Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hoard Hearder

by QuestionableQuality - Jam Entry

Unleash the Hoard!

Game Includes:
- Swarm behavior
- Glowing meat
- Lovable Zombies
- Bitchin' Helicopter (thank you asset store)
- SUV Blockade (thank you asset store)
- Buildings (thank you http://www.tysonibele.com/)
- rain sound effects (thank you aesqe(freesounds))
- A working game(mostly) (thank you Unity)
- 1 months damage to our body's (thanks Just Eat)

* Heads up gun functionality works, but art/sound isn't in. Imagine it makes a really loud noise.

For what it's worth we recommend the desktop version as it looks significantly better (look at screenshot). Cheers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#215Graphics(Jam)3.89
#358Mood(Jam)3.29
#511Innovation(Jam)3.10
#665Overall(Jam)3.05
#777Theme(Jam)2.95
#809Humor(Jam)2.24
#861Fun(Jam)2.55
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

Dickie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09pm

there's no way you can complete that! bloody zombies!

still looks really cool, is an interesting concept of trying to get through a zombie hear pacifist mode/in a society without guns readily available.

reminiscent of the original GTA, shame the gameplay's not a little more fleshed out

Liam :D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I feel strange rating games highly on innovation for doing something gta 2 did in '97, but I actually miss that formula. I would love a modern, open world, non-stupid, GTA2 style game.

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Looks cool and all, but camera following could use some work. The enemy AI as well. Glowing meat didn't seem to really do all that much to me and couldn't really figure out the gun. I like the idea of such a game, but it needs quite a bit of polishing still. Otherwise, great game! Going to give a good rating :)

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:55am

I really like the basis of this game. It has a really nice ambient, and I think it has potential. The graphics are amazing. It can get kind of boring though. I threw a bunch of meat at the zombies, and they just went away. I like how the camera blurs far away objects btw. It be nice if the map was larger, with more places for the zombies to get to you. I also wish the zombies made noise. But I think it's a really good start, and I hope you keep developing! I'd might even by a fully fleshed out version!

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Really enjoyed this one. enjoyed the graphics and how it was all laid out

lizard455 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Pretty neat, just with the meat was more useful!

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:51pm

Really cool idea. The controls weren't very well explained and it took me a couple of minutes to figure out to drag from the inventory to the world, not what I expected. I really liked the top down view, not seen very often these days. Definitely a great potential here, keep going with it!

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:20am

Nice visual style, but it kept resetting me back to the start :(

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:53am

Game does seem incomplete but I do like how the player can use the meat and torches to distract the zombie hordes (I'm pretty sure the gun is meant to useless) plus I love how the graphics and audio fit in with the mood.

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:57am

Good game, a bit of polishing here and there to make it actually great.
Keep it up!

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:01am

I was looking forward to this, but I couldn't really tell what caused me the game to reset much of the time. It may have been a bug, or it may have been that the camera was so zoomed out I couldn't see what took me out. In general I had no problems seeing zombies, though.

Great concept, and interesting controls!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]