Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Aliens! I need your D.N.A.

by DNAteamld32 - Jam Entry

Brief:

+ Unconventional biological weapons with crafting system!
+ Action-puzzle gene recombination game! with aliens, explosions and goo!
+ Try to survive all the Alien hordes with your DNA cannon.
+ Craft your weapons with a puzzle mechanic and fire them in an action real-time game.

How-to-play:

+ Craft weapons using gene drops.
+ Match same color genes to craft ammo of that color.
+ There are 4 types of weapons with different mechanics & gene cost.
+ For maximum damage shoot aliens with ammo of their color.

A/D : Move your tank.
SPACE : Shoot.
Up Arrow : traverse through your gene bank.
Down Arrow : traverse through different weapons.
Right arrow : Insert gene at the craft tool!

+ Think before you shoot! you can run out of ammo.

Plot:

Year 3569. Human colonization of distant planets is an everyday matter... but not all planets are devoid of native life forms. Those planets are targeted for biological cleanse, to be performed by D.N.A. armament technology. This unconventional weaponry uses the aliens' own D.N.A. to craft biological ammunition that exploits their physiological vulnerabilities to clear the planet from the xenos taint.

Who we are:
A bunch of developers from BeautiFun Games including:

Art : Jordi Longueira (@JordiLongueira) - Dani Navarro (@playerDNG)
Programming : Elías Pereiras (@Waliactico) - Marcos Sueiro (@sueythelaw)

And the additional help from Jordi Rodriguez.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#84Theme(Jam)4.00
#104Innovation(Jam)3.80
#154Graphics(Jam)4.07
#221Audio(Jam)3.40
#255Overall(Jam)3.54
#270Fun(Jam)3.38
#387Mood(Jam)3.24
#414Humor(Jam)3.08

Comments

bmfs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:40am

Nice concept. Got a little confused with what I was selecting with the right hand, but with on each run it got easier.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:45am

Absolutely stunning game! Very well done

ChaosCult says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:45am

Great idea and nice graphics. Very hard to play though.

YaaZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:46am

Really like it! Controls were quite hard to get, but idea is cool. I think that it would be great to make everything smaller, so you can see all map.

rogberth says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:50am

The game it's to complicated for me haha. It's has a great art and a good idea. I really like the robot design. Good job!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:55am

Nice game! The idea behind the mechanic is great, but a little too hard to make it work..
But, in the overall, is a greta game! Well done! :D

BadPaul34 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:01am

Wow your tuto page is like a brain killer :)
But I think it's necessary.

Nice concept :) really hard to manage my both hands in the same time, and tough time understanding the whole mechanics.

Anyway, it's a great concept idea :)

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Great graphics and presentation. A little too text heavy at the beginning and even after reading it all, I was confused. hard to pick up but once you "Get it" it is good fun. Great work.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Nice entry, it is a bit complicated, but the theme was used pretty well, also the art is nice.

mike1101 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:39am

When I tried opening it on my mac it says "The application can't be opened" ...

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:44am

Awesome! Entertaining! Magical! These 3 words are the first ones which came on my mind when I played the game you've developed. Keep going!

OrangeeZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:49am

This is great!
The game offers some non-standard mechanics and decent challenge and is really fun to play. Loved the visual style and the sound as well.
Took a while to get used to mixing genes and watching out for the aliens but it was totally worth it!

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:56am

What's the lose condition for this game? I play for a while and there is no health bar or anything and suddenly it says "Biological cleanse not achieved" and I have to start over.
Anyway, I like the graphics and concept. It's crazy how many different aliens and weapons you made in that short amound of time.

DNAteamld32 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:04am

@simon.parzer there is health indeed, but it's hidden to the player, so you can focus on survive, rather on checking your remaining health.

Thank you, and everyone else who liked our game!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:18am

Interesting game! Lacks a bit of feedback and the crafting feels weird at times. However, the variety was good and the graphics were good too (: Well done! Once you get the hang of it it's fun to play.

taviandir says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:19am

Super difficult game!

JALgames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:42am

I really liked this game! The concept id definitvely quite unique and the graphics are amazing. With some more time, you could make the controls a bit more intuitive, but other than that, the game was really nice!

rudra says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:48am

Very nice game ! Really like the concept and the graphics , Well done ! :)

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:20am

Wow, that's cool! One thing: the font in the beginning is a bit hard to read (at least in fullscreen).
Nice entry!

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:36am

Very original. I enjoyed the ammo crafting, so cool!

myachin says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:50pm

rules is quite hard to learn
art is great
well done

pvwradtke says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:29am

This is a very polished game, in all aspects. Graphics are top notch, sound is well designed and both interface and controls are great. However, it's a bit hard to figure out the mechanics, and I think it'd be great to have some sort of level progression to guide the player a bit. Other than that, a great start!

Hambone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:31am

I loved the art!

Jaenis says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:43am

Nice game, quite complicated indeed as others have said

dyfer says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Nice graphics with original ideas of weapons!!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:44am

Cool, original idea and very good graphic style. Congrats! :D

The crafting ammo part is interesting, but in my opinion the controls required for each section make it unnecessarily convoluted. Also, the intro and tutorial screens are a bit painful on the eye due to the colour contrast and text density.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:53am

This was great! Can't believe you made it in only 40 hours.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:18am

Very nice concept and game play.

Zener says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Very original concept! A bit difficult to understand, but very cool. Graphics and audio are great!

Anas Azmi says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:37pm

I like the mechanics, graphics & sound. It's just that it's hard when you have to choose the right genes, learn what ammo does what and avoid enemies all at the same time. Perhaps a description of what each ammo does, and how much damage it does to the aliens, would make it easier.

barkergames says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:22am

Nice job!

corintio says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 2:02pm

I like turtles

renatopp says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:06pm

The game concept is great but a bit confusing and hard to use, but when you get used to is pretty cool. Congratulations for you game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]