Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

FIREFLY GUN !

by TravisRoot1 - Jam Entry

A game about using your friends as weapons!

Use the arrow keys to move.
Press Z to launch a firefly friend!

Watch out for monsters and escape the murky maze with your life.

I wonder if they can be slain...


By Travis Root and Zack Edouard. Our first Ludum Dare!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Audio(Jam)4.30
#29Mood(Jam)4.12
#134Overall(Jam)3.74
#185Innovation(Jam)3.64
#206Graphics(Jam)3.91
#239Theme(Jam)3.75
#362Fun(Jam)3.26
#622Humor(Jam)2.63
#2240Coolness20%

Comments

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Pretty cool! I love the graphics and the audio. A couple of times, I spent several minutes wandering through the maze only to run into some monster and die. It would be nice to have a life system, so that you don't have to start over if you accidentally hit a monster. I would have liked to finish the game, but I don't have the patience today. 4/5 overall.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55pm

P.S. Try changing the embedded URL from 'http://www.stencyl.com/game/play/30546' to 'http://static.stencyl.com/games/30546-0.swf'. This will embed only the game, and not the entire webpage. ;)

zillix says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:36am

the ambiance here is fantastic! I loved how the walking sound was its own music.

phi6 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Wow. That was unexpected - a game about darkness with firefly mechanics and dynamic music? WTF. Great job!

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:02am

great aesthetic and mood. it ran a little choppy for me for some reason. was a little unclear about the goal of the game though!

richiebranson says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:03am

wow....LOVED the graphics. The mechanic of having to use the fireflies to light your path was genius.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:05am

Great atmosphere! Very cool unconventional weapon! Top soundtrack (reminded me of FEZ).

balom says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:09am

What great audio. When I got in a fight with a monster, and was running around and shooting fireflies, everything really came together. You have a great game here!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:59am

Top notch entry - great take on the theme, awesome mood, and a reasonable challenge to boot. Great job!

herniewise says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:44am

The audio playing only when you're walking reminded me to Dig Dug. Pretty cool game!

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Great game. Really liked the maze, audio and graphics really worked to make a interesting looking game

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Great audio and mood! I really love the aesthetic!

Photon says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:51pm

At first I was kind of annoyed with the permadeath, but it adds this airy suspense to the game that I really took too. You don't really explain much either, you just sort of put us out there, and it works. For what's it worth, this is one very atmospheric maze game, and I totally approve of it.

LMT says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Pretty cool game with ambient music and nice audio. I think that if there were more landmark obstacles e.g. things I could remember and plan my route around. Despite this, great game.

Catwheel says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:29am

gameplay was little redundant and kind of boring, however, whenever a monster appeared, it often ended in death. The audio is fantastic, that combined with the visuals and the little narrative in the beginning give a great atmospheric mood. I played this longer than most entries just for the feeling you get, even though the game play feels a bit aimless.

May 11, 2015 @ 1:32am

Nice game you have here! Love the concept and the execution of the theme.

IamAcoconut says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:52am

Nice game. I really like how the little pixels stars move as you walk, and this game has a really great mood. Sometimes I found my self just aimlessly walking around, I think it'd be nice to have some more direction. Really cool entry :)

LeoM says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:09am

Very nice ambiance.
Was a bit anoyed by the drum sound when walking, prefer the bells ;)

kirbytails7 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:27am

Very nice. Great use of music! I love the walking jingle.

S0lll0s says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:29am

5/5 for graphics, audio and mood, amazingly coherent presentation. Great atmosphere!

MegaBrutal says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:57am

I really liked it, albeit I could never win. I wonder if there is an ending at all. I especially liked the audio. 5/5 from me.

Omiya Games says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:02am

Well this is different. Lovely audio work, and a lot of death happening. Seeing the monster for the first time is pretty darn frightening. Would be nice if you had more control over where the fireflies flew, since they double as breadcrumbs reminding the player the path that they took. Still, nice experimental game you've got there.

yuigoto says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:20am

Nice work with this game! The work done with graphics (nice use of a, somehow, "limited" color palette) is awesome!

Also loved the ambiance, sound fx and everything you did with the in-game audio! That's lovely!

Nice take on the theme too! It totally remided me of some games I'd play on my GameBoy or my GameGear when I was a child! :3

PushmePullyu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:01am

Good concept! The sounds kinda blends together sometimes though.

GhostBomb says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:14am

Weird, interesting little game. I enjoyed it even though I didn't understand it. The audio is very atmospheric.

wg_phancock says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:41am

Really liked how the walking sounds blended with the other music. That's hard to pull off but it worked very well.

My first encounter with a monster actually made me jump, so quality work there!

I do wish there were a checkpoint system or a life system or something, though. Having to start over every time is a bit of a drag.

Larzan says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:13am

Brilliant idea.
But i didn't konw i could DIE. :( When i first saw the two green points it worked like a wisp o' willow, hehe.
Just beautiful this game, well done, audio, video, gfx, theme all +1!

Ivan Volkov says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:12am

Nice music and atmosphere!
Although gameplay is pretty unclear
So I met the monster two times and tried to run away - I didn't make it, second time I shoot a firefly to it and it did nothing, he only become angry :(
But anyway I'm giving you 5/5 just because it's a very beautiful game!

Multiplexor says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:17am

The good:
- I like a lot how the character looks
- The firefly mechanic is nice
- The mood is very polished
The not that good (imo):
- Sometimes when i shot the firefly to the enemies it bounced randomly and didn't actually hit them.

Other than that, i think it's a very good game, one could even say Amazeing! :P

duck says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Nice! Love the sound, and the firefly idea. Would be good to have some sort of clue as to whether you're going the right way or not, maybe be able to run a bit faster than the monsters, there's a lot of re-exploring to do if you suddenly die. But anyway, really cool game!

drludos says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Nice retro-feeling entry. I love the music and graphics. The gameplay is a bit weird at first, but then it gets interesting to explore this giant star-filled maze! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]