Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ex-Sword-Stential Crisis

by Team Ex-Sword-Stential - Jam Entry

Presenting a game by Team Ex-Sword-Stential(AKA, the Ludum DaVengers):

"Ex-Sword-Stential Crisis"

Rusty is a sword. An ENCHANTED sword.

Rusty also has feelings -- an unfortunate side-effect of awakening as a sentient being.

After a dangerous brush with actual adventuring -- and the realization that he can't stand the sight of blood -- Rusty ultimately decided to lay himself down and go into business doing the next best thing: Professional Landscaping.

THE KING has asked you, Rusty (CEO of "Rusty's 'Cutting it Close' Landscaping Co. Ltd. Inc."), to personally cut his fantastic lawn – and to make sure to avoid his precious, award-winning herd of goats and sheep that wander about the lush grass. He's agreed to allow you to keep whatever you find, to help pay for upgrades to help your progress. THE KING has warned you not to hurt the animals, however -- else lose whatever riches you find hiding there.

... Or you'll go insane from too many unfortunate accidents.

Whatever comes first!

~~~~~~

SOUNDTRACK NOW AVAILABLE FOR DOWNLOAD: https://soundcloud.com/pxldj/sets/adventures-of-rusty-soundtrack-ludumdare-32

Get the "Ex-Sword-Stential Crisis" Soundtrack by Audio Artist Thiago Adamo (PxlDJ) for FREE at SoundCloud!

~~~~~~

Game Design: Daniel Snd & Taunia Sabanski
Programming: Daniel Snd
Visuals: Taunia Sabanski & Rachel Rios
Audio & SFX: Thiago Adamo

~~~~~~

NOTES:

- If you experience any lag-related issues you can press "Y" to turn off post-processing effects to see if that helps.

- Joysticks are supported. :) A to jump, Left Movement Stick to Move, Right Movement Stick to rotate camera, Start to Pause.

~~~~~~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#46Graphics(Jam)4.47
#60Humor(Jam)3.91
#64Audio(Jam)3.92
#75Innovation(Jam)3.89
#105Overall(Jam)3.81
#114Mood(Jam)3.73
#139Theme(Jam)3.89
#149Fun(Jam)3.63

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:21am

Definitely innovative! I can't say I've ever played a game about being a sword rolling around in a field chopping grass before.. It was fun but tricky to maneuver. Maybe a little too tricky.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:26am

Nicely done. Clean, functional and fun.

ionbattle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:45am

The controls were kind of comically bad, and none of the powerups seemed to power me up except for magnetism which only enabled me to get more useless powerups. That song is stuck in my head now though.

Murchurl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:49am

Very innovative! Art style is quite stunning and audio is great! Gameplay is quite fun, at first i thought the sword was just going to go absolutely crazy chopping everything in its sight. I soon realised it was actually quite soothing.

Overall really polished! could have yourself a mobile game in development!

Moraleidahgo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:56am

Awesome. Quite hard, but awesome.

manekineko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:09am

challenging, replayable and fun. Catchy music. I find hilarious the bloody-touch with the sheep

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18am

Kind of hard to rotate the camera while moving, I think using mouse to set the camera direction would be awesome (probably?). And for some reason I cannot jump and open the shop

woodenrabbit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:30am

:D Splendid!

VictorL says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:35am

Cool and professional as usual!

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:46am

Great visuals and nicely polished. A little hard to control though.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:35am

This is my favourite thing I've played so far! Looks amazing, cool music and soooo fun to play. Why did you make me kill the cute animals though :(

I'm joking. I thoroughly enjoyed slaughtering the silly beasts.

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:42pm

That was really fun! Great graphics, presentation and incredibly funny and entertaining. This is great! Well done!

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Hilarious game. Great job!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:41am

Excellent stuff, reminds me of the fun grass cutting in the Legend of Zelda games.

asobi tech says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:21am

Oh and being able to behead beasties was a really nice touch :D

Zarkith says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Best entry I've played so far! Aside from trying to climb hills with almost no momentum, I loved every minute of it. :D
I didn't see much point to jumping though, especially since all of the animals seemed to corral themselves in the starting area. Not that that stopped me from jumping around everywhere or anything. :P

Zak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Nicely done! A bit hard to understand where you're going, but the upgrades make it fun. Good job !

CowShark says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Got a coin stuck to me that I couldn't collect, which stopped me from moving somehow. Otherwise, seems pretty neat.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:44pm

The sword has surprisingly little friction. The
graphics and audio are quite good. Well done.

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Didn't rate the game as it didn't start, I couldn't get past the "enter your name" screen + the unity player crashed once or twice.

kaa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Great game! Very beautiful and fun.

