Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Weapossession

by tayl1r - Compo Entry

Possess enemies and run them into each other.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Innovation3.92
#109Overall3.77
#158Graphics3.81
#171Theme3.85
#201Fun3.54
#214Mood3.39
#1347Coolness48%

Comments

SadSmile says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Wow. I love the concept and the art. great game.

cgriff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:43pm

It's a nice little game, but I wanted some more of it! Cool mechanic, lovely particles and I like the general dark, cyber-crypty mood.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Great work!

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Nice Entry. I liked the mechanic but felt the play space a bit claustrophobic for the game. Bit more room/more area would improve it I think. Good game though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Loved the art - like the others, I want more :)

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Really nice!
the big guy dont die, right?

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Nice game with great audio and graphics. Amazing job :)

slowfrog says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Possession as a weapon is clearly unconventional. The mechanic is simple, the graphics are cool.

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Love the mechanics and the gameplay. Graphics are very cool, sound becomes a little grating after a while. Game becomes quite frantic and challenging after a while! 10/10 best game ever, would play again.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Awesome - brilliant idea, graphics, implementation.

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:29pm

That was an interesting exercise for my brain. I'm so used to tracking a single player character that I'm controlling that my mind didn't want to temporarily jump over to the possessed enemy. I kept getting confused at first, but gradually got better.

I was also learning to not possess an enemy until after the bigger dude fired its occasional shot, but then an enemy spawned right on top of me and killed me, which was disappointingly out of my control.

It's a minor point, but the second spawn noise (when the enemy actually appears and starts moving) felt a little strong to me. The first sound was less abrasive, and the second event didn't seem significant enough to warrant being communicated to the player with such a bold sound. The first sound presents new information, and so the second sound should just be enough to confirm/finalize what the player is already expecting, that the enemy has finished spawning. Though I will say that talking through this does make me appreciate that there *was* a pre-spawn event followed by the actual spawn.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:01am

That was really fun. You have a firm grasp on game feel. Every object was moving and alive. Every action had just the right amount of visual and audio feedback. Even the mouse cursor had smoke trails.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:09am

Loved the art and style. Very attractive, very cool concept. Felt like it would've been great with gamepad support, would not suggest using it with a trackpad.

amonkalagin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:57pm

Very good game! I like the game mechanics and the look, good job there :)

Dejvo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:08pm

intresting idea. nice game. well done

Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:36am

Nice mechanic & stylish graphics. I really enjoyed this one.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]