Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Doll Quest, Bad Brother Beatdown

by JaJ - Compo Entry

A little girl is fed up with her three brothers. Use her doll to teach them a lesson!

Control to throw, arrow keys to move. Up to jump and double jump.

Note: the web version may start to have sound problems if you play for a while. You may consider trying the windows version if you have a PC.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Graphics4.28
#50Audio3.89
#51Fun3.89
#65Mood3.79
#74Overall3.86
#187Theme3.82
#202Humor3.43
#395Innovation3.33
#2469Coolness0%

Comments

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:34am

Awesome game!! Really fun, love the art and music!
Just two thing, I don't know if it was intentional, but the
Stupid Sport Bro and Crappy Copter Bro wouldn't hit me when I was in the edge of the screen. And I found the double jump a bit stiff... also don't know if it was intentional.

Anyway, great work!

JaJ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:41am

Stupid Sport Bro actually can hit you on the edge of the screen with both jumps and the ball. With the ball it depends on how high he jumps. With the copter bro, it was intentional, to make him less difficult to beat, because when he could hit you on the edge he was way too difficult compared to the other two.

The souble jump doesn't feel as good as it could, that's just something I didn't have the time to go back to to make it feel better.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:34am

I see... copter bro would be really difficult xp

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:09am

Liked the game

mtanton says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:28am

Cool game. Using ctrl to shoot was a bit awkward. Good game overall.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:44am

back to the gameboy, such bad bros

devilright says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Like some of your previous entries, awesome job with the GB 4-palette graphics and mood. Controls were tough. I wish the jump button was a different key. My brain short-circuits with up = jump.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Really great game! I love the aesthetic and the difficulty. Well done!

zillix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:31am

this is some top-notch presentation. great work!

micahcowan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42am

Really stellar game. Addictive, fun, catchy tunes. Near perfect!

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Great game! One day I will create a boss game too, wanted to do it for a while. :D

Controls feel quite strange though, all that inertial jumping...

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:44pm

For some reason this was lovely. Really enjoyed the gfx, music and mood!

Everything was perfect for me expect the jump. I prefer to have air control (I mean being to still move left/right while in air). But this is personal.

Great entry!

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:24am

Good game, really challanging. kept trying to toss the doll until i realized i had to pick it up again.

Yamzho says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Very nice game ! I miss my Gameboy now... ;)

oinariman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:41pm

Cute graphics. I like the crazy frog bro. It's a bit difficult to me but fun to challenge.

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Hey! your game is not bad. It is fun. look at mine. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

GarethIW says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Nice, I like the graphics.

-CH

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:00am

Really nice game. I liked the sports dude the best cuz he was actually a good challenge cuz you had to watch out for the attack where he throws the ball into the corner and you gotta either already be in the middle or jump over it. Plus I liked how you couldn't change your direction in the air, made it a lot harder.

rnlf says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:41am

GREAT GAME! At first I thought it was a bit hard, but then I learned you could always react in time if you know how the Bro's attack begins. The Chopper Bro made me rage anyway :D

Beat him in the end though. Cool visuals, cool use of theme, cool gameplay. As I said, great game!

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:58pm

love the music and the sounds. I find evading enemy attacks very hard though, maybe because of the disabled air movement. enjoyed playing it though! !

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Wow this is awesome! Great retro style graphics and sound. The three different enemies are also great!
This really reminded me of how i started playing games on my old gameboy classis. Dig it!

nihilocrat says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:36am

Pretty hard, I couldn't beat any of them on the first try. Air control would help. Still, neat concept, cool use of theme.

Horsed says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:04am

Good looking game. Just like an old game boy title. I found it very hard but that is plus. Nice job!

May 10, 2015 @ 3:48pm

I found this pretty tough, but I liked the idea a lot and the mood/visuals were cool

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]