Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

MonuMENTAL

by clegamecoop - Jam Entry

MonuMENTAL is a non-stop, no holds barred, realtime, over described, all out warfare game between historic monuments. Face off with Seattle's Space Needle, declare war against China's Great Wall, call shenanigans against the Russian MIR Space Station or bitch slap France's Eiffel Tower by deciding between tactically hucking three levels of iconic attacks or spending valuable time rebuilding your monuments health. HISTORY IS WRITTEN BY THE VICTORS!

Instructions:
1. Select your favorite monument (it doesn't matter which one, we don't subtract points if you like the Eiffel Tower) and click START BATTLE to commence the, well, battle.
2. To begin your attacks on others, first click on a monument to set it as your target. To change targets, click on a different monument. NOTE: Suicide attacks are possible.
3. Click on one of the 3 attack buttons next to your monument to commence tactical hucking. FIRE!
3, subsection B. Click on your monuments rebuild icon (the one with your monument on it) to restore your health.
3, subsection B, part 2. Each action requires a recharge period between uses. The more significant the attack, the longer the recharge period (5, 10 or 15 secs). Choose wisely...
4.
5. Profit.
5. Congratulations, you read the instructions! Your prize? A virtual hi-5. BAM! You are officially the coolest.

Developed by the CLE Game Co-Op (http://twitter.com/clegamecoop) for LD32

Post Mortem: We ran short on time and had to move a coder to arting, but such is Le Dare. As a result, it really doesn't mtter which monument you choose, they all have the same attack and health. In followup versions, you'd see a more complex balancing where players like the Great Wall would have significantly higher health but slower recharge times, or the MIR Space Station would have higher damage (objects falling from space) but significantly less health (it's basically early 70s aluminum cans held together by off brand duct tape). While some of the major features didn't make it into the jam version of the game, this was a really fun brainstorming process that we were really excited to make. And, we're strongly considering building out into a full feature mobile game. So, all feedback is very much appreciated!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#178Humor(Jam)3.55
#215Theme(Jam)3.78
#332Audio(Jam)3.18
#552Graphics(Jam)3.21
#687Fun(Jam)2.79
#697Innovation(Jam)2.78
#781Mood(Jam)2.68
#829Overall(Jam)2.83
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:06am

a little confused about what to do, good graphics!

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:06am

Man I loved the audio, game was funny, pretty fun to play.

ChaosRound says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09am

... i don´t like the gameplay but i like the idea..

thejash says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:10am

It's ok. Not the most fun game, and the sound is kind of annoying, but at least it follows the theme!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:29am

?????

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I didn't get it ... Sorry

clegamecoop says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:15pm

sorry we didnt have time to build out the tutorial. You selct a monument then you touch the other enemy monument that you want to attack. For example if I start as the Eiffel Tower, I then would touch the Great Wall and then select a weapon to throw. Weapons have cooldown timer. The icon with your Monument helas your monument 20% of your health. :)

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:10pm

hahaha! great job, was very entertaining, I played a lot. Happiness Is! Look at my game. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Ha - well, that was weird (in a good way). I didn't feel like I was in complete control of what was going on, but I appreciated humour for sure

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:58am

My favorite parts were the name, the sound, and the art. I was confused at first by the gameplay, and then caught on. This could be a fun multiplayer game if you want to expand on it. Perhaps make the 'health' regen button more obvious visually?

hexdie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:06am

I really like the music and the art. I think if there was some way to defend, it would make things a little more interesting to play. Nice work overall though!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Interesting use of theme, and very cool graphics.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Hilarious little game, nicely done!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Fun concept! Shame you didn't have time to make different attributes between the monuments, but still fun!
I found a bug though... when I was the Great Wall and killed the Eiffel Tower all the other monuments hp just vanished, and continued fighting... O.o

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]