Synert says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Love the idea and the graphics, a little hard to maneuver at times though... then again, turning corners as a rolling sword was never going to be easy.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:55pm

So damn funny and smart.

Andrea says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:59pm

I always wanted to be a sword! Seriously though, great game, great fun, nothing bad to say about it, just perfect.
I'll try to beat the highscore soon!

rzfmzn says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:00pm

hahahahh loved it :)
Could make coins and stuff auto-collect to make the game easier a bit :P
poor goats, killed a couple :P

HunterAugust says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:29pm

This was awesome, loved everything about it :)

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Great work! There's not much to complain about here, except maybe that movement was a little too sluggish to start.

plams says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Gorgeous art! And it made me feel guilty for killing so many goats :)

Mase says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:20am

It might be nice if the upgrades changed the sword visually and physically.

The character is appealingly bizarre, but lawn trimming is monotonous after a while.

Bandersnatch says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:59am

It was really tricky to maneuver, I know that was on purpose, but early on it was very, very frustrating.

Everything else about the game was excellent!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:12am

Very good game as usual. Found it more fun to kill goats than to actually cut the grass I was supposed to cut. Didn't see any real lose condition, however.

Karai17 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:55am

Terrific game, awesome presentation! I liked the unconventional use of a conventional weapon take, too!

My only real complaints would be that the controls seemed unreliable, and that magnetism was not fast enough/reliable enough to gather coins.

Awesome job!

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:36am

This game cheered me up after getting salty with another one. Good job!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:11am

Very polished and fun, what else to say, good job!

Dickie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:22am

bummer first game I see with controller support and I'm at work without it. still lovely concept, the physics were suitably derpy and the aesthetic was really nice, reminded me of spyro era games

definitely very silly, enjoyed it.

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Great graphics, nice idea, but the physics could do with being less annoying (although I realise that silly physics is the point, I think it's a little over the top). Not at all a fan of the 'zany' music though.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:51pm

A wonderfull and complete adventure. Take my money.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:26am

Haha, I'm feeling bad for killing the sheeps :p Nice game you have here ;)

Lynx says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:28am

You guys really created the super Ludum Dare Avengers this time! There's nothing I can say that would be anything but gushing praise. Lest I wallow until the life leaves my last breathe beyond the lips and into the cold depression as a sword that so lives with guilt of murdering the herbivores amongst the fields, I shall say this and this alone, Good show all! Bravo!

Infernobomb says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:29am

Interesting Concept :p Looks really good, and fun to play

stray says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:42am

You are an Artist and your game is an art. Really cool. Goodjob. Fantastic

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:51am

Yes! It's an unconventional weapon. I like the aesthetic, but the mechanic seems to me really awkward when the game starts. I needed really quickly some features so as to improve my skill. However it's one of the best entries for this Ludum Dare session 32. Thank you ++

tummyache says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:48am

Moving around can be a little frustrating, but this game is gold. When I hit a goat and got the sad music, I stopped like "oh man, if you hit the animals your game is over?" then the happy music started playing again. That was a special moment I had and I'll never forget it.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:57am

Neat game with cool graphics. Liked how you have to manage the sword inertia in order to move efficiently. Didn't used the jump that much though. Good job!

Xinelu says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:41am

OK, let's give a full analisys of this game!

Graphic -> Oh man, is beatiful is the right graphic for the right theme! 5/5

Innovation -> I see a innovation here, but not that much! I guess the game need more gameplay! Some skilss perhaps! 3/5

Theme -> 5/5 No doubt, it makes me remember all the trash loots of my old rpg's

Audio -> Honestly? The music didn't match with the game, and after some time is kinda of annoying 2/5

Humor -> 5/5, man this game is fun!

Mood -> Maybe was the music or the controls, but i didn't see too much mood here. 2/5

Fun -> Already say it 5/5!

Overall -> Im giving you 5/5, this game deserve a proper full game, =) so start to work on it so i can buy it later on Steam!


Good Job!

Jaloko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:31am

Cool graphics, interesting unique gameplay with a good use of the theme. Nice job!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:33am

Rolling a sword around has got to be the least efficient way of cutting your lawn. =)

The actual physics of the sword made the controls really unresponsive. Even with all the speed upgrades, I really wanted the sword to change directions faster.

The sound effects and the visuals were great. The world looked cohesive and the visual effects were nice. The world looks great, with its large area and varied terrain.

Killing animals has a nice effect, but it took me a long time to realize it also cost you cash every time you collide with an animal.

Overall, cool idea and pretty polished execution. Just need to tighten those controls up a little.

