Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

U.C.O.N.

by fleegle2000 - Compo Entry

Nanogoo is spreading, and threatens to overrun the entire planet if we can't find a way to stop it. Build strange and wonderful weapons to counter it, but be careful! Not all of the parts will harm the Nanagoo, and some may even help it spread.

Note for Linux users - I've heard some reports that double-clicking doesn't work properly on Debian unless you run it in wine.

Instructions:

Double-click on a part on the left to add it to the highlighted slot at the bottom of the screen. Click on the map to launch it at part of the blob. Adding more parts makes it harder for the Nanogoo to adapt to your attacks, but shooting a single part at the blob will reveal its effectiveness rating (number at the bottom of the icon).


Controls:

Double-click to add parts
Click parts or slots in the workbench to select them.
Click on the cancel buttons below the slots to clear them.
Click on the map to launch a payload at the specified location.

Mousewheel, up/down arrows: scroll through the toolbar.

1,2,3: select corresponding workbench slot

P or spacebar: Pause game

R: Reset game

Q: exit game (must be done from pause menu or main menu)

F1: Help menu

F2: show grid overlay

F3: super secret debug/cheat mode (lets you kill the nanogoo with any weapon, no resistance). Intended for testing/evaluation purposes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#305Theme3.65
#420Innovation3.29
#565Audio2.67
#656Mood2.81
#795Humor2.25
#834Graphics2.57
#837Overall2.86
#863Fun2.66

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:55pm

It is a good concept and game, it could be more obvius if the combo is efective however.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Thanks! Yeah I didn't have enough time to really flesh that part out.

DKoding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47pm

It was great after I understood it. The weapon icons could be better I guess. Loved the goo though. The help was a life saver. A little unintuitive controls.

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:48pm

The game lagged a lot on my Win 7, I have quite slow computer, but it manages most of the games... This one had about 2 FPS and slowed down the whole computer, considering that it doesn't really have any complicated graphics... Therefore I don't rate, it's better for you :D

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23pm

@Marek - thank you for bringing that to my attention. The blob graphics rely heavily on the GPU as they are almost entirely shader-based. That could have been the issue. I have an older machine and my graphics card is not the greatest but I didn't have any issues, and I also use Win7, so I'm not really sure why it was lagging so much for you. Thanks for trying anyways!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

@DKoding - thanks for the feedback. Yes, I was a little concerned that people might have trouble with the controls, which is why I put the "F1 for help" prominently on screen - definitely something I'll be working on making a bit clearer in the post-compo version. Thanks for playing!

Dohxis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:34pm

Poor mac :D

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44pm

F3, muhahahaahaha! Good work, and I can tell with more time you would have been able to really polish it. Nice work!

SwizzMan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:46pm

I didn't really understand how to play this game :/ I guess clearer instructions could help, otherwise, it looks pretty cool and seems to be a cool idea!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

@SwizzMan: thanks for the feedback - yes, I was a bit concerned people might have issues figuring out what to do. I will be sure to make the controls more intuitive and make the instructions clearer for the post-compo version.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:51pm

@Dohxis: My apologies, I don't have a Mac handy. I will try to make a Mac version available soon.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:08pm

I just added a port for the Mac :)

iapc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:46am

eh, was a fairly straight forward game, although i got the feeling that the effectiveness of the weapons drops off a bit too fast, since by the time i had found out all the most effective ones (and thus the best combo) the goo was beyond controling.

xbcw says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:53am

This was fun. Double-clicking to load a new combo did not work for me on Debian using Love 0.9.1-3. Worked in wine though.

uvwar says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:42am

No idea what was happening. I just had a wall of green that seemed to sit there and none of the weapons seemed to effect anything. Wasn't sure if it was broken or what.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:04am

@xbcw: Hmm, I'll have to look into that - I don't have a Linux box set up so unfortunately I can't test it. I'm glad you were able to get it working in wine, though. Thanks for playing!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:20am

@iapc: yeah, there are definitely some balance issues I still need to work out. I simply ran out of time.

