Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Unconventional Stick Swinging Simulator

by japtar - Jam Entry

Ever wanted to swing a stick unconventionally? Now you can!

Experience the true art of swinging your really-long stick. Work hard to make it longer!

Controls:
WASD or Arrow Keys to move
Space to jump
Move mouse to look around

Psst! I also made a Compo game:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=20557

== Change Log ==

v2: Reduced the likeliness of this game crashing by reducing it's buggy-ness. Basically changed the rigidbodies to be connected via spring joints instead of fixed joints.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#207Humor(Jam)3.48
#678Innovation(Jam)2.81
#696Fun(Jam)2.78
#795Mood(Jam)2.65
#815Theme(Jam)2.88
#957Overall(Jam)2.63
#2469Coolness0%

Comments

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:28pm

And yes, japtar and I are the same person.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:33pm

I get this message from the Itch.io page "The author of this game has uploaded an invalid file and the game is currently unavailable.", and was unable to move for some reason on the web build embedded here. Played the windows build anyways. Quite wacky physics. ;P

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:29pm

@Elemental Zeal Games Studios
My bad, I set the wrong file as the HTML5 zip. It should be fixed, now.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:46pm

@Elemental Zeal Games Studios
And unfixed: the WASD controls aren't working for some reason. Took out the web build for the time being.

dydx says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Funny! I enjoyed it.

Simon says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

This is crazy, and stupid. I love it :)

rd127p77 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:06pm

This is the best. Good stress reliever.

ajopart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:39am

Stress relief indeed. Nice music too..

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:47pm

PLEASE FOR THE LOVE OF EVERYTHING!!! STOP THESE STUPID SIMULATOR OF EVERYTHING GAMES. THEY ARE SHIT NAD WILL BE SHIT FOREVER. GROW UP AND MAKE NICE GAMES

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:08pm

@Dejvo
Like Super Driller Ultra? (Yes, japtar and I are the same person)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=20557

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:25pm

@omiya games. exactly like that. i have already rated it. that was fenomenal. but this is just shit. sorry. i have no idea how have you managed to make two games in one short time frame one shit one fenomenal.

chromebookbob says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Hahahahaha, great fun, but it's less of a weapon than a horrifying dream.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:09pm

@Dejvo
OK, just making sure. I appreciate the feedback, especially for the fact that you've played the game despite the not-very interesting screenshots. I know it's not everyone's cup of tea, so it's OK to not like the game. I'm not selling it, nor do I plan to in the future, so I doubt my contribution will impact the general gaming market.

In regards to the reason I made this:

Well, after the day I got my Compo project done, I still had 12 hours left to organize the Tech Valley Game Space's real-world Ludum Dare meeting (several teams were in for the Jam). Being bored, I looked back to my brainstorming notes, and chose a joke of a game, complete with a poorly hidden innuendo. I simply made this game as a fun challenge -- one where I was fully aware I wouldn't have the time to polish as well as Compo -- and so stuck with the idea that looked and played as intended even if it was broken.

I'm pretty proud with what I came up with. Sure, it's fundamentally a stupid fetch-quest game (my pet peeve), and the physics is absolutely broken, but I like it that way. I'm a huge fan of Katamari Damacy and absurdist humor in general, so this fits well with my general game design style of controllable chaos. As they say, you need to be good at something before you make a good bad game, and given the positive comments here, I think I achieved just that.

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:03am

I can imagine some people liking this, but it's certainly not my cup of tea.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I'm so happy with this game. I was able to use my ball of collected humanity as a launchpad and reach absurd heights, which I'm guessing is exactly what you intended.

Druid says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Ehhhh.... I think somebody put lsd in my tea because this can't be real :D

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:04pm

This is really funny. The only problem was that I didn't really get to see the huge mass of ragdoll people in front of me, because they either got stuck on geometry or lagged behind my camera. That said, this was utterly unique, refreshing, and hilarious. Nice work!

steboots says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:28pm

For all of the games made for this event, there were many that were challenging, or vividly creative, difficult, easy, boring... I haven't laughed as hard on any of them, as I have for this one. While it may not be a "game", it was completely immersive, and enjoyable. If someone can make a "game" like this, imagine what they can do when they try.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:33pm

@cgmorton
Uh...sure...it's intentional...I guess...

(It was unintentional, but I did know about it and was too lazy to fix it. It makes the fetch quest a lot easier, though, so it's a good bug in my book.)

defacid says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:10pm

This was silly - actually made me laugh once - but I kinda got everything I was going to get out of the joke after I picked up the third person. Interesting and weird.

It was kinda cool to use your PeopleBall to fly.

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:53am

Thank you for sharing this incredible sticky experience with us. There should be more simulator games like this. Well done, sir!

@Dejvo Simulators are the future. Deal with it!

:P

Skiddings says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 8:44pm

More of a rod than a stick. But what beautiful rod it is!

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:38pm

I think this game is too deep for me.

stoarch says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Good game. Music is beautiful. Has some problems with models - it's stretch too far and polygons look weird. Meshes submerge in textures.
But idea is fun. If ropes will be attached and models will be less laggy then it will good game (and move stick to right)

Dejvo says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 7:08pm

ok, sorry. I was a bit fast to judge. And i may have seem to have been a bit volent. but you yourself know this isn't a game. sure if you are bored do whatever you want but don't give it to the one of the biggest game jams in the world or don't try to sell it. that's just bad. i will now leave you with a video https://youtu.be/IqTgLDP3VsY

Xanjos says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Man those are some really silly physics. The general glitchiness of the game adds quite a lot of humour.

Forlorn79 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:15pm

This game is pure fun and laughs, with broken physics. I'd love to see more levels, more original characters that would reduce the game size and generic feeling. This experience could be stretched out into a longer game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]