree with all of these, and would definitely address them if was going to continue with this game. I do think the life preserver enemies are pretty unfair, and debated weather i should let the player hit the life preservers out of the air. i decided it would be too easy if i did, but they are still frustrating.
The win condition is supposed to be killing every enemy in the level, but there were some problems with the code and i ended up making the required kills a little less than the amount of enemies (presumably).
And i just thought swinging the fish at the food made it feel more like the fish was actually 'eating' the food, but it is pretty confusing.
Thanks for the lengthy critique!

ceosol says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 5:20am

Fun and quirky. There is definitely a market for a game like this. For some odd reason it is a lot of fun slapping enemies around with fish. I wish there was more of a connection between the bowl, food and cracks. At times it almost seemed random.

Wolfgang_ says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 3:12pm

One of the best I've played so far this Ludum Dare

Smirnov48 says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:09am

Very fun! Great game! I waited when I got a whale.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]