@uvwar: Yeah, if I'd had more time I would have made it a bit clearer what you're supposed to do and added more feedback. Some of the weapons have no effect. To figure out how effective a weapon is, you have to fire a single part at the blob to get its effectiveness rating. I apologize for not making that clearer.

jhell says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:34am

Interesting idea, definitely a nice take on the theme. It was hard to understand why some goo resisted some weapons and the other no, maybe a color variation on the mutated goo could be nice, I'm not sure... anyways, cool concept :)

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:29pm

@jhell: you probably encountered the bug where the goo sometimes doesn't disappear from the screen even though it is gone. The bug is due to the way the shader code works - I tried to squash it but ran out of time. It will be my priority when working on the post-compo version.

Thanks for the feedback!

Timm638 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24pm

I doesn't show how effective something is and you can't see even roughly where the goo is.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:35pm

@Timm638: You're right, it doesn't show the overall effectiveness of the weapon, although you can find out the effectiveness of each part by shooting a single part at the blob, and from that determine approximately how effective the weapon is. I was going to add an overall effectiveness rating but ran out of time. The post-compo version will include that information. As for not seeing where the goo is, there is a bug where sometimes goo doesn't disappear. Once again, I will fix that for the post-compo version.

Thanks for playing!

ElectroYak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:47pm

It was good once I figure it out. I didn't realise I had to attack the edges of the goo, but once I figure that out I got into the game.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Good take on the theme, but I think it needs a bit of balancing. I couldn't really tell the difference between the effects of the weapons. Nice idea though - it would be interesting to see where you take it.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:14pm

@badlydrawnrod: Thanks for the feedback - yes, there is definitely room for improvement on the balance side of things. Sometimes you get lucky and get a good weapon at the start and it's too easy, but if you have bad luck it can be nearly impossible to beat. So I'll be spending some time working on balance for the post-compo version.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Interesting, if a little frustrating to figure out the correct working combinations. After some time I decided instead to submit to the goo. I, for one, welcome our new Goo Overlords, and invite you to do the same. Hail Goo.

Yakka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Great concept, I liked the mood but I didn't understand how to make more efficient combos :(

MoogleSensei says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:43pm

My only gripe was not being sure whether I was being effective or not. Otherwise I really liked it!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:55pm

@Yakka: there are some balance issues I need to work out still. Basically the way it currently works is when parts are combined, the falloff of the effectiveness of each part reduces at a lower rate. The average effectiveness of the parts is what determines how much a weapon harms the blob. Usually, if the effectiveness is above 50 it pretty much wipes out a blob block.

@MoogleSensei: stay tuned for the post-compo version - I haven't released it yet but I have already improved the feedback immensely, plus solved some other major bugs.

Thanks for playing!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Nice entry! I didn't think it was hard to figure out with the instructions, I just would figure out the values of the weapons, then combine high-numbered ones until they went in the red and then switched them. Is there an end-game? I was overrun after I ran out of weapons haha, it would have been cool to see a "time lasted" or score or something. Other than that, loved the music and sound, controls were fine after getting used to them, and the graphics were nice! Great work!

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:15pm

@DrPrettyPatty: There is an end-game - unfortunately once the blob gets to a certain size it is really hard to push it back, so if you have the misfortune of getting bad weapons early on it can be very hard to regain control. This is definitely an area I intend to improve upon - there wasn't nearly enough time to get the balance where I wanted it.

I appreciate your feedback - thanks for playing!

Logicon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:36am

Very high burden of knowledge gets dumped on the player immediately.

Andynonomous says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Really cool concept! I could never quite get the goo below 8% coverage but I really like the glow of the goo and the way it grows is interesting.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:58pm

It takes some time to understand the mechanics, but after it is really cool!

calavera says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:51pm

cool style, it reminds me of old movies

Krunoslav says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:52pm

I won the game! It is fun but too short. Anyway, as a little game it is very well done. I try to imagine more posibilities but in a compo, it is not possible.
Nice music :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]