Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ludum Dare to save your mom!

by kill0u - Jam Entry

* Ludum Dare (to give a game, in latin) to save ur mom! *
Use your game as a weapon!

I did not want to force my game into an action weapon-related game, only changing the weapon for something grotesque.

So.. how could you define weapon differently?I went for "something to get rid of who's annoying you" (or, in this case, someone dear to you).

Synopsis:
Your [old] dear mother is tired of all the youngsters in her small town. She can't even go around town to do some basic stuff. Sorry for her, you do what you can to help her: you create an awesome game for the Ludum Dare and give it to all those youngsters so that they stay at home and don't bother your mother any more.


/!\ The game is played in two phases, and only the second has the so-called "weapon"!

- Day
You play grandma, and try to go to some determined places while avoiding all those annoying youngsters. But there's too many of them! D=

- Night
At night, you play the coder and go to the houses deliver your game, avoiding cops (they think you're *robbing* the poor kids!) and such. Each "corrupted" kid will be too busy to come again next days, giving grandma much more space.



I initially entered for the compo, but bloo joined me on sunday & monday night to give a hand with the graphics; there was so much more to do than I thought at first D=
Music kindly made by @Qrchack!
https://twitter.com/qrchack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#84Audio(Jam)3.83
#110Innovation(Jam)3.79
#117Graphics(Jam)4.17
#142Humor(Jam)3.64
#205Overall(Jam)3.60
#230Theme(Jam)3.76
#267Mood(Jam)3.42
#376Fun(Jam)3.24

Comments

PaulJs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Un jeu lent mais néanmoins charmant ! Même si j'avoue que le rapport au thème est un peu tiré par les cheveux !

Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:39am

On Chrome and Firefox I get music, but a white screen.

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:50pm

The concept is amazing! i love the idea of delivering your game to people to prevent them from going outside. hilarious idea, and the music is flawless.

Leandrus says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Good game. thanks for sharing.

jk5000 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:59pm

A really great idear and a fun game. I know grandma is meant to be slows, but I wish she wasn't so slow.

23 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Nice music, nice graphics, nice concept, but the gameplay was kind of confusing. During the day I was so slow that when I lost it felt unfair rather than like I'd screwed up, and at night I'm not sure why it stopped - maybe the things I thought were kids were cops?

Linkigi says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I love how the playscape changes from day to night and how different the characters feel to control. The grandma feels much more vulnerable and I even found myself getting annoyed at those seemingly impossible to avoid kids. The change in music is great and helps to differentiate the two different characters.

MonoS says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:59pm

What?!?! only 12 ratings so fare?? THIS IS OUTRAGEOUS D:!!

This game is very good, had some good fun playing this :D.
The trill of guiding granny back home and a car by this little |.| miss you is... WOOOOO that was close.

At first i was a bit disoriented by the amount of people on screen, but once i understood how to use the grandson i started laughing by my SUPREME INTELLIGENCE :D.

Cool concept and realization, good use of the theme.
Good graphic and music.
Good mood as i said, maybe the kind of game don't speak thrill, but it thrilled me :D

Cstudios says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:03pm

"Those damn kids!" I would say. Its a cute little game, i managed to finish it by clearing only one block. Maybe the difficulty curve should be adjusted a little bit, but this is LD, so no game have to be polished to be perfect. Nice entry!

FrederickK says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Very cute game and spot on the theme!
I didn't get it why some tasks are already marked as done at the start if you have to do them again the next day. o.0

renatopp says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:54pm

The visual is gorgeous and the concept is great. The framerate was very low to me. Congratulations for you game.

leffe108 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Cool game with a concept a bit like pacman but in a interesting way.

I did have a problem with the font being difficult to read though. I think for the instructions, it would be good if they were given in a font which allows easier reading.

Really great audio in the game.

Kalman90Grape says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Ha ha ha! Very funny, and nice ideas.

01101101 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Ha ha Nice Game ! Good Humor ! Really ! Love the Chip-poppy music with the melody variation Day/Night !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]