Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from the Prison Planet

by roving-stone - Jam Entry

Pilot an alien spaceship in to the heart of the prison planet to rescue your fellow humans, dodge and destroy prison security with your ship's thruster, and ESCAPE!

I didn't get everything that I wanted to in, but I am going to keep working on it. Apologies for the repetitive music and silly sound effects, there was just not enough time! Any feedback is much appreciated. Enjoy.



Edit:
Taking in to account all the feedback to improve future versions. Follow my progress on twitter: @rovingstone. Thanks for playing!



KNOWN ISSUES:
Once you escape the atmosphere gravity is set to zero. When you restart, I forgot to set gravity back to its original value. Piloting the cave in zero-g is really tough. I've fixed this on the web version, but if you are using any of the desktop versions I'd recommend closing and reopening the game after going to space.



Tools used:
Unity 5
Blender
Photoshop
cfxr
Ableton 9

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#216Audio(Jam)3.41
#231Mood(Jam)3.47
#361Graphics(Jam)3.59
#423Overall(Jam)3.33
#454Fun(Jam)3.15
#567Innovation(Jam)3.02
#820Humor(Jam)2.22
#853Theme(Jam)2.78

Comments

spreadtheflow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:47am

I find the spaceship really hard to handle, but beyond that I've found your game surprisingly relaxing and I've kept hitting the spacebar, saying "one last try" :-)

The mood is great, the music is just enough, there is a lonely feeling controlling this tiny spaceship.

I liked it and will definitely keep playing it.

Good Job!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:55am

I honestly couldn't find the prison, looped around a bit and probably flew past it a lot haha. Either way it seems solid enough.

seraphki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:57am

I am the worst savior ever.
Game looks nice though =3

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:59am

Really nice little game, though it took me a second to find the prison. Maybe putting it to the right of the starting area would make it easier to find, as most gamers think of going right first :P

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:07am

It's hard to control the ship, and the tele-guided missiles became too difficult to reach the destination.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:08am

This game is beautiful! My favorite part has to be that awesome fire particle effect. Really really nice :)

Feedback: I was unable to beat the game :( I think you need to make the spaceship much easier to control. I would suggest making the turning velocity based rather than acceleration based (i.e. when I press left I rotate left immediately (and vice versa) and when I don't press anything I don't turn). I would also increase the turning speed a little for better control. You should also increase the health of the hull by a lot, and/or make health regenerate. Lastly, if you could add checkpoints that would be great. I got really dispirited when I made it very far and died :(

OH, one last thing :) Change the resolution on the standalone build in project settings -> editor, switch off "use native resolution" and put in the value 9999x9999 instead. Then re-build the web player. It will make it so that when you go full screen (via right-click) it will change the resolution to the native resolution and not just blow up/pixelate the normal small resolution.

roving-stone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:48am

@Frenchie Thank you! I will definitely try your suggestion out. I was just going for an all physics route and didn't even think of having a constant turn velocity. It's tough to gauge; when you play and develop your own game for nearly 48 hours straight you get pretty good at it :P

And thank you for the resolution tip. Very useful!

DaniDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Wow, that was awesome. I felt so relaxed playing this. Awesome job

MaesK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Great! The ship is hard to handle at the beginning, but with a little time it gets easier, and its movement feels pretty well designed. Really nice music, good work!

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:33pm

First I was like WTF where's the wepaon?
Then I just escaped the atmosphere right away.
But then I got it... the thruster. And rescue prisoners. And the game got a lot more enjoyable. Good one. :-)

Barnabbas says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:41pm

the spaceship was very hard to handle for me and at the start of the game I was quite confused about where to go to.
But the game looks really nice and it is interesting to use a different kind of control system than most other games.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:10am

I really enjoyed the atmosphere here. Given that the ship is hard to control and can die quickly from hitting walls, I felt the need to move very slowly, which made it a bit tedious when I died and had to restart. I honestly preferred just easing around the sky and slowly leaving the atmosphere. Sorry, prisoners!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:47am

Yep, I'm also confused with controls. Or, what is more correct, uncontrol rotating of rocket. Probably there are some inertia. But it very unconvinient to play.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:00am

The ship was hard to control. It was fusterating to get the ship to stay still.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:30pm

The graphics are really simple and nice, really like the look of it. The way the craft controls is, in my opinion, fantastic. It reminds me a little bit of Lander, which is a game I love. Took a while to work out where I was supposed to go though

roving-stone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:44pm

@tripleVisionGames thank you! That is exactly what I was going for :D

Thank you everyone who took the time to play and leave feedback. I'm working on ways to make it more forgiving in future versions. Will definitely increase health and add checkpoints. I'm playing around with alternate control schemes as well.

2Bit says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:23am

I really liked the mechanics of the ship even though it was quite hard to handle. The mood was great too.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:42am

Really like the art sytle and particle effects!Good job!

stvr says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:57am

A tough-as-nails Solar Jetman? Too tough for me, but really nice!

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:59am

lol i've crashed my spaceship a thousand times before i can make it the first time. It's really hard to handle it. I really liked the art. Nice game!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:30pm

I think this is my favorite game that I've played so far. It was definitely really challenging, but that was part of what made it so fun.

Justin Mullin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:43am

The particle effects were great, and the lighting was phenomenal. The first time I played I encountered the gravity bug (hadn't read your description close enough). It's still a very difficult game, but much more playable with gravity on. Nice work!

PlasmaErnst says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Oh wow! This was fun to play (but also hard).
The music helped to create a sweet, unearthy atmosphere. Nice!

gelisam says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:56pm

The music, sound effects and art create the perfect dreamy space mood for this game. Love the particles and lighting effects in the tunnel. Also liked the physics of flying the capsule that has a pulsed engine. Couldn't get past the first turret after a few tries.

(rating and comment by my teammate François Mayrand)

ondrej.paska says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Great fun, little bit frustrating after a while. The hull mechanic is good, let some minor fender-benders slide.

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:20am

Game is Waaay to hard, that being said, I loved it. I never did save anyone though ;)

puckers says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:49am

Beautiful. I loved the feeling of exploration even though it was so linear - casting the little fireballs into the void to light your path is really satisfying. Now you just need to add more story hehe many thanks

rishal says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Quite a well polished game. I couldn't find the prison though. A radar might be a nice addition. Well done!

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 7:50am

I liked the music and the atmosphere a lot. As some have mentioned, I think it was a little too difficult to get started. I assume most people wind up going into space on their first run - I only noticed your instructions about the zero-g bug after I closed the game.

I replayed and started heading down into the cave, but I was still just getting blown up. I found the ship pretty hard to navigate even with proper gravity. I feel like I'm missing a lot of cool stuff, but the gameplay I have to pass through to get there is a little too challenging so early on.

It FEELS like I'd love it, if I could progress, but right now I can't. So my biggest suggestion is tighten up the controls and make them a little more reactive for the player.

Still a cool idea and I want to see more of it. Thanks for sharing and congrats on meeting the deadline!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]