Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Curiosity

by poohshoes - Jam Entry

I started making a game for the Compo but it crashed and burned so here's a rushed Jam game. Made by myself, Peter Foster, and Sam Foster.

Curiosity is made with an open source HTML5 engine I have been working on.
The map is built in Tiled, sounds were made with bfxr, music with FruitLoops, and art with Paint.net.

This game was only tested with in the Chrome browser.

Edit: Had to make some slight changes so you can collect all of the coins.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#244Audio(Jam)3.35
#285Fun(Jam)3.36
#484Overall(Jam)3.26
#515Mood(Jam)3.06
#645Graphics(Jam)3.03
#658Innovation(Jam)2.86
#754Humor(Jam)2.38
#975Theme(Jam)2.36

Comments

Managore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:45am

I had a blast (pun intended, sorry) with this game, it was really fun. The upgrades added a huge drive to keep going exploring and the game slowly opened up with the rover and other abilities. The rocket itself looked great, and the visual upgrades were a really nice touch too, but I wish the ground wasn't quite so blocky. I would love to see a polished version of this!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58am

Nice Entry! I really like the idea! Enjoyable gameplay, sprites are also good and there is music!!!
Well Done!

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58am

This was really fun!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:58am

A lot of fun to play, and it looked very good. My only complaint would be the fact that I can just not use my parachute and collide with all sorts of things without any penalty. It would add a bit more challenge. Otherwise, very neatly done.

Demy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:08am

Hey, I like this game. Upgrades are nice and add more fun. Music is slightly too noisy. It's cool idea that you have no exect reason to explore the whole map but your curiosity makes you do it.

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:08am

The game doesn't work with firefox (we can see only the rocket on a blue background and it doesn't react to contorls)

Otherwise, it could be nice to be able to relaunch more quickly, because all the tokens are very hard if not impossible to catch without launching a lot of times ;)
The rocket looks nice, I found it tricky to control

The background music is very nice

poohshoes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:50pm

alpha_rat: Huh, I just tested it in firefox and besides some drawing artifacts it seemed to work fine. Can you tell me what version of fire fox and what operating system you are on?

SpeirCeol says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:59am

That's a cool game, keep it up!

Hambone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:59am

This was awesome!!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:48am

Really simple but really fun. Also a great looking rocket.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:59am

Misread instructions, crashed spaceship into nearby cliff.

NASA is going to kill me for this.

retr0verse says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:15am

Controls a little confusing at first, but tons of fun once they were figured out, upgrades really cool!

jackrugile says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:18am

This is an awesome start. I love the art style of the ship! I'm sure you didn't have much time for the environment, but if you continued with the ship style that could look awesome. One other suggestion (no fault to you as I don't know what things weren't implement by your own choice, or by time constraints) is that it would be nice if the camera was position based on your velocity. For example, if your launching up, the camera would move up slightly so you could see where you were going and navigate better. Then, when your falling down, it would be the opposite.

zorfmorf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:20am

Made it to 58 coins until I couldn't find a reachable one for several tries any more. Played quite a long time and it was really motivating to scrunge up the enough coins to see what the next upgrade would give me!

Only worked in chrome for me as well, in firefox 37.0.2 you see just a blue sky and the rocket (linux system)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:57am

I played and got about 32 parts before losing steam and feeling like I had played enough. I did enjoy the idea though, and I like how you incorporated rewarding with new mechanics rather than it all being entirely just about collecting for the sake of collecting (I would have lost interest much sooner if it were like that). The inclusion of the rover in particular caught me off guard and actually made me excited to see what kind of places I'd be able to go to with it.

Graphically it was alright, the ship itself had a very nice sprite but the tile based environment sort of clashed with it I thought. I would have liked to have seen some additional animations for the thrusters and whatnot, but that's just detail work. The sky color transitioning while you gain altitude was a very nice touch! Also, it could have been interesting if, when you eject from the rocket, it doesn't disappear and instead maintains its original course. I think that would have made that process seem a bit sleeker and fluid. Perhaps also collisions for the rocket if it ran into stuff? I found there was no real tension or much reason to eject before the rocket ran out of fuel for the most part. Flying off through the narrow right side tunnel could have felt much more engaging if I could lose that run due to misjudging the flight/eject timing.

The audio was pretty nice, and though I liked the idea of it ramping up the music for the launch sequence... it happens so often that the glamour of it becomes pretty tedious after just a couple of runs.

Oh and I also liked that progress carries over from each run. I'm a fan of that approach rather than completely resetting progress each run. Nice design choice, sets it apart from a lot of the other games that follow arcade approaches to gameplay.

poohshoes says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:54am

Thanks for the feedback. I would have loved to implement a forward looking camera but I just ran out of time. I'm thinking of making a version that has a minimap to help you find all the coins.

zorfmorf: Thanks for letting me know what version of firefox, ill look into it.

I also spent 45 mins of my last two hours implementing rocket thrust particles but I was sleepy and the code didn't work. Also I agree that persisting the rocket and parachute would have been cool.

If I find time to polish it up then I will make the ship explode when you run into stuff!

rnlf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:16am

As a big fan of the space shuttle, this game was a really great find for me. I like the sprites and the upgrades that made me play on and on.

I would have wished for some structure in the background though as a reference frame for my motion when going up or down.

I really like your interpretation of the theme. I've saved the quote for future reference ;-)

broknecho says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Nice entry for rushing an entry! Well done. Was a lot of fun!

markusfisch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Cool upgrades! Kept me playing and retrying! Really well done!

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:13am

Can't manage to get the thing flying. For some reason. I've never pushed "up" that hard before.

suppi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:27pm

fun game. really liked the bg music!

poohshoes says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:04pm

PaperBlurt, somtimes you need to click on the game before it will take inputs.

Zarkith says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:33am

Despite the lack of a map or radar, I managed to find all 70 parts! :D

The last one had me stumped for a while though (far left). Not gonna lie, that was a pretty lame spot, but I guess it could've been worse. (Like above the spiral in the top-middle, even though I almost cheese'd my way up there. Damn you parachute cooldown! *shakefist*)

This was super fun despite its lack-of-time induced flaws. I'd love to play a bigger and better, more polished version.

poohshoes says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:18am

Thanks Zarkith. I ran out of time to edit the map and it was barley even possible to get all of them. I would like to make an improved build and put it up somewhere.

Os_Reboot says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:58pm

This game is incredible. I love the graphics, love the sound, love how smooth and connected everything feels. I really enjoyed playing this, awesome job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]