Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sonny & Gloom

by Mach60KAS - Jam Entry

=============================================================
>>>>>>>>>>>IF NO ONE ELSE CONNECTS FOR 5 MINUTES, INVITE A FRIEND!<<<<<<<<<<<
=============================================================
Sonny & Gloom have always had an odd working partnership. As far as ghost hunting duos go, a dog and ghost have always been looked at a little oddly when they take care of a house call.

It's even odder that Gloom uses Sonny's life force as a weapon to battle the undead.

Still, the unlikely team are known as the best exorcists in the tri-state area - and they're about to face more spooks than they've ever met!

=============================================================

This is a 2-player coop game, and unfortunately you cannot play alone. I have an alerts system implemented so that either I or @RHY3756547 can drop into games if we hear an event happen!

-------------------------
Control w/ 1,2,3 to select skills, WSAD to move, click to use your skills!

The unconventional weapon is your own life!

Title screen courtesy of Tom.

Made in phaserjs! (http://phaser.io)

--- POST-COMPO USABILITY FIXES ---
* Placed instructions screen before connection - before this, the embedded app on the ludum dare page would immediately ask for the player's name and put them into a game. This was pretty aggravating!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Innovation(Jam)3.53
#312Fun(Jam)3.32
#313Overall(Jam)3.45
#439Audio(Jam)2.94
#598Humor(Jam)2.68
#631Graphics(Jam)3.05
#677Mood(Jam)2.84
#777Theme(Jam)2.95
#1769Coolness37%

Comments

trappytrap92 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:14pm

Cool game, loved the music and the retro graphics! the dog is a little slow in my opinion, good job and keep working on it! :)

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:27am

I couldn't get a match - but I love the look of this game!

nassi says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Would've liked some rudimentary way of communicating, resorting to barking and spinning in a circle might not have conveyed my message x). Well, we managed to get 226010 points, so not that bad I guess. Started to slow down a bit near the end (that was a lot of enemies!), but still technically impressive.

Networked multiplayer games are always nice, even if a bit risky considering that people might not be able to find company to play them in a game jam. Good job!

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Thanks for the feedback so far!

@trappytrap92: Thanks so much, I had intended to tweak the numbers properly but before I knew it I was at the 72hr mark. :( Glad you enjoyed it, though!

@kabutakogames: That sucks, glad you liked the look though! :)

@nassi: Hey, I was playing with you as your ghost. That was pretty impressive! Communication was a big part of my original design, with alt-clicks to say "Look Here!" and either a chat wheel or a direct chat for the rest. I ran out of time long before I could have had any of those written I'm afraid, but the lack of communication is sorely felt! The slowdown is a compounding of phaser, network code and my own mistakes at high load with so many sprites spawned at once. It used to be way worse, and truth be told I didn't expect players to make it so far in! Thanks again for the comments!

nassi says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:37pm

@Mach60KAS: I'll have to make an online multiplayer game sometime in the future too despite the risks involved :P. The idea of playing the game together with the people rating your game feels intriguing, albeit quite time consuming. And of course everything is much more fun with friends... Distant internet friends.

I guess I'll have to check the ghost part in the future too, since that sounded more like my style. Are the characters assigned at random?

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:50pm

@nassi: Yep, players are assigned a random state by the server when a lobby is generated. It seemed the fairest way to do it without putting in a screen to choose your character or select a lobby - but it's a pretty harsh workaround.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Really impressive that you managed to make an online coop game during a jam. Congrats!

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Really cool concept! I really liked the coop gameplay and how each player had a different role. Would like to see more!

SayHiBen says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:28pm

The players complement each other nicely! Great work.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:15am

A teammate scored the stars.
I'm voting now.
O.4
I.3
F.3
T.3
G.2
A.4
H.1
M.3

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:24am

Very impressed at the balancing of the game. Sure it's on the easy side, but I think it's necessary for games like this where the health is the currency for attacks. I've rarely encountered a game that does this successfully. So well done!

Oborux says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Worked fine for me, like the co-cop element, hope the other player did ok, I entered a name but didn't know the other players handle.
I did a LD game with a dog & ghosts too but its a bit messy, the dog cannot be harmed by the ghosts

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Fun game! The graphics and gameplay is perfect.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]