Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

HUGO THE LASERCAT KING

by TyrusPeace - Jam Entry

Hugo has a laser pointer attached to his head.
All cats follow his beam.
All cats follow his will.
Hugo is the Laser Cat King.
Obey your god, cats.

The dot has arrived, and it is red.

----

Code by John McBryan
Code, levels and meows by Tyrus Peace
Art and meows by Daniel Somerville

Music: "The Builder" by Kevin MacLeod

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#12Humor(Jam)4.24
#24Theme(Jam)4.23
#36Innovation(Jam)4.06
#57Overall(Jam)3.95
#72Fun(Jam)3.84
#132Mood(Jam)3.68
#134Graphics(Jam)4.12

Comments

kikijin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:38am

Great concept I have a lot of fun to play this but you can create a better jump it's the only thing to set up I guess and you add color.
But good work man ^^

pythong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:34am

Great game! Meow!!! Love the graphics!

Madball says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:31am

Nice game! I had so much fun riding on a carpet of cats.
I would like more levels, I think you can find more interesting uses for this ability!

I didn't like cannons though, they rarely hurt you and destroying them takes too much time. Maybe you can make deadlier guns those can be destroying only by pushing them off the map.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Hilarious! an army of cats!! who would think of that~! I like how this game combine 2d sprite with 3d backgrounds, and love those round cats, great work!

mcpuddin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:59pm

i want more!

runvs says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:13am

Super nice idea! This is a must-play for all cat-lovers (as i am).
Music is super nice and fits the mood very well. Puzzles are also nice and the graphic style with the painted sprites in the 3D world is great! Love this one! :)

Zak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Cool stuff. Was waiting for this one.

goblin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:16pm

HAHAHAHAHA great job, was very entertaining, I played a lot. Happiness Is! Look at my game. http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:41pm

Cute idea! I love them cats. Are the cats used as weapons or is it the bomb dispensers that are the unconventional weapon? The game would have been great with some objective/meaning in it, except just getting to the exit. I can imagine that the time ran out though. Great job anyway! :)

Garris says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:17am

Really cute and really fun! I loved the music, it fit really well!

Frenchie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:16am

Really loved the concept. Very funny sound effects/music. Had a lot of fun :)

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:18am

I'm not a cat person. But as of today I am a HUGO THE LASERCAT KING person. Awesome use of the theme. Really innovative concept. Hilarious gameplay. Memorable look. If it had a unique soundtrack, this would be the total package. Good work! This is a great entry :D

EwChap says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:19am

Great idea. Jump was a bit rough but really neat minion mechanics.

Ossi says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:37am

That was hilarious! I love the premise of the laser pointer being the way of controlling a bunch of cats. Perfect use of the theme and incredibly fun and imaginative! Amazing job!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:51am

This is gold. Definitely bookmarking this one. I love the billboarded sprite artstyle.

camlang says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:55am

Very very nice! Mob control is a great rendering of the theme, especially cat mob. The pointer control needs some tweaking I think, and sometimes I really needed to have a camera control (of some sort).

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:55am

very stylish graphics, would be better if you texture the environment to fit your style

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:01am

Awesome! The physics and characters were hilarious! Wish you had more time to do environments - would love to see a full release of this :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:35am

This was a REALLY cool, fun and simple game. The graphic are great and simple. Music sounded very upbeat and fun. The gameplay was just hilarious! Good job overall, I really enjoyed this game. :)

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:50am

Ahaha great game!

DNAteamld32 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:01am

The idea is original, but I missed some environments other than plain boxes though.
I liked the concept of the "ball cats", but I think it missed the point at some time. It's not clear how to use your cats to "attack" the cannons, so I ended up walking calmly past them, and I think that's not what the game looked for.
Still, good work for the jam!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:03am

I agree with madball about the turrets, And would like to see some more varied puzzles, other than that it's really good!

Tuism says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:02am

Fantastic work, great art, music, audio and polish, even with primitives. The pile of cats somehow not breaking everything was a joy to "lead", which was an achievement in and of itself!

Some suggestions - the "damage" your cats are doing are kinda invisible, a better indicator than "stars" of them actually doing something may be better.

The cats got stuck in the hole in the first stage and I have no idea how to get them out, or even if I should/could. Was frustrating.

Good stuff!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:19am

Love the graphical style and music. Looks really cool. Lots of fun leading the cats, more involved puzzles or obstacles would add a lot if you plan on developing it further.

Blunt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:27am

Really nice looking game. Could have done with a restart button though.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:52am

Awesome game! Really fun, art, animation and music was on point! Good job team!

hexagore says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:23pm

This is wonderfully creative and fun. Love the art style. I just can't believe the lasers didn't come out of Hugo's eyes though. :P

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:43pm

Nice art style and the game was top notch!

Daiwen says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Great concept, loved the art. I don't know if it was a choice but I liked the lack of color !

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Haha. Very nice! Fantastically done!!

I really like how all the asset are 2D sprites but they look like 3D from the camera. Great work!

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:19am

Fantastic.

IamAcoconut says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:00am

So. Much. Fun.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:00am

Graphics were nice, vaguely reminiscent of Psychonauts. Really neat concept, I thought it was pretty fun.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Haha, what a great innovative concept. ^^

Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Really nice art style. Well done. :)

Yonder says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:41pm

For your consideration: some research has suggested that by playing with cats (or dogs) using laser pointers, humans can foster the development of certain harmful mental conditions (such as anxiety) in the animals -- in some cases, permanent effects have been recorded. I do not want to be a downer! But it is important to think about the kinds of actions we encourage with the games we make.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:00am

Very very cute. Love the style and the concept and how well they work together.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:22pm

Gorgeous graphics, the drawing style is great. The concept is also pretty hilarous with the cats being controlled with a laser pointer, thought that was clever. Only thing I'd suggest as people have mentioned is to improve the jump.

hadesfury says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Pretty stupidly funny, I like the characters style and animation !

Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Loved it, such a great idea. I played through twice

NuSan says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Realy cute cats! I like the idea and gameplay. Destroying the bomb shooters with your cats would have been perfect. Keep up the good work !

Bendev says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:12pm

I never thought I would love so much climbing a ladder of cats.
Sending a massive mob of them into an enemy was very satisfying, even though the cannons weren't very threatening. Enemies with faces would be nice, so we can see some expressions when they are being engulfed by cats.
The jump needs improvement and I also thought it was frustrating to see my cats stuck in the hole in the first level.
It would be brilliant if your mob could move you when you're standing on them.
Great game!

Robber says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:12pm

just great! so much fun..i tried also to get as many cats as i could to the exit, but it didn't seem to make a difference :) character control could be improved upon, but props for the concept, style and high funfactor

May 10, 2015 @ 11:52am

Hehehe, I like the humour and the graphics as well as the cat sounds. The game was really fun with some nice ideas. You could definitely build a bigger game from that <3

MrShoestore says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:04am

lovely animation in this! it's very humorous, but i'd like to see the cats that follow the laser to be more of a puzzle solving element. Like you use them to press buttons and open up pathways.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]