Carduus says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:53am

Gahaha, silly xD
I know what is to be a masterless forgotten sword now!
i love the music and the mood too!
Nice shader/colors.
Controls are hard, but i guess it's the twist of your game, and it's nicely tied to the theme.
Would be perfect if you bind Z & Q keys for f*****g european keyboards :p
Nonetheless, i enjoyed this entry.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:50am

I hate the controls, and i'm not sure the 3d adds anything to experience other than horrible camera angles. Don't think jump added a lot either. But its got nice design, and its a fun little game. Like the power-ups and money system.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:49pm

I'll have to remember to try this next time the back garden needs mowing!
Cute game though, very polished, and quite amusing. Good stuff!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:24pm

This is really well polished entry. Sometimes I think that there are too many mountain goats clustered together in one area. But its hard to find flaws in this really. Good luck!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Loved the funny sounding music, and nice graphics! Very innovative, and fun game overall. I had a good time, well done! :D

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Despite being annoyingly difficult to control (though, it is a rolling sword, so I'm not sure what I expected :P ), this was a lot of fun! Well done!

All those poor goats and sheep though :(

pi_pi3 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:45pm

I wish you could kill animals...

Taldius says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:41am

Really fun game, I love the art style between cute and bloody. The control are pretty hard, but I guess that the point of the game.
Anyway, amazing job!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:28am

This game brought out manic urges that I was not able to satisfy by playing this game.

I have learnt a lot about myself playing this game and realising my mounting urge to destroy.

Perhaps man itself is an inherent agent of destruction?

Would recommend.

generic_ghost says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:42am

I loved the crazy music and slick graphics! I had a lot of fun cutting grass even though I found the controls confusing. I think that was somewhat intentional though. Great job!

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:59am

I cracked up when I killed one of the animals XD tenoutaten!

ehtd says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:33am

Very cool game. I disliked the controls, but I guess it is part of the design to make it more challenging. Good job!

davidB says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:28am

Bookmarked to replay it later. (need zqsd support for azerty keyboard)

strega says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:26am

Awesome job! Really polished even has a leaderboard and upgrades. I really liked the fact that you could cut up the animals, wasn't expecting it when it happened!

I was stuck on the upgrade screen at first. I didn't realize you had to press esc or enter to continue, was expecting a close button since the upgrades were also buttons.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:32am

I've had quite a bit of fun playing this game, music was great, graphics were quite nice.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:46am

Great game. Probably the best one I've played! xD Very good job on this one! Rated 4-5 on everything

Jwatt says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:34am

I've never understood things like QWOP and its legacy. A game about awkward controls is no excuse for awkward controls, and intentional bad design is still bad design.

Like, I can't honestly say this was fun to play, even taking into account the humor aspect.

Clavus says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:20pm

Fun game! Controls are a bit wonky and the shop upgrades not too useful, but everything was quite straightforward. Even ended up on the #2 spot after my first game :)

Yword says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Very fun and interesting! I think it will be very cool if it can perform a spin attack. Well done!

KaiseanGames says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Controling a sword is a bit difficult but otherwise a great game.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Fun and humorous game, very solid work overall!

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:19am

I think i killed all the animals.

May 1, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Pssst - you are featured in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rmc4AHczjLo

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Hhahah, so funny! Nice graphics too.
Congrats =D

uvwar says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 9:29pm

I see how it is Taunia; I make a game with goats for last Ludum Dare and you go and steal them for this!! Very nice game though! Might be cool if the sword could 'swing' on its axis to pivot around or something like that, and make swiping motions of course.

joe40001 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:48am

Looks great, and is innovative and fun.

SteveSalmond says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 11:12am

Super interesting game - I would never have thought of that idea in a million years :) Very impressed with the polish level in all departments. Great work guys.

NightShadow0 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Haha love the tonal shift when you run over an animal. Fun idea! The gameplay is a little unwieldy, though, and i never found the need to jump. I feel it might also be a little too long, by the end i was finding myself just looking for lone patches of grass and it lost some appeal. Complaints aside it's a solid entry, nice work!
(also, 1st place on my first attempt </brag>)

jk5000 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:02am

Not much to complain about here. Well done.

May 7, 2015 @ 9:28am

@uvwar:

I saw my opportunity to take revenge and I took it. ;D

Zarkith says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 3:00am

Judging is over and I'm still on the top 10 highscores list! :D
My mission is complete. *blasts off into space until the next LD*

Jwatt says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 6:16am

I'll assume good faith in what you said and remove the warning. There were misunderstandings, but I don't want to carry this further.

Good luck with your future endeavours.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]