Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Super Bye Bye Bot

by GenericTeamName - Jam Entry

Keaffor the Scientist invented autonomous mobile chat bots, but there's a problem... They started annoying people TO DEATH!!! Now he must race back to his lab to deactivate the server and stop the carnage! It is rumored that the master server is powered by Cleverbot.

We wanted to integrate with www.cleverbot.com to use conversation as the unconventional weapon. It was probably a bit of an over reach and it pretty disastrous to tie into so the graphics for the menu and game over screen and sound effects took a bit of a hit. We even got IP blocked by cleverbot trying to generate the conversations between two robots (kite two of them together to see an example of this). That being said we are happy with how it turned out and we'll have to manage scope better the next time around. I hope you like it!!!

All audio and art assets were custom made.

REMEMBER CLEVERBOT HAS MEMORY OF THE LAST FEW MESSAGES YOU SENT HIM SO WHILE SIMPLY SAYING BYE MAY WORK, A CONVERSATION THAT LEADS TO A NATURAL STOPPING POINT MAY BE THE BEST STRATEGY!!! If all else fails it is possible to complete the entire level without talking to a single cleverbot.

*Interactions with Cleverbot not yet rated*

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#44Innovation(Jam)4.03
#132Humor(Jam)3.67
#257Theme(Jam)3.72
#346Overall(Jam)3.41
#420Audio(Jam)2.97
#520Mood(Jam)3.05
#546Graphics(Jam)3.23
#706Fun(Jam)2.77

Comments

Liam :D says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Okay, so I was going to say how I like the floating instruction text and such touches, but this is actually a really clever idea. With unity's new ui system you can anchor things to different sides, which you should do for the "fighting" screen. On my laptop's resolution I just saw "Get cleverbot to s". The text should be anchored to the right side of the screen. Otherwise very innovative.

peecestudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Nice game loved it but the robots where glitchy. The text went off the screen. Was very well designed.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:50am

Hey! You did a great job there! Keep it up!

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:51am

awesome concept. frustrating execution.

richiebranson says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:52am

nice concept, enjoyed the turn-based text battle system. Only recommendation I'd have is to anchor the GUI elements so they adjust based on resolution. Other than that, good work!

TravisRoot1 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:55am

Not a huge fan of this one, to be honest. The controls were sluggish and sloppy, the audio and graphics were uninspired, and the dialogue-combat thing, while a very interesting concept, involved no strategy whatsoever. Sorry fellas, just being honest.

RoryD says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:56am

Interesting, but at the robots really supposed to be lightning-quick? At the point where you bring one close to the other, there was absolutely no chance of my doing that since the robots move at least 10x as quickly as me.

I think the idea shows some potential, but it's hard to really experience it right now.

doitle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:56am

This is a really clever idea integrating cleverbot into the game. It's very difficult though and variable. The first robot I ran into I just said "Goodbye" to. And it said "Bye" and it was done. The second one I died to trying everything on Earth to get it to go "Bye".

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:25am

Brilliant idea. The concept was absolutely brilliant. But I'm sorry, it was the most frustrating game ever. Turn-based battle games always have an element of strategy to them. After losing a battle, the player should think "oh, if only I'd done this instead of that, I would've won!". But in this game, there was too much randomness. The only really good move you have is to say "goodbye" or "bye" or something to that effect, but the result of that only move you have is too random to strategize around! Combine this with some parsing, like "get Cleverbot to say a sentence with a colour" or "get Cleverbot to say something mean", and you'd have a much fairer, and more exciting, game.

roving-stone says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:47am

Very clever idea! The talking battles really surprised me. Music is generic but calming as you are running through those grassy fields haha. The painted background is really nice. I love the rapid-fire conversations the robots have when you bring them together before they blow up. Great job!

I agree with TeslaCoil's comments on the battle system.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:46am

We knew that we were losing all control of the battle scene when we chose to tie into cleverbot, but that's the fun in it (for us anyways, hahaha). The cleverbots have been "annoying people to death" so I guess it's working? lol. Thanks for commenting everyone, sorry for the frustration! :P

graebor says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:48am

The idea of integrating cleverbot is a pretty hilarious concept. Perfect for a jam game where you just want to try out something weird :)

Lynx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:52am

I like the concept a lot, would love to see this expanded with trying to get celverbot to say other phrases than just bye... also very inventive concept! Might want to talk to the cleverbot people to gain permission to constantly access their servers... that will get you blacklisted as a hacker globally so fast!

Shimone says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Really nice idea! I really liked the cleverbot idea, but it was very hard to make it say bye (at least for me). I didn't like the character design very much, but the background drawing is very good. I wished you used the same art style character design.

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:41pm

adding cleverbot was hilarious! But got a little old after a while. Changing up the word you need it to say would be nice. Otherwise pretty light on visuals. A jump animation is needed!

gelisam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:49pm

I click in the textbox, but what I type doesn't appear and my character always says nothing. Unplayable for me.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:31am

What a clever idea, I really enjoyed it. Good job!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:52am

I love how annoying this game is. I only ever managed to beat one robot, but I laughed the whole time I was dying.

(John McBryan)

crazya02 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:50am

Awesome idea, but completing a "battle" can be really finicky at times.

May 8, 2015 @ 4:18am

I'm apparently not clever enough to trick him into saying bye as opposed to a variation like "see you soon". some examples would definitely help (although I'll note that I haven't googled it). Interesting idea though.

Xanderzoo says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:54am

It would be a great game, but the robots don't really respond to me correctly. I gave it high marks in everything but graphics and fun.

uberscientist says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:54am

awesome, it was fun, but not fun enough to beat it, gets sort of frustrating without save points after the 2nd run through

myachin says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 5:19am

awesome animations and hero model

dieblume86 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 7:36am

Nice idea^^

alhvi says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 7:29am

I made it :P before the huge robot got me. Hehe. This was really interesting. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]