Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Greenie the Geenie

by nameoftheuser - Jam Entry

play as greenie as you destroy the evil red plauge and take back the crystals.
A and D to move left and right, W and SPACE to jump, LEFT CLICK to shoot, RIGHT CLICK to place blocks, MIDDLE CLICK to remove blocks.
Get to the gem at the end of each stage.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#801Fun(Jam)2.63
#890Innovation(Jam)2.37
#957Mood(Jam)2.20
#968Overall(Jam)2.61

Comments

nameoftheuser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:15am

Sorry for the rushed boss battle, made it in the last 10 minutes!

Trafulgoth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:30pm

OVERALL: I played for about 10 minutes. I never figured out how to get to that boss you mentioned; I gave up and just built myself a little demon-proof fort out of blocks and spam fired on them as they tried to funnel in. I like the audio feedback for things, even if the effects themselves are a bit simple. If you add visual feedback in your future games, I think that will go a long way. In my humble opinion, player feedback is the most important feature to make a game 'pop'. (3 stars).

INNOVATION: I like that this is a platformer that involved you creating your own platforms to jump on. I don't play many platformers day to day, so maybe that is really common in the genre, but I haven't seen it before. (3 stars).

FUN: I had the most fun with the block mechanics. I think that moving platforms yourself and being able to create cover/shelter on the fly was quite fun. It would have been even better if there was more variety, though. (4 stars).

MOOD: I don't really think this game had a 'mood' to speak of. (N/A rating).

murilo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:08am

Pretty fun especially when you start making your own blocks. But it gets old fast and too easy depending on the cover you make. But nice overall!

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:18pm

Cool mechanics. I found a big planet and a platform right next to it but never found this gem to get to the next stage :(

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:49am

Interesting concept, but quickly got repetitive feeling.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Fun game, very functional

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:55am

I like the mechanic. Simple but fun!

Oborux says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Nice idea with the blocks, good job!

AlphaCow says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:36pm

Fun but a bit easy and repetitive

peecestudios says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 12:25am

Pro:
+ You have confirmation when you hit something // Not all games in LD do this!!
+ Solid game play
+ Decent graphics
+ Genuinely Fun
Con:
- You have to install it // This is ludum dare, i dont want to install stuff.
- If you build up high just for fun and you fall, it's reallly annoying

Overall: 4 stars

sorlok says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Overall really cool. Fun to play, with a few glitches (stuck on corners). Nice mechanic; very creative.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]