Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

AllergicRun

by filipe.silva - Jam Entry

Allergic Run, it is a platform game where the character uses as a weapon the allergies of the enemies. The projectiles available are Peanuts, shrimp, cat hair and milk. The game has as a characteristic to individual competition where takes the player to improve his own survival time.

As first contact with Unity and the Ludum Dare for a large part of the group, a game in 72 hours was above all a possibility of learning and improvement.
Thank you

-----How to play-----
Each has a different zombie allergy. Whites are allergic to peanuts, green are allergic to animal hair, red is allergic to shrimp and blue are allergic to milk. To launch the missiles must use the keys Q, W, E and R. Use SPACE to jump. When the player dies, just click on the screen to display the menu GameOver.

***** Attention ******
The game is best seen in windowed mode. For this simply check the "Windowed" box in the previous setup screen to start the game.

Team:
-Alexandre Morales
-Andressa Cruz Nepomuceno
-Filipe Freitas da Silva
-Giovanni Migon
-Rodrigo Nogueira Wuerdig

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#391Theme(Jam)3.53
#457Audio(Jam)2.91
#728Graphics(Jam)2.85
#818Overall(Jam)2.85
#819Fun(Jam)2.61
#874Innovation(Jam)2.39
#880Humor(Jam)2.03
#919Mood(Jam)2.34

Comments

Trafulgoth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:49pm

OVERALL: Enjoyable. I spent about 5~10 minutes playing. Memorizing which enemy corresponds to which button took a few tries. Eventually, I discovered that you can simply jump over enemies if you want. (3 stars).

INNOVATION: It seems like a fairly normal infinite runner. Matching attack types to enemy types was interesting though. (2 stars).

FUN: I enjoyed the mechanic challenge of jumping over enemies and the mental challenge of associating a particular key to a particular color of enemy. The time-trial aspect also adds to the replayability and thus the fun. (3 stars).

THEME: Allergies are a really interesting weapon, and very rarely used. (5 stars).

GRAPHICS: Simply yet serviceable. Nothing to write home about, but they didn't get in the way either and also did a good job of highlighting the important game elements through the use of contrast. (3 stars).

AUDIO: I really enjoyed the music, but there weren't any sound effects! (3 stars).

HUMOR: It does not seem that this game was made with humor in mind, which is fine. (1 star).

Jellyhard says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Nice game. I'm digging the sprite art background with the parallax effect.
And just out of curiosity: are you guys from Brazil by any chance?

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Not a bad running game. My only real feedback would be to adjust the paralaxing of the background to work with the same speed as the enemies; currently it looks like you're running really fast with the buildings behind you moving quickly, but the enemies you're trying to avoid move slower than the background, which makes it feel as if they are running "with" the player rather than "against the player" - but their walking animation looks as though they run towards the player.

Aside from that, great work!

Prowler says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Quite a good game! Did you do the sprites on your own? Using allergies as a weapon is definitely worth 5 points. Good job!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Good, but a little too repetitive. Also the gameplay it's not intuitive, a HUD with the color and the corresponding letters would help a lot

filipe.silva says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:20pm

A new version of the game is being worked and so this version is ready we will post.

jcsirron says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:35pm

I think this game has potential, but the jittery background (possibly my computer) and the blurry background and characters made it a little tricky to recognize the which allergy to use. Overall, I liked the game, though.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:35pm

O.2
I.2
F.1
T.2
G.3
A.3
H.0
M.1
Above ratings by a 6yr old boy

elitegoliath says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Well done man! This game was really fun, I enjoyed your unconventional weapon haha, very creative, especially for a Jam entry. Bravo!

nihilaleph says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 1:42am

I liked the art and the music! I just think there could be a little more of a gameplay, either other possible actions or the game gets difficult through time, it just seemed repetitive... but other than that great work!

Saker Games says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:28am

Yeah. Run forest! RUN! Nice work.

May 4, 2015 @ 10:00am

Lazarus-omin (from Creative Sectors):
A little to repetitive for my taste, but the game works just fine. With a little practice you can easily determine which projectiles needed to be thrown at enemies. Weapon-wise, the unconventionality is present. I've noticed a little something: if you die, you can still shoot, laying down. Maybe that's worth a fix. :)

Congratulations for submitting the game, keep up the good work!

Exeneva says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:49am

Overall, not a bad entry, but it seems lacking in genre innovation.

volkoivan says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:00am

Good, but very easy
Did 125 seconds at the second run. At the second because at the first one I don't get that you can shoot allergies at zombies
The music is nice, but that's totally not yours :) So I don't know why you decided to compete in audio section.
Also, why is everything so blurry? Nice idea, but you really need to make a picture a bit more sharp

CiderPunk says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:52pm

there's a jump button??!? bit simple but it looked and sounded nice.
also, what's with people pasting their scores? I hope I don't get rated by that 6y/o, harsh!!

May 5, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Haha, cool game! Little difficult to proper use the right projectiles. The audio is nice too! But it's strange you running fast and zombies coming at the same velocity of the buildings.

Good work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]